Wexford GAA 2022

Sure Dee headed away before and was back for the latter rounds of the league. To be honest, the lads are as well living their life than putting it on hold for GAA.

He took a career break to do that travel 3 years ago, don’t know if its feasible so close again. All 3 mentioned are teachers too.

Depends how accommodating his principal is. I’d see Reck as the biggest loss if he is gone. But you couldn’t begrudge any lad in his 20s going off and living his life rather than flogging himself half to death for fuck all reward.

Absolutely you’d understand it, the money they can earn in Dubai is crazy too.

Never mind the money. Just the freedom to enjoy themselves. Plenty of them lads are ruining the best years of their life for fuck all benefit. Tis grand if they’re winning things and benefitting from it but it’s some sacrifice when you’re not. Let em off for the year if they want and they’ll come back the better for it if they want it

Ah it’s a great aul buzz.

Someone just made up most of those travel stories.

But I wouldn’t be surprised if lads actually went on holidays.

Sure whether they’re made up or true, the same principle still applies in my mind. Whatever about those 3 lads who are all but guaranteed starting spots I’d worry about the like of a lad sitting at number 22 or 23 on a panel only playing the odd Walsh Cup game and afraid to step out of line in case he gets called upon in an odd league game. He’ll probably look back on it all in his mid to late 30s questioning his own sanity.

Yeah but if he’s in there and he’s enjoying it then why leave? If he’s not enjoying it then so be it.

Those lads actually enjoy elite set ups, despite the piss and moan stories they come out with.

More power to him if he does but if he has no hope of ever actually playing a meaningful part of a proper game I’d be surprised if he didn’t look back with some level of regret at some stage in the future

Interesting debate. I often wonder how lads numbers 20 to 30 on panels keep themselves motivated. Good few lads on Limerick panel who have barely played a match between club and county this year. Get to keep super fit though.

Just watched the Wexford GAA clip of Chin’s points from Sunday. They were reminiscent of the great Gearoid Hegarty. The Harriers have another must win game at the weekend.

Didn’t a lad on the Dublin panel win 8 AI’s or something without ever starting a championship game?

Was it Darren Daly?

That’s him

Wonder why Roche waited until now to resign rather than at end of championship

County Board Executives would be meeting every two weeks, I think. It happens a lot that they’ll tell the manager they’re planning on moving on from him and give them the chance to make the decision themselves.

Free. Gear.

“the brotherhood”

all joking aside it is great to be part of something like that, some lads would kill to even get the chance.

Names for anyone struggling.

Pfff…