You'd want your head examined or have daughters like Hopper McGrath, to manage a Ladies team thread

The English are very aggressive, they’ve a lot of pent-up rage from all the good manners.

Yeah, they were very mannerly when they tried to conquer the world alright.

That was just all their pent-up aggression from all their good manners and fair play.

Not English girls

I had the mother of wan lass giving me abuse from the sideline.

I’m sure referees never feel they deserve abuse.

We’re here for you any time you want to talk

I doubt any referee deserves to be called a cheat when they’ve given up their evening. I suppose because it was a girl you think it’s alright.

I reckon you should be allowed remove the finger from any fella who gives a referee abuse.

Theres frustration, I understand, everyone is hot, there’s good natured abuse, and then there’s someone not that much older than your daughter calling you a fucking cheat right up to your face.
Anyhow, I’m clearly over all that nasty business now.

Indeed :disappointed_relieved:

I reffed a few u-12 boys hurling and football matches last year. You’d want your head examined to be a ref. I’d be of the school of as few shrills of the whistle as possible, let it flow, the Cody way :slight_smile: . Then if I see something that is happening the whole time during the start of a game, like too much rucks or soloing etc I’ll say it to the managers at the start of half time and ask them to say it to the teams. All fair enough and reasonable you’d think.
But the abuse you get at times off the parents, cunts with big porter heads up on them of a Sunday morning and they giving out yards (the men aren’t much better!!) And these are challenges, I wouldn’t ref league matches.
One ‘mentor’ from Midleton was roaring and shouting at one match (seemingly Midleton are like that, always have been, @fenwaypark to confirm) and I went over to him and asked him what was he at, we’re all volunteering, calm down, we’re all doing our best… he told me to go and fuck myself at which stage I went to the next mentor and asked him to get control over his coaching team. Drove yer man spare as he was the head coach.
Anyhow, people be crazy.

It’s some contrast to rugby. I remember reffing my first rugby game. It was u13 C match vs Marys. There was a priest over Marys. He came up to me afterwards and said ’ fair play son, you could have called a dozen off sides there but you did’nt’. I was thinking to myself ’ if I knew what an offside was, I would’. If that was a gaa crowd, id have been assaulted.

Do you know the name of mentor?

Getting involved with any team is a nightmare. Recently got involved with a team and the amount of parents coming up the manager to ask why are the sons not playing every minute of every match or why are they playing in that position? The worst is the parent that is living in denial that there kids in good enough to be starting. Its a fucking minefield.

Just poking fun at you Flatty. That’s rotten behaviour and it sounds to me like you should have sent her straight off, but I know you wouldn’t like to do that.

No but he was around our age. The Dungorney lads knew him well enough.

Pat Walsh maybe.

I’ll ask and find out

Nicely played