What's Wrong With Cork?

All that Polish stuff is grand too, Tyskie, Lech. Nowt wrong with any of it.

Never drank the tesco beer but I drank the plain label vodka alright. It didn’t even have the blue and white label back then, just a small white label with ‘vodka’ roughly typed onto it. Horrendous stuff.

I drank a shoulder of that one night. Pure monkey juice.

A mate of mine works for Bavaria Ireland. It’s all a cod. Royal Dutch isn’t even from Holland. I was aghast.

On a related note though, have any of ye ever tried Bavaria 8.6%? It tastes like when you’re washing your hair and the suds from the shampoo accidentally go into your mouth. Except you have to try and drink 500ml of them.

I still remember the smell of it. You had to really switch off all your self preservation instincts to drink a bottle of it. It’d fuck you up alright, for the night and for a day or two afterwards.

:smiley: Sounds like a poor man’s Carlsberg Special Brew. You’d be better off sucking the coolant out of a car engine.

Did anyone ever stick with Buckfast as a regular refreshment? I drank a bottle or two of it but I could never see what all the fuss was about. It was huge in Galway. The Castlebar lads in particular treated the whole thing like some sort of a ritual.

I once left a pub in Galway on a New Year’s Eve with a few other lads to drink a bottle of Buckfast down a lane. We got into a fight later on.

I often drank it before heading out and actually did so recently. Each and everytime I had a total blackout the next morning. it will certainly light up your night but I prefer remembering my nights out.

Can’t say I did, I did drink a rather large bottle of vinegar over the space of a day though in 1st year. Someone told me it would cure a fella of spots. I don’t recall it working. I was a simple young fella I must admit.

Don’t know if I’d ever be interested in getting fucked up like that again, bar special occasions. Kind of feels like you’re pushing your luck after a while.

Never even tasted Buckfast before. That’s what happens when you drop out of college after 6 months I suppose.

Completely agree, and a large amount of them are just cunts who you’d slap around the place and have absolutely nothing going for them, they are not martial artists, not boxers, not weightlifters, not tall…nothing, its bizarre in some cases. But they are all cunts for the most part. Reardons have proper bouncers and a few of those lads would kick you up and down Washington street.

There is 2 main companies in Cork, one owned by a Kiwi guy and one owned by a very very dodgy Bulgarian (i think, could be hungarian) guy i knew from the gym. He was sound, but you just knew they were dodgy as fuck.

The group of bouncers who were mostly soldiers way back were bang on, Terry Healy was one of them, small fella with a martials arts backround (before martials arts was cool). They were solid and fair and would sort out fellas hassling girls or regulars. They worked FX/Grapevine, City Limits and several other places over the years.

I worked on a few doors over the years, and really it was handy, just standing at a bar entrance on busy days. BUt we had woeful hassle with a bunch of Clare cunts one time at The Wash, around the time of all the Tipp-Clare matches in late 90’s. Needed the help of a coupld of lads from Reardons as i was only lad on the door and the fellas in the bar were useless. If anyone knows the Wash, you can get hemmed in from the outside door and the bar by double doors, well i got stuck in there fighting 2 cunts from Clare. They had started it by throwing a pint glass at a bar bar cos one fella was refused. I managed to get them out to find the other 7 or 8 had got ahammering from the Reardons lads. Good times.

A veritable goldmine for the “People Kev Knows” thread there…

http://timesonline.typepad.com/dons_life/images/2007/07/15/babar.jpg

Proof positive that Cork bouncers are stupid cunts.

Great stuff Kev mate, that’s Klare for ya. What sort of straw hats were they wearing? Back then the really kool Klare lads used to take the seam from the rim of their straw hat and let the straw stand loose. Everyone admired them.

:lol: “Kerry People” :lol:

Pretty sure I was one of the Clare lads, Jesus kev, there was some smell off your shite that night

Fuck me. I encountered one of the biggest cunts I’ve ever come across at a match today. Judging by the gear his kids had on, he was from Aghada. A row in front of me. You wouldn’t believe the shit he came out with. But the icing on the cake was his rant about Supermacs in Thurles. Apparently if he had been in McDonalds in Cork, they’d have taken his order and he’d had have his dinner in 2 minutes. But no. This wasn’t Cork. This was Thurles and whereas they can organise a lad to get a burger in Cork, they haven’t a clue in Thurles.

I should add that this chap would have no interest in going to a league game and thinks that Limerick will beat the pick of these teams in the next round.