Yes, I expect so. I wish he’d have done it already instead of drawing it out. Isn’t there some dispute as to whether the actual “Boland’s Mill” occupied site was actually up by Grand Canal Street where the treasury building is now? The ceremony today was to commemorate the Boland’s Mill, Mount Street, Northumberland Road and Clanwilliam House volunteers. I made a point of attending as these are the heroes who massacred the Irish Rugby Football Union Corps.
The most common mistake of amateur Rising historians. The Volunteer garrison was in Bolands Bakery, which is now the Treasury Building. Bolands Mills had no strategic significance. Look for the plaque on the side of the Treasury Building commemorating the Rising the next time you are walking up from Cardiff Lane.
Was that where DeValera played hide and seek.
I don’t believe the Art of Coffee saw much action in 1916 either.
Don’t be getting smart because I pre-empted your attempted history lesson. Go fuck yourself, you old cunt.
A coffee shop, how perfect. Connolly and Co. would have been in there on their MacBooks hammering away on the journal.ie comments section against those pesky capitalists it those things were around back then.
The Treasury building would have been a bit much.
Is there a troop of ye going around laying wreaths in the wrong locations?
They marched over a bridge in Enniscorthy earlier that wasn’t built in 1916.
I was about 20 feet to your left, my old pal. It was a lovely ceremony although the murmuring of the national anthem left me slightly cold. Had a grand day then in around the city and I even saw @North_County_Corncak marching in the republican Sinn Fein parade. Followed by 2 pints of Guinness in Toners. A lovely day.
A beautiful walk around Glasnevin finished off my weekend. Great to see so much work gone into restoring many of the headstones, however still a huge amount in disrepair. Sadder still to see some prominent headstones needing a bit of a clean up, even worse given some of those requiring tending had stone useless cunts living it up on O’Connell Street yesterday in their name.
Dublin was superb today. Loads of activities for all ages and interests and a great buzz around town. Barely any boozing to be seen. A great day to cap off a great weekend for the city.
Such shite. You haven’t mentioned any activities and what does no boozing mean?
Did you look into all the pubs?
Tripe
The standard of marching I saw would see lads executed here on the mainland
Pure crap so it was. Have they any fucking shame? Even the cadets down in Portsmouth would have more cop on
Is that rocko ?
You’ll be delighted to know that I did end up going to Stephens green for a while today, kid.
I met @rocko by chance today and must admit he was looking way less Turkish than normal. It looked like he had deliberately styled himself as a middle eastern Tom Clarke.
France? Germany? Italy?