Why is rooral Oireland so determined to hold the country back?

Dublin is one of the 50 cities in the world designated as “Alpha” by economists in the world. This is heavily skewed towards economics and not culture, which Dublin has an abundance of.

The plan launched yesterday was a joke with its “25% of growth” of the population to come in Dublin. This is anti Dublin claptrap and will only make life worse for the city.

They have been trying to filter growth to outside for decades now with decentralisation, specific development zones like the Shannon and the motorways and guess what? Companies still want to locate around the M50 and not 15km down the M3. It sounds lovely and all to redirect growth but it mostly fails.

All this will result in is an excuse to not invest in Dublin when that is where there will continue to be growth. And if there isn’t growth in Dublin, there won’t be growth in Ireland, because that is where Ireland is competing. Look it Amazon just put up a big competition for an urban location to take their latest billions of dollar investment and it was large urban locations where they were looking at.

Not glorified towns like Cork. One complete failure of this report is to acknowledge that no matter what those idiots think about being the “real capital”, they aren’t even the second city. Belfast is. Belfast is the historical industrial base of this country and is going to do very well out of Brexit. The Troubles are over and good jobs will go back there. Cork will probably be Ireland’s 4th city by 2040 once that Limerick motorway is built. You can build all the shiny terminals you want but airlines don’t want to land on the side of a fucking hill.

The anti Dublin atttude is a disease. It seems to take a couple of generations to ween out of bog men and to take some civic pride in their actual city. My uncle will still take delight in some mucker from his home town getting on Winning Streak or winning a tidy towns competiton than engage in his local community.

that is an absolute belter of a post, Cork’s parochial and clannish outlook will always go against it

As well as the number of weirdos that live there, especially the blow ins.
Pretend Cork lads, what a concept to wrap your head around

if they had 100,000 kev’s down there they would be a forced to be reckoned with, they lack visionaries like him

And to whoever said Dublin needs a Mayor. Absolutely x10000000

I remember hearing some Councillor wan a while ago, Deirdre Heney I think her name was. She said that “Dublin people don’t like high rise”.

Who appointed some local area representative as spokesperson for Dubs??? Amongst anyone I know around 25 to 30 that is exactly where they want to live. They see this on their travels and wonder why they are herded like rats onto shit public transport daily miles from their jobs.

Councillors are basically residents associations. Resident associations are basically “put up the drawbridge” in attitude. They don’t give a shit about the next generation. As long as their view of the mountains isn’t disturbed then they’re happy enough.

Dublin needs a proper voice and not a collection of Councillors. And the PR system only makes this worse with 4 or 5 career politicians looking for a small quota of votes in their constituency to take a seat, so focusing in on local issues.

The Green Party are a bunch of gobshites but this is one of the few things they had right.

Hi pal. Why cant ye house what ye have?

What kind of unintelligible speak is this?

Sing the words to yourself in your head and it might make sense.

Or pronounce the house so it rhymes with cows

Exactly. Read it in English in other words.

I don’t know who Garth Brooks or whatever hick wrote that song.

The guys advocating for Dublin to get all the investment are unwilling or unable to answer when they will house what they have. Until they can handle this basic enough requirement Im not sure id be trusting them with billins to build a monorail

140m2 Semi Detached house for… 590,000 euro in a half decent area.

Yes folks, that’s 4200 per square metre for the luxury of hearing some cunt squeezing his shite out in the house next store :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Fantastic name for the development there. Onto Marys for secondary school no doubt. What an opportunity.

Youd be a lot closer to the square in tallaght there than you woukd be to Marys :joy::joy:

The Gick so, that’s full of gangster’s children.

Smart guys would have told him to go through the tunnel, head back up the East Wall Road, or Fairview as it tends to be a minute or two quicker and drop you off at the Clonliffe House for a quick stroll.

If you were tired after your flight he’d take you down the Richmond Road and drop you off at Fagans, whereby you could thank Bertie for switching on Grainne in 2002 and although the traffic was mental being an All Ireland Final day it only took you a couple of minutes from the airport.

Very talented childer there, lovely smiley face.

Nice little rehearsal for ye these days @Tim_Riggins what it will be like to be reliant on the country cousins for a drop of water. Make sure and set the alarm early so you can have a 4 min shower before the pressure gets turned down

Ooooffftt!!