Woeful Journalism

Farcical selection.

I wonder did he even see them all play both sports. I doubt he say Blaney hurling.

Blaney played for Down when they won the Ulster hurling championship in 1992 and put up a respectable performance against Cork. He wasn’t one their better players from what I remember though. His club Ballycran is a “hurling stronghold™”.

Lar and Des Foley are ridiculous omissions.

This is so bad it reads like a parody.

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/concoughlin/100246942/why-doesnt-panorama-investigate-the-iras-secret-hit-squads/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter[SIZE=6]

Why doesn’t Panorama investigate the IRA’s secret hit squads?[/SIZE]
By Con Coughlin

Tonight, by all accounts, the BBC’s flagship Panorama current affairs programme is going to provide us with chapter and verse on how secret British hit squads murdered defenceless Irish civilians during the height of the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

According to the pre-broadcast publicity, the Panorama team have tracked down former members of a British Army unit called the Military Reaction Force (MRF), in which they relate how they often acted outside the law and carried out drive-by shootings of suspected IRA gunmen.

Clearly, if our soldiers are operating beyond the law, then they should be held to account, as we have recently seen with the high-profile case of Marine A, who has been convicted of murdering a defenceless Taliban fighter in Afghanistan.

But in the kind of brutal conflict that was being waged on the streets of Northern Ireland during the 1970s, it was often difficult to distinguish between what was an act of war, and what was a criminal offence.

The brutal murder of British officer Captain Robert Nairac, for example, who was savagely beaten to death in the lawless bandit border area of South Armagh by the IRA in 1977, clearly falls into the latter category. The killing of IRA gunmen, on the other hand, who were shot in the act of commissioning crimes, such as placing roadside bombs, against British Army patrols may safely be categorised in the former.

But in the kind of terrorist campaign that was being fought with savage ferocity by both sides during the 1970s, regard for the rule of law became something of a grey area.

And while anyone serving in the Armed Forces is obliged by law to respect the rules of war, the same principles certainly did not apply to the IRA, who routinely killed and maimed innocent civilians – including women and children – in their fanatical pursuit of a united Ireland.

So if the police are going to investigate Panorama’s allegations that British soldiers were encouraged by their superiors to take the law into their own hands, then they should apply the same rigour to investigating the various “war crimes” committed by the IRA, many of whose senior commanders from that era now like to pass themselves off as respectable politicians. Perhaps, by way of a sequel to tonight’s viewing, Panorama would like to do a programme on that.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 863435, member: 183”]This is so bad it reads like a parody.

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/concoughlin/100246942/why-doesnt-panorama-investigate-the-iras-secret-hit-squads/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter[SIZE=6]

Why doesn’t Panorama investigate the IRA’s secret hit squads?[/SIZE]
By Con Coughlin

Tonight, by all accounts, the BBC’s flagship Panorama current affairs programme is going to provide us with chapter and verse on how secret British hit squads murdered defenceless Irish civilians during the height of the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

According to the pre-broadcast publicity, the Panorama team have tracked down former members of a British Army unit called the Military Reaction Force (MRF), in which they relate how they often acted outside the law and carried out drive-by shootings of suspected IRA gunmen.

Clearly, if our soldiers are operating beyond the law, then they should be held to account, as we have recently seen with the high-profile case of Marine A, who has been convicted of murdering a defenceless Taliban fighter in Afghanistan.

But in the kind of brutal conflict that was being waged on the streets of Northern Ireland during the 1970s, it was often difficult to distinguish between what was an act of war, and what was a criminal offence.

The brutal murder of British officer Captain Robert Nairac, for example, who was savagely beaten to death in the lawless bandit border area of South Armagh by the IRA in 1977, clearly falls into the latter category. The killing of IRA gunmen, on the other hand, who were shot in the act of commissioning crimes, such as placing roadside bombs, against British Army patrols may safely be categorised in the former.

But in the kind of terrorist campaign that was being fought with savage ferocity by both sides during the 1970s, regard for the rule of law became something of a grey area.

And while anyone serving in the Armed Forces is obliged by law to respect the rules of war, the same principles certainly did not apply to the IRA, who routinely killed and maimed innocent civilians – including women and children – in their fanatical pursuit of a united Ireland.

So if the police are going to investigate Panorama’s allegations that British soldiers were encouraged by their superiors to take the law into their own hands, then they should apply the same rigour to investigating the various “war crimes” committed by the IRA, many of whose senior commanders from that era now like to pass themselves off as respectable politicians. Perhaps, by way of a sequel to tonight’s viewing, Panorama would like to do a programme on that.[/quote]
I’m not sure he sees the irony in talking about the high profile calling to account of Marine A.

Niamh never disappoints

Records were broken as billionaires bartered for horseflesh at Goffs last week. Niamh Horan dropped in for a look

THE scene was set for the record books to be broken. Saudi dynasty and billionaire business magnates descended on Goffs bloodstock agency in Co Kildare as the countdown to the historic horse auction began on Friday morning.

This was by far the biggest concentration of wealth in one room since the heady days of the Celtic Tiger.

But unlike the gaudy peacock displays of Ireland’s halcyon years, this weekend’s meeting was all about wealth kept well out of sight.

In the canteen, multi-millionaire Indian stud owner Shyam Ruia skipped the organic-salmon menu and sat in runners and a fleece, eating thick-cut chips and drinking cola with his Cambridge-educated son.

Upstairs, Sheik Fahad Al Thani, from the ruling family of Qatar, kicked back in a tracksuit as he smiled at passers-by through the open door of his private suite.

The anticipation in the air for the main event was intoxicating. Down on the auction room floor, millions of euro was trading at the tip of a hat or the wink of an eye.

But shortly after 5pm, the star they’d all been waiting for entered the ring. Chestnut brown, with a brilliant glossy coat, intelligent eyes and fluid gait, Chicquita was the one they had come to see.

Children who had been given the day off school sat on their parents knees as one horse enthusiast pointed out: “In years to come, people will ask, ‘Where were you the day the record was broken?’”

There was just a hint of the Ballinasloe Horse Fair about it – where the judgement of horse flesh, the knowing eye, the excitement of the purchase – reminds us where the heart of Ireland’s talent really lies.

When ruling over the two arenas, the difference between Saudi princes and canny Travellers in Ballinasloe is one of degree.

In the middle of the crowd sat the Australian breeder Paul Makin. Dressed unassumingly in a black raincoat and jeans, this was the proud and colourful owner of the thoroughbred collection on sale.

To his right, in the red corner, was Irishman Peter Doyle with his son Ross. On the far side, in the blue corner, stood British buyer James McHale.

The previous European record set for a filly was €5.8m at the height of the boom in 2006. Tensions were high that that bar would be raised this weekend.

“The ring hasn’t been this full since Christy Moore was in the middle of it,” quipped Sir Nick Nugent.

“Here we go,” whispered an excited punter as auctioneer Henry Beeby kicked off the theatrics from the podium.

Gasps echoed through the crowd when the British buyer, on a mobile phone to a secret bidder, subtly raised three fingers, signalling how many million he was throwing in to start the race.

On the far side, Doyle didn’t take his eyes off his son, who was whispering on the phone to an undisclosed buyer. “Should we go one more?” he casually asked his son, before with the slightest raise of his finger, he was back in the game, heading to €4m.

Standing on the podium, the auctioneer turned his attention towards the opposition, his rhythmic chant burrowing deep into the rich man’s psyche. “Don’t walk away empty handed, are you going to let him walk away with this,” said the auctioneer.

The champion horse continued round in circles as his value reached dizzying heights. Whether it was ego, desire or power at play, the bids kept rolling in. This was a rich man’s race with everything to play for.

Suddenly, McHale made the big jump to €5m.

The father and son team kept their cool, acting unperturbed every time their British opponent came back with a higher offer. On the wall behind, the stakes climbed on the electronic tally, the red digits now clocking €5.5m.

There was talk in the father and son camp that their chance had disappeared.

Was it a tactic? They were surrounded by dozens of men, many who had mobile phones glued to their ears. Who knew who was listening in, feeding back information.

“Do we have €5.6m,” the auctioneer asked, only to be met with stony silence.

“Go on, do it,” he coaxed in the most seductive tone. Doyle’s finger went up, his face always carefully turned away from the crowd and his opponent.

McHale offered €5.7m, with his secret bidder now offering more than originally planned.

Finally, the auctioneer asked the Irish son and father team for €6m: “Come on, I hate to see you lose, you bid me so well.”

Suddenly they threw down the gauntlet at €6m. The auctioneer looked towards McHale again. This time, however, there was no bite. It was a knockout. Doyle and son were bringing her home.

“She’s gorgeous, she’s a star,” smiled Peter as they made their way through crowds of punters eager to shake their hands.

Afterwards Paul Makin, another satisfied customer, sat in a private suite, vintage champagne on ice. Was he sorry to see her go?

“It’s like an old girlfriend. What am I going to do – go back and say, ‘I’m really sorry, I want you back?’ This was over.”

And it wasn’t about the money either. “I could win or lose a million and I don’t think about money. My wife got all my money and I just hope that she still loves me,” he smiled looking over at his beautiful brunette partner.

A few minutes later there was a knock at the door and under-bidder James McHale walked in to shake his hand. “It’s very disappointing but we went a bit further than intended,” he told the Sunday Independent afterwards.

“Oh and before you ask, no, it wasn’t Paul on the other end of the phone” he chuckled before walking out the door.

We never thought it for a second.

Last year the thoroughbred industry made €1.1bn for the Irish economy. Goffs sold €23m worth of thoroughbred horses on Friday, €13m of which belonged to Paul Makin.

I don’t really read much of the Irish Independent’s sports articles so I am a bit curious to know if Dion Fanning is actually a retard?

I’ve read some terrible sports articles, some decent, some intriguing and some boring; it is however very rare to read an article and have absolutely no clue what the author was trying to articulate and the point behind the article. This happened to me today when I followed a link on twitter on an article he wrote on Roy Keane.

Utterly bizarre.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/philosopherwarrior-just-cant-back-down-in-battle-for-truth-29839049.html

[quote=“Rudi, post: 874847, member: 1052”]I don’t really read much of the Irish Independent’s sports articles so I am a bit curious to know if Dion Fanning is actually a retard?

I’ve read some terrible sports articles, some decent, some intriguing and some boring; it is however very rare to read an article and have absolutely no clue what the author was trying to articulate and the point behind the article. This happened to me today when I followed a link on twitter on an article he wrote on Roy Keane.

Utterly bizarre.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/philosopherwarrior-just-cant-back-down-in-battle-for-truth-29839049.html[/quote]
It’s truly awful alright. I think he tries to construct an article about that clichéd quote instead of writing about something interesting and using a relevant quote.

This piece in the Irish Times recently pissed me off no end.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/six-nations/giants-of-the-game-where-are-they-now-1.1669661

I’m not arsed copying the whole thing in here because it’s long and boring and pointless and error-strewn and badly written and irrelevant. But it’s there for anyone who wants to read about Connacht legend Matt Mostyn who was “well liked and respected” or how Jeremy Davidson is such a good coach that he interviewed (unsuccessfully) for an assistant coaching job in France.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 899088, member: 1”]This piece in the Irish Times recently pissed me off no end.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/six-nations/giants-of-the-game-where-are-they-now-1.1669661

I’m not arsed copying the whole thing in here because it’s long and boring and pointless and error-strewn and badly written and irrelevant. But it’s there for anyone who wants to read about Connacht legend Matt Mostyn who was “well liked and respected” or how Jeremy Davidson is such a good coach that he interviewed (unsuccessfully) for an assistant coaching job in France.[/quote]

I went to the end of it. I see one of them ended up in KPMG

[quote=“Rocko, post: 899088, member: 1”]This piece in the Irish Times recently pissed me off no end.

I’m not arsed copying the whole thing in here because it’s long and boring and pointless and error-strewn and badly written and irrelevant. But it’s there for anyone who wants to read about Connacht legend Matt Mostyn who was “well liked and respected” or how Jeremy Davidson is such a good coach that he interviewed (unsuccessfully) for an assistant coaching job in France.[/quote]

How would you compare it to this one Rocko

http://balls.ie/football/ireland-international-where-are-they-now-usa-friendly-lapira/

Have met Maggs over here a few times. A gent of a man.

I wonder if Davison threw Horan a few bob for this bit of promo
http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/education/rosannas-mission-to-change-the-way-we-eat-29992751.html

Its woeful journalism that none of RTE , Indo or the irish times have picked up on the ST story that GSOC was bugged

I like Rafa Honigstein but this kind of tripe has no place in a football article.

Xavier Sala-i-Martín, a professor of economics and a former Barcelona treasurer, has compared Guardiola’s “continuous innovation” to the highly-flexible production process of Spanish retailer Zara. Zara’s collections are more expensive to produce than those of rival chains but change much more frequently, in line with trends or micro-trends. Both Zara’s and Bayern’s output is still defined by a grand framework but within that, flexibility is just as important: employing the appropriate micro-tactics for any given situation takes precedent over dogma.

Whatever would Cloughie have made of that?

[quote=“Thrawneen, post: 904904, member: 129”]I like Rafa Honigstein but this kind of tripe has no place in a football article.

Whatever would Cloughie have made of that?[/quote]

Shite journalism indeed and also relevant for the “woof” thread.

Barry Egan (I know, I know…) in todays Sindo.

As Brian O’Driscoll’s final game at Twickenham, this was supposed to be the stuff of a Hollywood movie script. Drico wins Triple Crown for Ireland at Twickers with a last minute try. Somebody fluffed their lines, sadly.

This historic game, which should have been a triumph to live long in the memory of Irish fans across the world, ended in nail-biting heartbreak for the Irish.

Hearts were aflutter when Ireland hero with the matinee-idol looks Rob Kearney heroically dashed through the English to score that try. And when Johnny Sexton converted it through the posts there was an outbreak of euphoria, not least when Sexton not long after put Ireland into double figures.

A TV camera cutaway of England head honcho Stuart Lancaster showed him gurning distractedly, like a bulldog chewing a wasp. But that was the high water mark. And as the tide turned, the hope in Irish hearts slowly started to recede, as the English came back to 13-10. But the close scoring game always left a glimmer of hope, and right to the end the Irish warrior spirit kept pushing - but it was just not to be.

More than 25,000 Irish had descended on London for the battle and before a ball had even been kicked, they were in fine form. Adrian Delahunty, from Thurles, made his presence known outside the train station in Twickenham. “Come on, ye boys in green! We’ll leather them on the pitch!” laughed the London based builder. His wife Bridget, an East Sussex woman, wore her England jersey but diplomatically said she would cheer for both Ireland and England. :rolleyes:

In fact, compared with the sometimes frosty relations between the Irish and Welsh rugby teams, there was an air of entente cordiale in London this weekend. Treacie Linnane from Roscommon said it was a great weekend for Irish supporters. “Our boys are the best in the world,” she said - and we almost were. :rolleyes:

Many had travelled a long way, hoping for the friendly Gods to shine on Joe Schmidt’s team yesterday, so Ireland would bring home the Triple Crown. But the baleful Gods had their day.

Philip O’Dwyer of Tipperary flew over from the States, where he is director of youth rugby at Boston Irish Wolfhounds, to watch King Drico and Co take on the auld enemy. “Ireland are going to beat the English. Here’s why,” Philip insisted in his Yank-Tipp accent. :smiley:

Even in defeat there was no despair. “It has been a great trip for me. I’m happy I came over,” he said, adding that he was flying home to Boston tomorrow morning. Former Minister Conor Lenihan flew in from Moscow while current Minister Phil Hogan flew in from Dublin. “Sport gives everyone a lift, no matter what sport you are involved in or you follow. And it’s a great distraction from some of the troubles of recent years,” said Mr Hogan, though I wasn’t sure what troubles he was referring to.

Sheila Bailey, CEO of the Ireland Fund of Great Britain (the charity beneficiary of the Ronan O’Gara testimonial dinner in London last week) told me: “This is probably BOD’s last international against Ireland’s greatest rivals. It’s great to be here for that.”

Lord of the Dance Michael Flatley was in the crowd, convinced it was going to be Ireland’s day. “It’s a wonderful occasion: O’Connell, O’Mahony, Healy, Johnny Sexton - these are today’s Irish heroes.” :rolleyes:

There was a fair smattering of fans enjoying the banter and a few songs in The Cabbage Patch and The Eel Pie pub, but most of the Irish were in The William Webb Ellis (named after the inventor of rugby) on the London Road. In the Barmy Arms, a riverfront pub in old Twickenham, U2’s Beautiful Day was on the jukebox as the sun beat down on Irish fans by the Thames, flowing fast and deep after last weeks storms.

Streaming out of the stadium, the replays and debates began. They continued late into the night. Someone said they thought Irish fans didn’t want just rugby, they wanted Drico and Sexton to transmit something magical from the pitch. And they did that. It was a match to remember, full of tension, passion and brio from the very first moment. It was an emotional experience. :rolleyes:

Hearing the Irish fans in near delirium sing The Fields of Athenry is as much about pride in the oul sod as it is about sport. And it’s got to be said that the English supporters sang Swing Low Sweet Chariot with equal gusto. Rugby occupies an untouchable place in the soul of the Irish people and Brian O’Driscoll has a place in their hearts - the last Cuchulainn. :smiley:

But yesterday England became a foe that even he couldn’t slay.

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 908362, member: 1552”]Barry Egan (I know, I know…) in todays Sindo.

As Brian O’Driscoll’s final game at Twickenham, this was supposed to be the stuff of a Hollywood movie script. Drico wins Triple Crown for Ireland at Twickers with a last minute try. Somebody fluffed their lines, sadly.

This historic game, which should have been a triumph to live long in the memory of Irish fans across the world, ended in nail-biting heartbreak for the Irish.

Hearts were aflutter when Ireland hero with the matinee-idol looks Rob Kearney heroically dashed through the English to score that try. And when Johnny Sexton converted it through the posts there was an outbreak of euphoria, not least when Sexton not long after put Ireland into double figures.

A TV camera cutaway of England head honcho Stuart Lancaster showed him gurning distractedly, like a bulldog chewing a wasp. But that was the high water mark. And as the tide turned, the hope in Irish hearts slowly started to recede, as the English came back to 13-10. But the close scoring game always left a glimmer of hope, and right to the end the Irish warrior spirit kept pushing - but it was just not to be.

More than 25,000 Irish had descended on London for the battle and before a ball had even been kicked, they were in fine form. Adrian Delahunty, from Thurles, made his presence known outside the train station in Twickenham. “Come on, ye boys in green! We’ll leather them on the pitch!” laughed the London based builder. His wife Bridget, an East Sussex woman, wore her England jersey but diplomatically said she would cheer for both Ireland and England. :rolleyes:

In fact, compared with the sometimes frosty relations between the Irish and Welsh rugby teams, there was an air of entente cordiale in London this weekend. Treacie Linnane from Roscommon said it was a great weekend for Irish supporters. “Our boys are the best in the world,” she said - and we almost were. :rolleyes:

Many had travelled a long way, hoping for the friendly Gods to shine on Joe Schmidt’s team yesterday, so Ireland would bring home the Triple Crown. But the baleful Gods had their day.

Philip O’Dwyer of Tipperary flew over from the States, where he is director of youth rugby at Boston Irish Wolfhounds, to watch King Drico and Co take on the auld enemy. “Ireland are going to beat the English. Here’s why,” Philip insisted in his Yank-Tipp accent. :smiley:

Even in defeat there was no despair. “It has been a great trip for me. I’m happy I came over,” he said, adding that he was flying home to Boston tomorrow morning. Former Minister Conor Lenihan flew in from Moscow while current Minister Phil Hogan flew in from Dublin. “Sport gives everyone a lift, no matter what sport you are involved in or you follow. And it’s a great distraction from some of the troubles of recent years,” said Mr Hogan, though I wasn’t sure what troubles he was referring to.

Sheila Bailey, CEO of the Ireland Fund of Great Britain (the charity beneficiary of the Ronan O’Gara testimonial dinner in London last week) told me: “This is probably BOD’s last international against Ireland’s greatest rivals. It’s great to be here for that.”

Lord of the Dance Michael Flatley was in the crowd, convinced it was going to be Ireland’s day. “It’s a wonderful occasion: O’Connell, O’Mahony, Healy, Johnny Sexton - these are today’s Irish heroes.” :rolleyes:

There was a fair smattering of fans enjoying the banter and a few songs in The Cabbage Patch and The Eel Pie pub, but most of the Irish were in The William Webb Ellis (named after the inventor of rugby) on the London Road. In the Barmy Arms, a riverfront pub in old Twickenham, U2’s Beautiful Day was on the jukebox as the sun beat down on Irish fans by the Thames, flowing fast and deep after last weeks storms.

Streaming out of the stadium, the replays and debates began. They continued late into the night. Someone said they thought Irish fans didn’t want just rugby, they wanted Drico and Sexton to transmit something magical from the pitch. And they did that. It was a match to remember, full of tension, passion and brio from the very first moment. It was an emotional experience. :rolleyes:

Hearing the Irish fans in near delirium sing The Fields of Athenry is as much about pride in the oul sod as it is about sport. And it’s got to be said that the English supporters sang Swing Low Sweet Chariot with equal gusto. Rigby occupies an untouchable place in the soul of the Irish people and Brian O’Driscoll has a place in their hearts - the last Cuchulainn. :smiley:

But yesterday England became a foe that even he couldn’t slay.[/quote]

A bulldog chewing a wasp :smiley: Barry’s gas.

More evidence. Not a sport for them. You are supposed to despair if you lose an important game.