Why is Rugby So Annoying?

Very poor taste to be fair

What’s in far worse taste is two rugby players picking up an opponent, turning him upside down, and ramming him into the ground head first.

Culture of respect.

[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 919716, member: 183”]What’s in far worse taste is two rugby players picking up an opponent, turning him upside down, and ramming him into the ground head first.

Culture of respect.[/QUOTE]

That’s true but what has that got to do with the charity game last night?

I wasn’t lecturing. I wouldn’t dare lecture a man who drank a bottle of spirits a day in work. Such a man needs no direction.

What does it all mean, anyway, MBB? A bottle of vodka? 56000 posts on TFK?

Nada.

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 919604, member: 2272”]posted this before but in interest of sharing stories

grew up in a GAA house and was lucky enough to be in Croke Park nearly every Sunday a match was on from about age 5 to late teens when I lost a bit of interest since rekindled

When Ireland played France in Croke Park - first rugby game there I brought the old man as it was a moment of history and I knew he would enjoy it - he has never been before or since to an international rugby match

He stood up and enjoyed La Marsellaise, stood and sang Amhran na bhFiann and then made a point of sitting down for Ireland’s Call as it was nobody’s anthem - I wished I had thought of it first but I then sat down beside him - everybody else still standing

We need more people with the moral courage to point out a lot of what is banana flavoured[/QUOTE]
My father went one further and sat down for god save the queen. Can’t remember what the event was as he hates rugby.

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 919726, member: 129”]What does it all mean, anyway, MBB? A bottle of vodka? 56000 posts on TFK?

Nada.[/QUOTE]
If you could combine the two it means that you’re living the dream, for real.

You’d want to be some man to post the 10s of thousands of shite that MBB has while keeping up a serious drinking habit.

Surely the two things are complementary*?

*I don’t want to get into a situation where forum members are accusing other forum members of having a drink problem. We’ve been down this road before and it would drive you to drink.

[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 919736, member: 183”]Surely the two things are complementary*?

*I don’t want to get into a situation where forum members are accusing other forum members of having a drink problem. We’ve been down this road before and it would drive you to drink.[/QUOTE]

No man with a serious drink problem could have posted 56000 times thus far.

Unless they’ve never worked and they’re slamming just-eat.ie and the Red Bull (Salzburg) to stay awake.

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 919738, member: 129”]No man with a serious drink problem could have posted 56000 times thus far.

Unless they’ve never worked and they’re slamming just-eat.ie and the Red Bull (Salzburg) to stay awake.[/QUOTE]
Red Bull Salzburger.

[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 919726, member: 129”]What does it all mean, anyway, MBB? A bottle of vodka? 56000 posts on TFK?

Nada.[/QUOTE]
The post count thing, no greater sign of someone with a bankrupt argument. TYVM.

ah FFS… more rugby garbage on RTE now…

Rocko that’s a fantastic post but it actually got me thinking of why I dislike the sport…
I came back from London in 1997 after spending two years over there working. In London, the sport I spoke about was GAA to any Irish, and soccer with anyone else. In work Id have banter about Celtic v Rangers with the Scots around the office, at lunch the lads would talk about Spurs, Arsenal and West Ham, in my local they would talk about Chelsea. Surprisingly, I can’t remember anyone supporting Man Utd or Liverpool which I would have been use to at home, and if anyone mentioned rugby they’d have been looked at as if they’d two heads!!
When I came home I got a job in an old type company with only a small amount of employees. The office consisted of about 16, split between male and female but it was male dominated and the females were either general accounts staff or secretaries. When I started there I was the youngest male by about 20 years, these older blokes all played golf, (in my first week I was told to get a set of clubs???), some were taking golf lessons so they wouldn’t embarrass themselves on the corporate day out, they all skied in Courchevel or wherever once a year and they all went to the rugby. I remembered watching the five nations when I was young but rugby meant nothing to me. In fairness two of the old boys also liked soccer and two liked the GAA but generally rugby was the sport of choice. I was baffled by this, it was alien, no one I knew played rugby, in fact my aul man brought me home a rugby ball in the mid 80’s, God knows where he got it, I kicked it once and that was it, its probably still down the end of me Ma’s garden. But in this new company, I would be asked what I thought of the match? What???, the rugby match played last Saturday? Nothing! I hadn’t a clue. I use to bullshit that it was great or exciting but I would only rehash a sentence or two after reading a brief report in the paper so I wouldn’t be a complete idiot, and in ’97 the reports were brief enough, not like the pages and pages or pull outs like today.
From ’97 the economy was bubbling and with it, this rugby thing too. In years gone by, the likes of me would probably have stayed in London and not come home. I would probably never encountered those blokes who I worked with and would probably never talked about rugby. I think as more jobs were generated and young lads fresh out of college got office jobs they saw this corporate crap. The stuff the majority of people would never have encountered suddenly was there. Newstalk launched with George rugby Hook and the young lads from Off the Ball and with this, the new young Newstalk generation in offices around Dublin saw these older men in suits and thought if I want to be successful I need to get into the rugby, the golf, I’ll go skiing!! Suddenly all these impressionable 20 something’s out of college on the corporate ladder were into rugby…this new interest was coupled with the game turning professional and with Heineken cup marketing rugby had arrived, it exploded.
Pretty soon town was flooded after a rugby game with birds wanting to meet a rugby bloke who was obviously successful or on his way up… Ulster were successful at first but they were up there, up north, that wasn’t really them, they couldn’t buy into that, but then Munster happened…big fat birds with Munster jersey’s started appearing out of nowhere, again with the one objective of hoping to meet some rugby lad out watching the game. Then it seemed everyone watched the rugby, it was a neutral sport for neutrals, everyone could get behind whatever Irish team that played, there was no rivalry, just a day out and everyone went out and everyone had money, the country was flying and so was the rugger. I walked into the boozer one day to see local lads there wearing Munster jerseys??? these lads from Fingal who were never into sport let alone rugby were somehow brainwashed into it. While I was having a piss I asked one lad what he was doing wearing a Munster jersey……It was the real rugby club I was told??? I presume Leinster was for south Dubs and private schools, who knows….I haven’t seen those lads in years but Im guessing some of them are probably wearing Leinster jerseys now and talking about BOD, sure Leinster is for everyone nowadays and Christ almighty this rugby is everywhere.
Every radio show, the news, Obama….but its not my news, I don’t want to hear about it, I don’t care diddly squat about it, I hate it. I hate it for what it represents…new Ireland…the new mature Ireland, the Ireland who stopped caring about their neighbours and who found a new religion in money and apartments and houses, as long as they were okay, they didn’t care about anyone, and this new “successful generation” with the likes of Seanie Fitz, Sean Dunne and Fingers, and who came of age in 2007 when they applauded God save, in Croke Park after getting directions to the stadium from a Garda on Amien St….a new celtic tiger Ireland who lusted for and got a pocket full of euros, which we would eventually lose, ironically by the very men who this newstalk generation wanted and probably still want to be….no need for the golf clubs now though with a lot less corporates!
Back in 97, I could have easily got the golf clubs, started the lessons, and then gone to the rugby games, the tickets were there if I wanted…I didn’t. While they were playing golf on Saturday I was on the beer or driving up to The Fishermans Inn in Glengad with TWCB to watch Celtic cup game’s which were shown on STV and which the pubs at the top of Donegal could pick up. I was going to Croke Park to watch the Dubs and when the new stand was finished at Celtic Park I got a season ticket and would spend at least one weekend a month, sometimes two in Glasgow watching Celtic and singing republican songs. Songs about Ireland, its history, I sang songs with lads from Belfast, Derry, Tyrone, lads who the 26 counties had turned their backs on….the 26 counties who didn’t care about their northern neighbours in the 20’s, 30’s, during the border campaign, the civil rights and in the 70’s and 80’s, cos they didn’t matter, those in the 26 counties were okay and that’s all that mattered….this generation’s children would inherit the same traits as their parents and didn’t bat an eyelid in the 90’s when the rugger team gave up our national anthem to appease bigots, they left it behind, discarded it along with our Country’s flag at the last world cup. I hate these people.
Its bandwagoners now yes, but its far more than that…its seeped right through, its got into the barrow of the entire country, the Heineken cup and celtic tiger started it but the off the ball generation stoked it up to the place where now it saturates the mainstream media and where aul lads in the boozer can be overheard talking about Sexton and his kicks, what the jaysus??? They probably couldn’t name two French clubs but who cares, what does this matter…its actually doesn’t, its just too easy to talk about and made all the more easy by the hype, meaningless hype.

So whats next? the newstalk generation don’t hate England anymore, during the last world cup I heard Ger Gilroy say “we support these lads week in week out, why not now?”, so some will be quite happy to see them win in Brazil this summer… and that too has seeped through to a point where I witnessed Irish lads starting fights with their own who chose to boo Gods save, in Wembley last May…Christ these are the same type of cunts on the dort who speak as if they are on some American tv show or boggers from Laois wearing Leinster jerseys, or those who take their shoes off for the boys in green…I hate these new breeds of Irish idiots, they represent nothing of me or my Country and it is these people who are exemplified by those who have been sucked in, embody pretentiousness and have been brainwashed by rugby marketing resulting in it being everywhere, fucking everywhere.
They like to watch it, its popular it but it doesn’t really matter if Ireland lose, cos they don’t really care that much about it, much like the people of the north, our anthem and our flag, easy come, easy go….who cares… We thought that the Celtic Tiger and everything it brought was a win win for Ireland but we thought wrong, negative equity, suicides, emigration, and christ rugby………we’ve lost, as a nation we lusted for the wrong thing and unfortunately found out, that plenty in the purse cannot prevent starvation of the soul……we’ve lost our soul.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 919861, member: 1785”]Rocko that’s a fantastic post but it actually got me thinking of why I dislike the sport…
I came back from London in 1997 after spending two years over there working. In London, the sport I spoke about was GAA to any Irish, and soccer with anyone else. In work Id have banter about Celtic v Rangers with the Scots around the office, at lunch the lads would talk about Spurs, Arsenal and West Ham, in my local they would talk about Chelsea. Surprisingly, I can’t remember anyone supporting Man Utd or Liverpool which I would have been use to at home, and if anyone mentioned rugby they’d have been looked at as if they’d two heads!!
When I came home I got a job in an old type company with only a small amount of employees. The office consisted of about 16, split between male and female but it was male dominated and the females were either general accounts staff or secretaries. When I started there I was the youngest male by about 20 years, these older blokes all played golf, (in my first week I was told to get a set of clubs???), some were taking golf lessons so they wouldn’t embarrass themselves on the corporate day out, they all skied in Courchevel or wherever once a year and they all went to the rugby. I remembered watching the five nations when I was young but rugby meant nothing to me. In fairness two of the old boys also liked soccer and two liked the GAA but generally rugby was the sport of choice. I was baffled by this, it was alien, no one I knew played rugby, in fact my aul man brought me home a rugby ball in the mid 80’s, God knows where he got it, I kicked it once and that was it, its probably still down the end of me Ma’s garden. But in this new company, I would be asked what I thought of the match? What???, the rugby match played last Saturday? Nothing! I hadn’t a clue. I use to bullshit that it was great or exciting but I would only rehash a sentence or two after reading a brief report in the paper so I wouldn’t be a complete idiot, and in ’97 the reports were brief enough, not like the pages and pages or pull outs like today.
From ’97 the economy was bubbling and with it, this rugby thing too. In years gone by, the likes of me would probably have stayed in London and not come home. I would probably never encountered those blokes who I worked with and would probably never talked about rugby. I think as more jobs were generated and young lads fresh out of college got office jobs they saw this corporate crap. The stuff the majority of people would never have encountered suddenly was there. Newstalk launched with George rugby Hook and the young lads from Off the Ball and with this, the new young Newstalk generation in offices around Dublin saw these older men in suits and thought if I want to be successful I need to get into the rugby, the golf, I’ll go skiing!! Suddenly all these impressionable 20 something’s out of college on the corporate ladder were into rugby…this new interest was coupled with the game turning professional and with Heineken cup marketing rugby had arrived, it exploded.
Pretty soon town was flooded after a rugby game with birds wanting to meet a rugby bloke who was obviously successful or on his way up… Ulster were successful at first but they were up there, up north, that wasn’t really them, they couldn’t buy into that, but then Munster happened…big fat birds with Munster jersey’s started appearing out of nowhere, again with the one objective of hoping to meet some rugby lad out watching the game. Then it seemed everyone watched the rugby, it was a neutral sport for neutrals, everyone could get behind whatever Irish team that played, there was no rivalry, just a day out and everyone went out and everyone had money, the country was flying and so was the rugger. I walked into the boozer one day to see local lads there wearing Munster jerseys??? these lads from Fingal who were never into sport let alone rugby were somehow brainwashed into it. While I was having a piss I asked one lad what he was doing wearing a Munster jersey……It was the real rugby club I was told??? I presume Leinster was for south Dubs and private schools, who knows….I haven’t seen those lads in years but Im guessing some of them are probably wearing Leinster jerseys now and talking about BOD, sure Leinster is for everyone nowadays and Christ almighty this rugby is everywhere.
Every radio show, the news, Obama….but its not my news, I don’t want to hear about it, I don’t care diddly squat about it, I hate it. I hate it for what it represents…new Ireland…the new mature Ireland, the Ireland who stopped caring about their neighbours and who found a new religion in money and apartments and houses, as long as they were okay, they didn’t care about anyone, and this new “successful generation” with the likes of Seanie Fitz, Sean Dunne and Fingers, and who came of age in 2007 when they applauded God save, in Croke Park after getting directions to the stadium from a Garda on Amien St….a new celtic tiger Ireland who lusted for and got a pocket full of euros, which we would eventually lose, ironically by the very men who this newstalk generation wanted and probably still want to be….no need for the golf clubs now though with a lot less corporates!
Back in 97, I could have easily got the golf clubs, started the lessons, and then gone to the rugby games, the tickets were there if I wanted…I didn’t. While they were playing golf on Saturday I was on the beer or driving up to The Fishermans Inn in Glengad with TWCB to watch Celtic cup game’s which were shown on STV and which the pubs at the top of Donegal could pick up. I was going to Croke Park to watch the Dubs and when the new stand was finished at Celtic Park I got a season ticket and would spend at least one weekend a month, sometimes two in Glasgow watching Celtic and singing republican songs. Songs about Ireland, its history, I sang songs with lads from Belfast, Derry, Tyrone, lads who the 26 counties had turned their backs on….the 26 counties who didn’t care about their northern neighbours in the 20’s, 30’s, during the border campaign, the civil rights and in the 70’s and 80’s, cos they didn’t matter, those in the 26 counties were okay and that’s all that mattered….this generation’s children would inherit the same traits as their parents and didn’t bat an eyelid in the 90’s when the rugger team gave up our national anthem to appease bigots, they left it behind, discarded it along with our Country’s flag at the last world cup. I hate these people.
Its bandwagoners now yes, but its far more than that…its seeped right through, its got into the barrow of the entire country, the Heineken cup and celtic tiger started it but the off the ball generation stoked it up to the place where now it saturates the mainstream media and where aul lads in the boozer can be overheard talking about Sexton and his kicks, what the jaysus??? They probably couldn’t name two French clubs but who cares, what does this matter…its actually doesn’t, its just too easy to talk about and made all the more easy by the hype, meaningless hype.

So whats next? the newstalk generation don’t hate England anymore, during the last world cup I heard Ger Gilroy say “we support these lads week in week out, why not now?”, so some will be quite happy to see them win in Brazil this summer… and that too has seeped through to a point where I witnessed Irish lads starting fights with their own who chose to boo Gods save, in Wembley last May…Christ these are the same type of cunts on the dort who speak as if they are on some American tv show or boggers from Laois wearing Leinster jerseys, or those who take their shoes off for the boys in green…I hate these new breeds of Irish idiots, they represent nothing of me or my Country and it is these people who are exemplified by those who have been sucked in, embody pretentiousness and have been brainwashed by rugby marketing resulting in it being everywhere, fucking everywhere.
They like to watch it, its popular it but it doesn’t really matter if Ireland lose, cos they don’t really care that much about it, much like the people of the north, our anthem and our flag, easy come, easy go….who cares… We thought that the Celtic Tiger and everything it brought was a win win for Ireland but we thought wrong, negative equity, suicides, emigration, and christ rugby………we’ve lost, as a nation we lusted for the wrong thing and unfortunately found out, that plenty in the purse cannot prevent starvation of the soul……we’ve lost our soul.[/QUOTE]

Could only read about a quarter of that before my eyes bled. Use some paragraphs ffs.

Ebeneezer I lived in Glasgow for a few years. Many of the nordies trucking over to sing rebel songs were little short of pathetic and we avoided them like the plague. That old firm rivalry, and I went to lots of them in both places, poisoned the city. If I were still there now, and I absolutely live the place, I would t let the kids anywhere near it. Google a young lad called mark Scott and you will see where all that poisonous ancient obsolete bile brings us. Rugby is a great game to play and for all the shite around it you never ever feel an atmosphere of incipient or potential violence around it like you do at a big soccer match. The “green army” " best supporters in the world" " everybody loves us " soccer bandwagoners of the nineties and noughties were fucking way worse. And openly disrespecting another countries national anthem in this day and age is childish to be honest. The ulster lads that play for Ireland are not orange traitors. They are mostly irish and patriotic as you or I or indifferent and show absolute respect for our anthem.

The Ulster fans were and still are the heartbeat of the Celtic support.

Fuck off about rugby being a great game as well, that’s a fucking ridiculous statement.

You cannot blame what that scumbag Campbell did on Celtic fans singing rebel songs. The Scottish authorities also said these songs were sectarian which they are not but that is nothing new, the scottish league wanted Celtic to remove the tricolour from Parkhead which they would not.

I’ve been to huge amount of soccer marches all over Europe with Celtic and Ireland and to Wimbledon games when I lived in London. I rarely felt potential violence apart from Chelsea fans when they Wimbledon in the FA Cup at Highbury.

The lads who go over from the north of Ireland give Celtic Park atmosphere. Some of the scottish Celtic supporters are as boring as the old colonels at an Irish rugby game.

What the fuck are you on about?? that is the biggest pile of shit ever posted around here.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 919861, member: 1785”]Rocko that’s a fantastic post but it actually got me thinking of why I dislike the sport…

They like to watch it, its popular it but it doesn’t really matter if Ireland lose, cos they don’t really care that much about it, much like the people of the north, our anthem and our flag, easy come, easy go….who cares… We thought that the Celtic Tiger and everything it brought was a win win for Ireland but we thought wrong, negative equity, suicides, emigration, and christ rugby………we’ve lost, as a nation we lusted for the wrong thing and unfortunately found out, that plenty in the purse cannot prevent starvation of the soul……we’ve lost our soul.[/QUOTE]

That’s some load of crap.