best English footballer of the 90ās
best: 2011 seeing Dublin beat kerry in the manner they did was special after so many false dawnsā¦IĀ“ve never heard a wall of noise like when mcmenamin scored the goalā¦the place just went crazyā¦ it was hunt and kill after thatā¦Dublin fans just roaring the team onā¦ amazing
worst
seeing dublin getting trounced by Tyrone in the pissings of rain ā¦2008 quarter final i think it wasā¦dublin were red hot favourites and tyrone just blitzed themā¦they absolutely humiliated usā¦i still have never seen a team play a 70 minutes of football like they did that day considering the elementsā¦the overlapping,the passing, the finishingā¦it was so embarassing the gulf in classā¦
[quote=āscumpot, post: 831090, member: 182ā]best: 2011 seeing Dublin beat kerry in the manner they did was special after so many false dawnsā¦IĀ“ve never heard a wall of noise like when mcmenamin scored the goalā¦the place just went crazyā¦ it was hunt and kill after thatā¦Dublin fans just roaring the team onā¦ amazing
worst
seeing dublin getting trounced by Tyrone in the pissings of rain ā¦2008 quarter final i think it wasā¦dublin were red hot favourites and tyrone just blitzed themā¦they absolutely humiliated usā¦i still have never seen a team play a 70 minutes of football like they did that day considering the elementsā¦the overlapping,the passing, the finishingā¦it was so embarassing the gulf in classā¦[/quote]
just to pull you up on this
you must have had a very limited experience of crowds and atmosphere if you are holding the Dudlin GGA crowd & the atmosphere in high esteem
Best -
1982 Wexford Senior Football Final - HWH Bunclody. Not being from a family wth any interest or involvement in sport, I went to this with my godfather, a pure GAA Man. Unbelievable day, brilliant driving back to Bunclody from Wexford, brilliant craic in Bunclody that night. 10 years old, the first time I realised how important sport is to people and to a town.
1996 All Ireland Senior Hurling Final, for obvious reasons
1989 Wexford Minor Football Final - the game this team had been building up to since we were 10, elation at the final whistle
1988 Stuttgard - Oh joy
2013 A League Grand Final - After three failed attempts, the Mariners reach the promised land
2012 Central Coast Country Net Premier League Grand Final - Wyoming Tigers V Berkeley Vale - the last game some of our longest servants would play in, we had to win it. Payney with a cracking goal at the death to win it. Go the Tigers. Both teams in the final again this weekend, amazing achievement for Steve and the boys to reach the final this year having lost 6 of last years starting XI
1981 WC Qualifier - Ireland 3 France 2
Worst
1997 All Ireland Senior Hurling Semi Final - After the incredible scenes of 1996 and the 1997 Leinster Final, we were absolutely trounced by John Leahy and 14 other lads. I got tickets for this from my girlfriendās sisterās boyfriend, a tipp cunt (ah he was a decent bloke), but had to sit with a load of tipp cunts in the Hogan Stand , me wearing a Wexford jersey. Their neanderthal mutterings were hard enough to take, but the utter blitzkrieg we got from Leahy that day was worse. Walking out of Croke Park, I got a phone call from my boss, another Tipp cunt, to take the piss. I then realised that it was over. This fleeting joy we had experienced was gone and the suffering would begin again. It has barely stopped since. I take this game as the example, there are too many others to mention.
2011 A League Grand Final - How do you lose a game on penalties that you led 2-0 with 2 minutes of normal time left?
1981 Ireland WC Qualifying campaign - so close, so far. That was a fucking brilliant Irish team that deserved to play at the big show.
[quote=āThe Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 831092, member: 80ā]just to pull you up on this
you must have had a very limited experience of crowds and atmosphere if you are holding the Dudlin GGA crowd & the atmosphere in high esteem[/quote]
not really mateā¦iĀ“m not some high plains drifter lost in some shitholeā¦ seeing my home town win a famous match ,in a sport i played all my childhood, against their rivals who usually beat them is a bit specialā¦
i have a dutch friend who hates Irwin and told me he got some laugh when the pillock let the ball bounce in his own box causing the first goal against us in 1994, christ, the dutch really hate the cunt
the dutchā¦:rolleyes:
what a bunch of miserable boring cuntsā¦
Brisbane>dublin mate
it was probably special for you and the couple of hundred other die hards but the vast majority of the people that go the the big championship games arenāt proper fans so cant create an atmosphere
[quote=āscumpot, post: 831096, member: 182ā]the dutchā¦:rolleyes:
what a bunch of miserable boring cuntsā¦[/quote]
Dutch>oirish mate
Best - Leitrim vs Mayo. 1994 Connacht final
Worst - 4yo Hurdle, Galway Races 2010
Best-
Man Utd v Bayern- Cl Final 1999
Man Utd vs Chelsea- Cl Final 2008
Man Utd vs Sheff Wed- Pl 1993
Man Utd vs Liverpool- 2007- Jos Winner
Man Utd vs Arsenal 99 Fa Cup Semi Final Replay
Ireland vs Romania- Italia 90
Dublin vs Kerry 2011 and 2013
Shawn Michaels vs The Undertaker- Wm 25
Worst-
2009 Champions league final vs Barca obviously. Plus aftermath of the Ronaldo sale to Real.
Bret Hart vs Shawn Michaels- 1997 Survivor Series
Augero 2012 vs Qpr
Man Utd 1 Man City 6- 2011
Man Utd 1 Liverpool 4- 2009
Newcastle 5 Man Utd 0- 1996
BTW - great thread @farmerinthecity
I would also like to add in the best category - 1979 European Cup Final.
And the 1984 North Wexford Invitational Subbuteo Championship, which I won after a penalty shoot out.
Thatās only volume one Mickee
Worst
1991 MSHC v Tipp
1996 AISHC v Wexford
1994 AISHC v Offaly
1993 MSHC v Clare
1994 or 1995 Christmas Hamper Race in Carrick . I got a puncture and was very tired afterwards
Best
1992 Munster Senior Club Championship Final (The Bridge)
1994 Munster Senior Club Championship Final (Toomevara)
2001 Beating Cork in Cork.
1994 County final (beat Bruree)
Beating Tipp any time.
Alot of indecisive fuckers here.
Best and worst to me means one for each. Every fella here wants everyone to know how many games they have been to and how old they are.
Make a decision ye fuck wits.
Best: 2004 v Kilkenny Leinster SHC
Worst: 1998 v Offaly Leinster SHC
[quote=ācroppy_boy, post: 831169, member: 306ā]Best: 2004 v Kilkenny Leinster SHC
Worst: 1998 v Offaly Leinster SHC[/quote]
Didnt make either of those Gamesā¦remember watching 98 on the tvā¦sickeningā¦
Worst
Kilkenny losing to Cork 2004 All Ireland Final
Best
Kilkenny beating Cork 2006 All Ireland Final
Worst.
1974 Munster SHC Semi Final. Limerick beat Waterford by a point. We couldnāt hit a free for fun and our goalie, Paul Flynnās daddy, left a howler from Liam Donoghue through his legs in the last minute.
Best.
1983 Waterford Senior Hurling Semi Final Replay. Those hateful cunts Roanmore had bossed and bullied us in the drawn game, but somehow we got out with a draw. We regrouped in the following week. And we hosed them all over the field. My only regret is they got in for two consolation goals. Mount Sion2-24 Roanmore 2-7.
Worst:
-
Nearly too many to mention around Limerick hurling. Endless amounts of them down in Thurles. Outside of 1994, one that really sticks out was the 2009 semi final Limerick V Tipp. Pure depression.
-
Another one was 2006 Limerick v Tipp. Limerick got 2 early goals to send us wild but then preceded to be rubbish for the rest of the game and Eoin Kelly beat us on his own.
-
2001 FA Cup Final. Daylight robbery with Owenās 2 late goals completely against the run of play. Viera gave one of the best midfield performances Iāve ever seen.
-
1999 Macedonia V Ireland. Seconds away from qualifying and we concede an injury time goal to send us into a play off. I was booked to go to Euro 2000 no matter what happened with Ireland but obviously was desperate to see us there. I just knew we wouldnāt win a play-off. That was our chance ā was it Breen or Kilbane that didnāt mark his man??!!
Best
-
1996 Limerick v Clare and Careyās point. Literally, I couldnāt catch my breath for about 30 seconds with the excitement and all the jumping around celebrating in the heat. Some experience
-
1996 Limerick v Tipp replay. Although the comeback on the first day was special also
-
2001 Limerick v Cork in Cork. Nobody saw it coming!
-
2013 Limerick v Tipp. Nobody saw it coming after 50 minutes and Tippās well worked goal. The last 20 minutes from Limerick was stuff of dreams.
-
Ireland v Holland 2001. Watched it in San Diego at around 6am ā the pub went bananas. Pleny of Dutch there too and were unbelievably gracious after it and could appreciate what it meant to the Irish.
-
Estonia V Ireland 2011 (1st leg). Knew we had qualified and would be there in Poland to see my country in a major tournament.
Best:
Ire v Eng 1990: Saw this game on a big screen in the RDS as a young lad - when Kevin Sheedy scored ā¦
Leinster v Munster SF 2009: Having feared the worst this game was the the tables were finally turned
Dub v Kerry 2001 Qf?: First time in Thurles and a great game for the ages.
Worst:
Waterford v Kilkenny AI Final 2008: Not a good day at the office
Leinster v Munster SF 2006: Everything that could go wrong, went wrong.