I haven’t been in a fight in three years thankfully and long may it continue. Any lad in his late twenties still getting into fights needs to get professional help because there’s issues at work there. A ridiculous way for a grown man to be carrying on. Nothing worse than the lads who are always getting into fights because “some scumbag stuck in them” or something else. If you’re always getting into fights it’s you that’s the problem and not anyone else.
I wound up in a fair few fights in my younger days because I’d an older brother who was constantly stuck in them. He got into a feud with one of the local scumbags and it was the same craic every weekend. He was in the habit of it after that and every night he’d arrive to Galway for a night he’d wind up in some trouble. Typically enough he ended up joining the cops and calmed down completely once he got married. He was an unreal fighter in fairness to him but I suppose he had the practice.
I on the other hand definitely received more batterings than I ever dished out. Stephen’s night was always fairly hot at home and there’d nearly always be some trouble. One night in particular a couple of older lads caught me with three or four beauties for no real reason and I’d a face like a burst mattress for a month after it. Another one of my mates got three or four kicks in the head after being knocked one night and the surgeon told his parents that his cheekbone was like cornflakes after it.
It’s the kind of thing lads should grow out of though. I’d be firmly of the opinion that any young hard man should be battered within an inch of his life if he goes looking for it. Either he’ll cop on himself after that or the parents will be forced to step in. Could be the best thing to ever happen to him.
Great thread, Rocko’s story was class. Some women love the whole flared up macho image though. The last dust up I had wad when I was with this bird one night and she got stuck in another bird over a stool! The other ones boyfriend got involved then which meant I got involved. Started out with a bit of verbal abuse, followed by some shoving, some grabbing by the throat until he threw a little jab. He was a bit shorter but a lot lighter then I was. I made short work of the lad with a few hard replies to his jab. His brother joined in then who was smaller again. I wouldn’t be known to fight at all, but those two lads made me look like Tyson that night. We kept the stool as well and the bird loved everybit of it. Odd I thought.
In college one night I was knocked into next week though by a drugged up fella and spent a week concust! He hit me, I hit the ground, head first.
Havnt had a good dust up in years though. Maybe Coppers on All Ireland weekend.
Couple of months back myself and two mates got our selves in a right hoop on the drink but were keeping to ourselves for the most part. On we went to a little dance hall and I spot some guy with a hold of one of my mates by the neck so I charged the cunt and stuck him to the wall. Next thing I know however I am on the ground with 6 of his mates laying kicks into me . I had dragged the cunt onto the ground with me tho as I still had a hold of his neck and the cunt was swinging away but not really landing , so in the middle of all the kicks and that cunt on top of me I did what any man would do and bit into the cunts cheek and locked on… Well the screams were only unreal … By then my other mate had came flying in throwing pucks and cleared the other shits off me. I came out largely unscathed but it could have been a lot worse. Think the cunt on top shielded me from the worst if it… I can still feel me teeth sinking into his cheek. Yum.
I was out in London on Saturday night and we were trying to get a taxi after the night out. There was rickshaw passing and one of the lads tapped the side of it. Next thing two lads who looked sort of mid eastern descent hopped out and squared up to us. It was 3 on 2, I fancied our chances until one of the cunts went mental and whipped out a pocket knife. We made ourselves disappear, rapidly. A bad move to aggravate an argument in a city like that.