There is a dedicated thread on the matter Sid.
What a shower of cunts.
What the fuck is this guy on about :lol: , bizarre stuff.
[size=3][font=times new roman]Sunday World apologises to Gerry Kelly[/font][/size]
The Sunday World has issued a public apology to Sinn Féin MLA Gerry Kelly in relation to false allegations made against him in articles published 15 years ago.
Mr Kelly settled his action against the newspaper and received an undisclosed sum of money.
He sued the paper after it falsely claimed in an article published in February 1996 that he was the Chief of Staff of the IRA and had responsibility for ending the IRA ceasefire.
It was also falsely claimed in December 1996 that he had a liaison with the US diplomat Martha Pope for ulterior motives.
Senior Counsel for the Sunday World, Oisin Quinn, read out the apology in court.
He said the newspaper acknowledged that both articles were wrong. And he said it apologised to Gerry Kelly for the upset that the articles caused.
Mr Quinn also said the Sunday World accepted that Mr Kelly had played an important part in ending the violence in Northern Ireland and made a positive and significant contribution to the peace process.
Speaking this morning, Mr Kelly criticised the length of time it took the newspaper to admit its wrongdoing.
“This case could have been settled 15 years ago with a simple apology from the Sunday World but they consistently fought to keep the case from going to court,” Mr Kelly said.
"I felt I should pursue the case in order to combat the view in some elements of the media that republicans, and particularly ex-prisoners, are fair game and easy targets.
"There is an onus on all journalists and news corporations to report in an honest and fact-based manner.
“To do otherwise, as was done in this case, is to do a disservice not only to the people involved in the story but to the public in general.”
Anthony Stokes on Twitter:
“Love how the papers are trying to make out I’m devastated after their article yest,knew about it all my life…just as well I suppose lol!”
Attabhoy Stokesy.
Stokesy is the Irish Balotelli.
Adopted
Enigmatic
Maverick quality on the pitch
One of the most naturally talented players that his country has produced in the last 10 years
Off-pitch high jinks
Disobeys managers commands and does his own thing
Bertie Ahern’s former cheerleader moralising about waste in the public sector. Any chance he will hand back his Seanad salaries, pensions, entitlements etc I wonder
It should be no surprise at this stage but I still find myself in a fucking rage whenever I read anything by that prick. It’s not so much his opinions - I’m immune to them by now - but the fact this cunt gets paid to write his pontificating shit and the fact other people will actually read it and might agree with it. Sickening.
I found it quite the cathartic experience to leave a comment underneath… Haha
I couldn’t care less about the opinions of anybody who writes for the Sindo these days. I used to be annoyed by them but they are far more likely to make me laugh now. Once you realise that these people really do know the square root of fuck all about anything, and you remind yourself of how they have backed every losing economic policy possible, a lovely, zen-like calm settles over you.
That’s irrelevant. They have a massive impact on public sentiment which is what they are there for. Whether they are wrong or not makes fuck all difference.
I think I’ve given up on the hope that public sentiment will ever change. Accepting defeat is better for your sanity. I don’t give a fuck anymore.
“The engineers were putting together interviews with Bob Dylan from about 1966-7 or so…he said over and over that he’d been through all of this protest thing, and that the only thing that was important was to live his own life happily and freely, not to “mess around with other people’s lives” by working for civil and human rights, ending war and poverty, etc. He was asked what he thought about the Berkeley “free speech movement” and said that he didn’t understand it. He said something like: “I have free speech, I can do what I want, so it has nothing to do with me. Period.” If the capitalist PR machine [term used in the question] wanted to invent someone for their purposes, they couldn’t have made a better choice.” - Noam Chomsky, 1994
Jaw dropping stuff, this.
Rebuilding trust integral to salvaging our currency
LUCINDA CREIGHTON
Fri, Nov 25, 2011
IT IS not unusual, at times of economic crisis, that nations retreat inwards. They see others as rivals – sources of strife and aggression. They jealously guard their own patch, while the instinct of citizens and politicians is to batten down the hatches and become more inward looking, seeing solutions to all problems as being internal rather than external.
The trend towards narrow nationalism in Europe is worrying. Irish people speaking ill of the Germans, Germans speaking ill of the Greeks and so on. This vicious cycle needs to be tackled.
Narrow-minded nationalism has always been a dangerous tendency. We don’t need a history lesson to see how it manifested on the continent of Europe in the two world wars. It is even more dangerous in today’s globalised world. Not only does it risk cultivating a rise in racism and hatred, it also has potentially devastating economic costs as today’s nations cannot exist in splendid isolation.
That was a luxury for a different time.
The modern world has developed a complex web of regional alliances. Every geographical area, from Africa to South America, is awakening to the economic and social benefits of political alliances. For countries and people to prosper, they need to be enormous in terms of size and population, or else they need limitless access to consumer and labour markets. Nations all over see their future as part of such new emerging regional blocs. The European Union for all its faults is seen as an enviable model for these emerging alliances.
So before we throw out the European model, as many commentators seem to suggest, perhaps we should look at what is happening in the wider world. It is becoming more competitive and more dynamic. New economic groupings will happily challenge Europe for the trade and investment we claim as a rite of passage.
So we have two options. We can see this as a challenge to meet by redoubling our efforts to generate growth and job creation in the European Union. Alternatively, we can lie down and accept that Europe will no longer be a major economic player and resign ourselves to becoming an open-air museum, with nice historical sites to visit but no economic firepower to provide jobs and living standards for the generations to come.
I strongly believe that this Republic’s best interest is served by being part of a re-energised European Union. The EU must continue to pursue, as its core objective, the construction of a dynamic European economy to provide the quality of life that we want. We can only benefit from this. Nationalistic isolation was tried in the 1940s, 1950s and 1960s. It failed. It cannot succeed in today’s globalised world. So we must work with our European partners to shape the Europe we want, and indeed, the Europe we badly need.
Recent anti-German rhetoric in this State has reached a worrying degree. We need to understand Germany a little better, and Germany needs to understand us. It is dangerous to pitch members of the EU against each other. We are not enemies; we are not on opposite sides of the fence, we have a mutual interest in achieving a solution to the crisis that surrounds our currency and our continent. We might disagree on solutions, but it is in our absolute interest to find agreement.
Taoiseach Enda Kenny visited Germany recently to explain our views on the steps needed to rescue our common currency. We favour swift and decisive intervention by the European Central Bank to protect vulnerable economies such as the Republic from contagion in the euro zone.
It is understandable that the German government casts a careful eye on such proposals. It is the biggest contributor to the current EU bailout packages. German citizens question whether this money will ever be repaid. They have a natural reluctance to support measures that may add to inflation in the euro zone. This is a scepticism that derives from negative historical experiences.
Germans have a natural affinity with rules and regulations and are nervous that some beneficiaries of German funds (not including this State!) do not have the same respect for such rules. All of these considerations make the German response to the crisis a cautious one. This is understandable, but time is running out and Germany needs to act.
It is clear that the Republic, Germany and indeed all the other members of the euro zone can and should work together. It is not a peripheral problem, but one that strikes at the core of our shared interest. Rather than standing on the sidelines shouting about past mistakes, or accusing each other of power grabs within the union, we must start to trust each other again.
By rebuilding trust and agreeing common solutions, we can save our currency and create conditions for economic growth long into the future. As Irish people, we should not see Germany as an imposing aggressor. Rather we should see its economic strength and political leverage as an indispensable part of the solution to the crisis which has engulfed our currency and economy.
The Republic’s economic and social interests lie in seeing this crisis end once and for all. And Germany has a crucial role to play in achieving this.
Lucinda Creighton is Minister of State for European Affairs
© 2011 The Irish Times
I couldn’t be arsed pasting the full article in
http://www.independe…ne-2954093.html
Adrian Chiles feels the chill as he leaves morning TV studio for last time with zip undone
OUSTED Daybreak host Adrian Chilesmust have felt out in the cold this morning as he walked away from the studio with his zip undone.
He and axed co-host Christine Bleakley[/url]laughed and joked as they bowed out of the show with a low-key exit [url=“http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Today_%28NBC_Program%29”]today.
And as they strode away from the ITV1 morning show’s studio, the fly of Chiles’s jeans had clearly plummeted even lower than the show’s ratings.
The duo were dropped from the programme just 15 months after they launched Daybreak, with viewers apparently failing to warm to them. They had been due to continue for several weeks but their departure date was brought forward.
They said farewell to viewers and thanked production staff as their stint ended.
http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00990/chiles_990893t.jpg
To think, the person who wrote that probably wanted to be a journalist once upon a time.
That looks like a scoop for the Independent on the face of it but I assume it’s syndicated from elsewhere. Wouldn’t have thought their London equivalent would be writing stories like that though. Where do the Irish Indo get their filler from?
Fox news must have some of the funniest stuff ever put on television under the umbrella of journalism.
Here, they have a cut off the muppets and Sesame Street.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jl6ekkvWnOE
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
OH GOD! THEY CAN’T BE ALLOWED TO GET AWAY WITH WHAT THEY SAID ABOUT TEX RICHMAN! HE’S THE AMERICAN DREAM! WE ARE TEACHING OUR FOUR YEAR OLDS CLASS WARFARE!
I couldn’t watch the whole thing as it made my head hurt. I know they had a big thing a few months ago about how Sesame Street was brainwashing kids into homosexuality.
But then again, this is a channel who support a party with the following people trying to get their nomination for the presidency:
Herman Cain FFS
Newt Gingrich, who we all thought was dead
A woman who thinks the earth was formed 5000 years ago
A man who thinks climate change doesn’t exist and the answer to the worst drought in the history of the state he governs is prayer meetings (the same man who jogs with a semi automatic weapon in case a coyote jumps out at him)
A man who’s father used to be a KKK grand marshall or whatever they call themselves
Mitt Ro
Sorry, nodded off there, I find it very hard to say his name without falling asleep, he’s that fucking bland.