Sounded like we gave them a ton of goal chances which they couldn’t take.
I listened to the full first half with Spratt. I think he only gave the score 3 times. We had no clue except for checking Twitter while listening to him
Sounded like we gave them a ton of goal chances which they couldn’t take.
I listened to the full first half with Spratt. I think he only gave the score 3 times. We had no clue except for checking Twitter while listening to him
Parent of one of the 20’s players told me that the 20’s game is possibly on before the senior game next week in Croke Park. Anyone hear?
Yeah you and a parent of one of the 20s.
Bit of a strange game. Always comfortably better, but just never killed them off. We started well, but they got a goal by running directly through the middle. But we kept tacking on points and got the goal to see us out to a decent lead and to be honest, we never looked at all like losing.
The second half was a real anti climax. Just no intensity and never got going, just went thru the motions and did enough to stay ahead.
Lawlor did well in goal. Made 2 really good saves, and his puck outs were good. Jippo I’d be worried could be a serious injury. He went up to bat a ball and when he landed just crumpled to the ground holding his leg. Not sure if ankle or knee, but it didnt looks good. Matt was fine, but was caught for pace a few times. They had 2 big lads in front of goal to finish out the game but he dealt with it well. Dee was a bit more sloppy than I’d expect. A lot of them were to be honest, a lot of fumbling and poor touches, just not sharp enough. Lee looked like a lad injured. Scored a fabulous point but didnt dominate like he can. Dunbar is fine in midfield when we are attacking, but as a defending midfielder hes a disaster. They opened us up down the middle so many times and he was absent from a defensive point of view. Barely saw the ball in the second half. Jacko was excellent. Got some good scores and was a big physical presence. Rory was exceptional too. Just so comfortable taking scores at ease. Conor Mac came on and did the sum total of fuck all. He took a shot at one stage from an awkward angle when facing away from goal when he had a man to pass to. He went to pass to Rory later and gave a scuttery bobbly ball on the ground that went over the sideline. Dwyer and Lawlor made far more of a positive impact up front and id have both of them ahead in the pecking order.
The ref made some terrible decisions too that kept them within arms reach. Some really questionable frees awarded. Mogie had a hurl thrown at him when shooting and not only didnt give a free but didnt yellow card the Anteim guy either. Devitt was taken out off the ball, and when down his man set up a goal chance that Lawlor saved. Ref booked their man and then they scored the 65. He didnt influence the game, but the frees one way and not the other kept the score tighter than it should have been.
Anyways, a win is a win. Did enough and were comfortably better without being brilliant. Before going in i wanted to see 30 points on the board, so we got that, just about. Bit too much conceded but it was as much to do with intensity and being a bit too relaxed.
Who is Jippo when he is at home?
Cheers for that
Liam Ryan
I think you’re being unfair on Conor Mac there.
He won 4 or 5 balls and passed them to better placed colleagues in all bar 1 play, which he went with an over the shoulder effort.
I didn’t think Chin looked too bad and without him we were fucked in the second half. Didn’t like the look of that last chase but don’t think he did any more damage to himself.
Disappointed we didn’t attack their goal a lot more. They were there to be opened up.
A few times when lads were running through there was clear shouts of point point and players pointing at the goal rather than trying to go for goal.
And yeah, maybe a bit unfair on Mac, they all have to get up and go to work on Tuesday and all, but i dont think his place should be a guarantee like it has been for a while.
I don’t mind him being dropped but I actually thought hewas pretty good when he came on.
Do you think the Tipp lads did a deal on a hammering?
I dont think the ref was intentionally trying to keep them in it, just the usual shite of underdogs getting a helping hand. We see it often enough our way too.
Thanks for the informative report, pal.
Your usual dig at Chinner notwithstanding.
Things are a bit clearer now. Avoid defeat at home to Westmeath in the second last round to avoid any Joe McDonagh relegation issues.
@Gman all the SE Radio lads said the ref made a clatter of hometown decisions. Numerous times.
And also said Mac did well in teeing up Rory for a few scores as well.
Just for balance like
You go rely on SE radio so…
I cant think of too many calls we got. We got one line ball definitely. Frees, genuinely cant think of any soft ones we got. Their free count score says a lot too
Wasnt meant to be a dig at Chin pal, moreso he didn’t look 100% or his usual dominant self.
There was an advantage played for them which they missed a shot and he never called back for a free. And then 2 mins later when the same happened us we got a free.
Or something
Hmmm, not sure on that. He played advantage and gave them a free, but they missed it. We then had similar just after, so i can only think it was that time
I know the one.
They’d a good goal chance. The advantage was well over. It’s not rugby.
It was with around 15 mins left I’d say
Derry v Roscommon in the final of u20b hurling competition was announced as the curtain raiser maybe they’ve changed plans.