For me the Aston Martin DB5. Closely followed by pretty much any Aston Martin ever built (especially the V12 Vantage).
http://images.automobilemag.com/multimedia/photo_gallery/0604_aston_martin_db5_01_1024.jpg
For me the Aston Martin DB5. Closely followed by pretty much any Aston Martin ever built (especially the V12 Vantage).
http://images.automobilemag.com/multimedia/photo_gallery/0604_aston_martin_db5_01_1024.jpg
For me it’s always been the McLaren F1
http://www.luxury-insider.com/columns/Ian_Kuah/McLaren_F1/images/McLarenF1-TitleImg.jpg
Nice…
I’ve always liked the gimp of the DB9 meself, but don’t really have any stand out favourite.
Of the current crop, I think the V12 Vantage is the bestest. Clarkson did a very strange review of it about 2 years ago, basically said it was wonderful, fantastic etc etc, but it felt like an ending, felt like the last of the great cars. He was awfully pessimistic.
I love this car as well - Australian built Ford F6 Typhoon
The only car I’ve ever wanted:
[quote=“Flano”]The Dodge Viper is another beauty of a car
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/7e/Viper7723.JPG/800px-Viper7723.JPG[/quote]
Typical awful american taste.:rolleyes:
I’ve got my favourites below. I’ll try and keep my head on and now jump to the most ovbious super/hyper cars like the Keonigsegg or pagani sorts.
Most people like Aston/Ferrari/Porsche and they are quite cool cars (well not Ferrari - they are just for footballers).
My favourite car in looks and sound/performance recently was the R8.
I would see a black one of these daily and the noise and road presence was unreal. Only those in the know would know teh cars were about 160 grand but it’s still an Audi, a brand you can buy for a couple of hundred quid depending on the age and model.
You don’t get that with Aston and Aston owners (in my view) are telling everyone their are rich. Audi R8 is therefore cool.
http://www.audipic.com/audi/2009/08/audi-r8-tuning.jpg
My new favourite is the new GTR which I would buy in a shot.
http://www.cardotcom.com/cars/images02/05nissan-gtr-proto.jpg
This is just supreme power and says to all hyper-car owners “You fools, you’ve paid too much and have too little power and can’t carry 5 girls home to your gaff for a party”.
I think if I was going to sheer beauty and class I woudl go for the Mercedes Gullwing. It’s got it’s history from racing in the Mille Miglia back in the 50s (I think). The gullwing doors were actually a design flaw but I like all that sort of stuff, same as the curved window on the Jags.
I’m not a big Merc fan, but this car is donkey.
http://foreverdriven.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/gullwing-past-2.jpg
[quote=“Flano”]The Dodge Viper is another beauty of a car
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/7e/Viper7723.JPG/800px-Viper7723.JPG[/quote]
Sorry Flano, the Viper is an awful car.
Engine from a truck onto a chassis that can’t manage the power stuck to a suspension that can’t manage either bumps or road holding and an exhast that will run down teh side of the car and set your door on fire.
Even the build is a disater, panels that don’t fit and design features that obviously went through stage 1 and were signed off.
Nothing matches and all it’s got going for it is power, but it can’t use it.
The Viper is one of the worst cars every built.
The Ford GT may have been one of the better cars to come out of the US but even it can’t touch the Japs or Euros.
The fog lights are too big and the panel on the bonnet is not even the same width.
Americans can build rockets and nukes but not cars.
Thrawneen, I’ve actually spent the last 10 minutes trying to find a pic that does the Capri justice, its a truly awesome car - well done.
GSH - Agree about the Merc, its a work of art on four wheels.
Other than the Ford Mustang, I think most of can agree that anything designed / built in America is utterly shit.
I’m basing most of my thoughts here on design alone, however with the F6 Typhoon and V12 Vantage, I really don’t think you’ll do better in terms of performance (Veyron aside).
[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]I’ve got my favourites below. I’ll try and keep my head on and now jump to the most ovbious super/hyper cars like the Keonigsegg or pagani sorts.
Most people like Aston/Ferrari/Porsche and they are quite cool cars (well not Ferrari - they are just for footballers).
My favourite car in looks and sound/performance recently was the R8.
http://www.audipic.com/audi/2009/08/audi-r8-tuning.jpg
I’m not a big Merc fan, but this car is donkey.
http://foreverdriven.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/gullwing-past-2.jpg
GSH.[/quote]
R8 is an unbelieveable looking motor, have only seen the slightly older version driving behind.
Merc is classic.
[quote=“Fitzy”]Thrawneen, I’ve actually spent the last 10 minutes trying to find a pic that does the Capri justice, its a truly awesome car - well done.
GSH - Agree about the Merc, its a work of art on four wheels.
Other than the Ford Mustang, I think most of can agree that anything designed / built in America is utterly shit.
I’m basing most of my thoughts here on design alone, however with the F6 Typhoon and V12 Vantage, I really don’t think you’ll do better in terms of performance (Veyron aside).[/quote]
Generally agree with this, although i have seen other cars i haev liked over there, names i don’t know.
I’m just thinking back and I’ve been too harsh on the yanks here.
The Camero is a cool car and America does do fantasic muscle cars.
The old Dodge Charger is a cool car. I drove the new one in Boston a while ago but was not overly impressed. I think the new muscle cars have too much weight due to having too many toys made for fat asses.
Also, Americans are the top for modding cars. Well, them and the japs.
Not that their mods are much good though. Mostly they drop the cars, put on wheels that are too wide and ruin handling and then give the car more power when the chassis and suspension can’t manage it.
The De’Lorean is probably our islands most famous car.
[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]Sorry Flano, the Viper is an awful car.
Engine from a truck onto a chassis that can’t manage the power stuck to a suspension that can’t manage either bumps or road holding and an exhast that will run down teh side of the car and set your door on fire.
Even the build is a disater, panels that don’t fit and design features that obviously went through stage 1 and were signed off.
Nothing matches and all it’s got going for it is power, but it can’t use it.
The Viper is one of the worst cars every built.
The Ford GT may have been one of the better cars to come out of the US but even it can’t touch the Japs or Euros.
The fog lights are too big and the panel on the bonnet is not even the same width.
Americans can build rockets and nukes but not cars.
GSH.[/quote]
Spleh.