2010 National Hurling League

nauseating carkie tripe as usual and thats just the highlighted bits.

On Cusack, his profile in the game has nothing to do with his ability as a player. Naturally when he gets all high and mighty it would antagonise people as a result. After the strikes most people with an interest in sport were sick of him and his Pastagates not just TLW. Lets be frank about it he is a middle of the road keeper and always was.

Decent shot stopper, but his puck-outs aren’t as good as Donal Og. TBF, he is well known for huge puck-outs, which wouldn’t be suited to the light and small attack that COrk had out yesterday.

The Cork-Tipp thing (that we don’t understand) is a pretty ridiculous statement alright.

Cusack was and is far from a middle of the road keeper, not as good as Fitzhenry(peerless) but excellent all the same. The chap expresses his opinions and for doing this he has been unfairly derided, punters clearly are not able to accept this and judge him as a keeper based on their (generally unfair) dislike for him.

Even though presumably most people who pass judgement on him probably never held a conversation with the man. But hey it’s the internet and it’s ok to have a go coz nobody has to back up their opinions. Apart from Kev & TDBP who are gonna meet up and box the shit out of each other.

Appendage, please post your full name, address and club if you’re going to discuss an amateur sportsperson.

Regards,
Bandage

Presmably TFK Lite is the only light thing you indulge in.

Cunt.

Just read the Colm O’Rourke article from yesterday, his points are valid even though I disagree with his head to head scenario but the Seán Quinn bit takes the piss. Who are the bastards? The Financial Regulator I presume, surely he should be thankful that we now have a regulator. What a fool. Just like you.

I regret that you’ve chosen to take that tone with me, Appendage.

The Seán Quinn piece at the end is indeed retarded.

Do you think Wexford will be promoted in hurling and football, Appendage?

The Fermanagh County board released a statement condeming the high courts decision to put Quinns insurance into administration and some people rightly pointed out that it was none of the Fermanagh county boards feckin’ business so Im assuming these people are the bastards.What it all has to do with Colm O Rourke, the fuck knows but a county board criticizing the High Court sounds a bit dodge. Surprised NCC hasn’t picked up on this yet come to think of it.

A tentative yes to both Bandage.

I’m siding with John Henderson on this one. He reckons we’ll win because we always raise our game for Kilkenny (expept Leinster Finals in 01, 03, 07 + Lge & AI semi, 08 and that’s just this decade). So even though we’ll be playing Clare that logic is good enough for me.

The football is gas. Looks like 3 teams will end up on 10 points because I think Wexford and Sligo will win. Roscommon are goosed so they’ll hardly give a fuck, while Antrim are safe enough given their superior scoring difference so that might work in our favour. So then it would, rather ridiculously come down to scoring difference even though Wexford would have beaten both teams we’ll be level points with. And as Wexford and Sligo are both plus 7, I’m saying that we’ll win by more than them based on the fact that on the last 4 times a Wexford team needed to boost its scoring difference in such a scenario we were successful, twice v hOffaly and twice v Down all 4 times in the NHL. Even though its a different code I’m happy enough that it will happen again.

So based on the above my prediction has now been changed to a resounding yes to promotion in both codes. Quite a county we are.

I have a point on socring differences but it relates to the football league and the potential 3-way tie between ourselves, Sligo and Antrim. As it’s off topic, I’ll meander over to the Wexford GAA thread. Meet me there in 5 minutes, Appendage?

Why did they move him? Championship?

That seems to be the feeling, take him off Maher before Maher can get used to him. I’m sure those ten minutes will worry Maher over the 6 weeks.

Yeah I suppose. You’d kinda wonder where was the wisdom in putting him on Maher at all if that was the case. Jesus but he destroyed him though. There must have been three or four balls in a row where he got out and won clean ball each time. I couldn’t believe it when the ball went back up the field and he was out centre forward. You’d have to say that his distribution is still pretty average though, and he doesn’t have anything like the pace Setanta had. You wouldn’t be long forgiving him that I suppose if he caught ball over Maher’s head all day.

Did you read the tribune article on Cork goalscorers yesterday?

At the time i was “what the fuck”, but it does makes some sort of sense. One way of looking at it is Maher will worry, and he may have got to grips with him eventually and there then would be no surprise. Thing is its likely that Cussen will start ahead of him, so that confuses the issue further.

KIB - The Cork-Tipp thing was aimed at Link as a Killkenny man, nobody else. Killkenny have rivalries, but none of them would be considered healthy. They only seem to have a nasty one with Tipp. If you didn’t talk about things you have no idea about then i wouldn’t have to spell stuff like this out for you.

Here is the article WTB was on about.

Rebel’s Net Loss
Cork hurlers used to produce the most feared poachers around but recent years have seen the well run dry – so where have all the goalscorers gone, wonders Enda McEvoy

Cúl customers: Joe Deane, seen here finding the net against Waterford in 2003, was the best Cork forward of his era but always more comfortable aiming high than low, a common problem on Leeside of late
They used to score goals. They used to score them by the truckload and by the new time, for fun and out of professional scrupulousness, in doubles and in trebles, from every angle and position, from players of all shapes and sizes. John Fenton from the middle of the field, Tomás Mulcahy steaming through from the half-forward line, John Fitzgibbon off the ground, Seanie O’Leary and Jimmy Barry-Murphy with cobra strikes or sometimes just plain sneaky tap-ins from the fringes of the square. Not only did they score them in provincial turkey shoots, they scored them in All Ireland finals too. Six in 1970, five in 1990, five in 1972 when they lost, four in 1986 when they won.

They had scorers of great goals – Fenton’s exocet in Thurles, JBM with his overhead pull against Galway – and they had great goalscorers. O’Leary’s 29 goals in 36 championship appearances, Fitzgibbon’s 14 in 18, Charlie McCarthy’s 27 in 44, JBM’s 24 in 40, Kevin Hennessy’s 21 in 40. Goals were Cork’s daily nourishment and their cocaine high. And then one day the goals began to dry up.

Nobody is quite able to isolate the afternoon. Was it the day John Fitzgibbon, who found the net in 10 of his 18 championship outings, left for Boston? The moment Setanta Ó hAilpín, who set the green flag waving in both the Munster and All Ireland finals during his meteor summer of 2003, headed Down Under? Or did it happen somewhere in between, gradually, invisibly, the water level in the well dropping so slowly that nobody noticed the drought?

One statistic helps to colour in the backdrop. Joe Deane, the county’s best forward of the past decade, appeared in 50 championship matches and managed 10 goals en route. Not that this made Deane any less of a player or prevented him finishing his career with three All Ireland medals, naturally. But the convulsions of the mid-1990s affected the occupants of the Big House in different ways, and Deane can be viewed as being among the collateral victims.

Some of the convulsions were patently obvious at the time. Some were less so. Tipperary were beset on all sides by the lower orders and went eight years without provincial success. Kilkenny discovered that reliance on rumours of supposed inherited Noreside craft and stylishness cut no ice in the world of Ger Loughnane and Ollie Baker. And as the game accelerated into those Olympian declensions of ever faster, ever stronger and ever harder, so a certain type of Cork forward became disenfranchised.

Corner-backs, far from being the slowcoaches of yesteryear, were speedy and mobile and intelligent. Hanging around the square and waiting for the break was no longer an option for a corner-forward, no matter how street-smart he was. Possession had swelled from being nine/tenths of the law to 10/tenths, the corollary being that inability or unwillingness to work hard when not in possession now assumed the dimensions of a crime against the state. No loitering, please. Get out there and start defending from the front. Athleticism before adroitness.

Ask John Allen how Seanie O’Leary pounced for all those goals of his and he’ll respond, with a laugh, that Seanie “couldn’t be bothered getting out of the square – and he’ll take that as a compliment”. Ask JBM if he himself scored most of his goals from inside 10 yards and he’ll say, “No – within six yards”. Do not forget either that Cork had a decade of Ray Cummins, that prototype of the new full-forward. The figures show that Cummins scored 19 goals in 35 championship outings. What they don’t show is the infinity of other goals he created for the men around him.

“The players you play alongside have an impact on your game and both Seanie and Charlie McCarthy will be the first to say that they fed off Ray,” Barry-Murphy asserts. “He was the best full-forward I’ve seen for Cork. The first full-forward who brought other players into the game. And he did it so well.” How many more goals would Joe Deane have managed had he been playing alongside Ray Cummins 20 years earlier? How many fewer goals would JBM, O’Leary and McCarthy have managed had they been standing inside while the O’Connors rattled over points from out the field 20 years later? Two of the last three All Ireland finals Cork have won were won without the benefit of goals.

The chicken didn’t precede the egg. If the game changed, so did the model of Cork forward. The triumphant 1999 McCarthy Cup campaign may have featured only one goal in four outings, but why worry about goals when the points were arrowing in from all angles? JBM didn’t. Cork were hurling well, they were winning; ergo the lack of goals simply wasn’t an issue. “It never bothered us at all in '99,” the manager recalls. “You don’t think about these things when a campaign is going so well.” No need to try and land haymakers when a fighter can jab the other guy into semi-consciousness.

Granted, sometimes man cannot live by bread alone. If Cork beat Offaly in that year’s All Ireland semi-final by taking their points and not worrying about the goals, they lost to Offaly 12 months later by taking their points and being unwilling – or unable – to go for goals when the opponents’ jugular gaped. How radically different a course their standard operating procedure might have taken had Setanta stayed around we can only speculate about.

That he had rough edges that required planing, that his peripheral vision needed laser treatment and that he could have done with learning that the object of the proceedings was not always or exclusively about putting one’s head down and going for goal: such contentions are indisputable. But the fact of the matter is that Cork averaged two goals a game in the 2003 championship with Setanta there, and that he would at worst have acted as a lighthouse for them in the full-forward line for years to come is inarguable.

What the Lord taketh away with one hand, etc. A gamechanging – nay, earthshaking – development occurred the following summer after Jerry O’Connor finally made a red jersey his own. Cue Cork-as-Newtownshandrum, complete with intercounty mod cons and satnav, all orchestrated runs and choreographed handpasses and finely calibrated maximisation of possession. Taking the extra couple of yards in order to tee up a colleague for the perfect pointscoring opportunity was the new imperative. Thus the veil of heaven was rent in twain and loud was the keening of oldtimers harking back to the days when Cork let the ball do the work.

At the team’s peak in 2005, goalscoring practice in training was confined to a drill that entailed running in on goal and batting the sliotar to the net in order to avoid being hooked. Well, when God gives you lemons you’re not going to contemplate making cider. Of their 17 championship outings between 2004 and '06, Cork outpointed the opposition in 15 and hit the same number of points as their opponents in another (the 2006 Munster final).

The latest potential big thing, Michael Cussen, all 6’7 of him, represents an obvious throwback to Leeside times past. When he’s not been good, as in Parnell Park last Sunday, he’s looked like the novice he is. Yet when he’s been good he’s been very good, as evidenced by his 1-5 against Limerick and 2-2 versus Waterford. His brace on the latter occasion showcased small gems of the goalpoacher’s art: drifting off his marker to take Kieran Murphy’s assist for the first, and for the follow-up showing the softness of touch to kill a tricky looped handpass and the presence of mind not to try and burst the net with his shot. But how will Cussen shape up the day space doesn’t exist and the passes aren’t being tailored? And while his natural ability is not in doubt, what about his powers of concentration and focus, a lack of which at times troubled the Cork football management last year?

A poor article really, thrown together that morning by the looks of it.

What exactly is your problem with it?
Seems to raise some valid points about Cork’s lack of consistent goalscorers.

It’s a fairly light-hearted segment though. That ‘When Sunday Comes’ (or something like that) thing that’ll be starting up soon is a great feature I think. They throw up some very interesting statistics as well. If you wanted a comprehensive answer on a topic like this you should try find Christy O’Connor’s research on goal scoring and how it’s changed over the last 25 years. Excellent stuff.

Always felt Cusack wasnt much of a shot stopper. Granted ya he was decent with the ball but the primary objective of a keeper is naturally to stop the ball going into the net and I felt he was behind Fitzhenry, Fitzgerald, Cummins etc in this regard . Im prob missing someone there. The goal Rory McCarthy scores stands out but there were others too.

Sure I dont know Cusack, like noone on here knows Brendan O’Connor, Ray Darcy etc. All people have to go on is their how they sell themselves publicly. Cusack imo came out with some awful shite about Gerald McCarthy ie sandwiches before a pre season game, how McCarthy didnt know the club of a player once etc. He would have been far more of a man if he had just said he didnt particularly rate him as a manager and left it at that. If you have a problem with posters slating people they have never met maybe TFK aint the place for you?

You made some ridiculous statement about how someone didnt pick up a yellow card because it was a Cork Tipp thing intimating that normal rules dont apply because its Cork Tipp. Also maybe intimated that only Cork Tipp would understand this retarded philosophy. I couldnt be arsed checking your exact quote. Its not the first time you have made idiotic statements like this. Rivalries shouldnt impede the rulebook. A yellow card is a yellow card no matter if its Cork Tipp or Clonbony Clonlara. If you werent such a mong I wouldnt have to spell these things out for you but then again you always had trouble with the abc…

I think you’re forgetting the glory of it though KIB Man…