2010 National Hurling League

Fine display by Limerick today,11 pts down at HT due to two soft goals they were a team reborn in the second half with the return of Dave Breen they matched Kilkenny all over the pitch displaying evidence that both their skill and fitness needed for this level is improving.I was against this set up but after going to the game today i am starting to come around,the players received a well earned applause off the pitch when the game finished,Dublin better be ready for a fight because these lads wont go down as easy as some may think.Final score Kilkenny 2-17 Limerick 16pts.

I’m not sure why really but I’d love it if Limerick defeated Dublin to stay up.

Offaly remain the most frustrating team in the country to watch.
They make things as hard as possible on themselves to win a game.
They do some amount of ridiculous stuff in their matches. Today they gave the perfect display of all of those things.
Terrible wides[one from a short central free, a number from way out when there were better options].
Running the ball in to dead ends over and over. Fumbling balls…

They are probably a better team without the ball than with it. Sounds weird but it is true.
I dunno how they can use that. Just belt the ball as far in to space ahead of them as they can and then fight to get it back.
Their workrate is excellent and the amount of hooking and blocking they get through is top notch.
They just need a bit more composure on the ball and make better choices.
I said the exact same thing about them after the Cork game last year and nothing has changed.
“bad shooting, bad decision making and fumbling balls” is how I put it.
Their work ethic seems to have recovered to the 2008 levels.
They are a team that if they get things right on the day they could cause a big shock.

[quote=“Bandage, post: 434148”]
I’m not sure why really but I’d love it if Limerick defeated Dublin to stay up.
[/quote] :unsure: :clap:

John Henderson came across as a bit of a simpleton analysing the games on Radio One today.

Galway/Cork have to play in the last round of regular season games, even though they’re both assured of meeting again in the final. John reckons the final regular season game shouldn’t be played as it’s meaningless and it’s going to cause expense to people and we’re already in a recession as it is. He doesn’t think managers will get anything out of using fringe players as managers probably know what they’re capable of anyway.

But he thinks the Kilkenny-Waterford game will be a great game and that the managers will get a lot out of using fringe players. He said that Kilkenny losing three league games showed Brian Cody wasn’t taking the league seriously before contradicting himself in the next breath and saying Cody takes every game really seriously and that this Waterford game will be a cracker.

Seems like an affable chap but the type who blurts out the first thought that comes into his head. In his defence, his did say Wexford would win Division 2. :clap:

Martin Coleman gaqve an acomplished display of goalkeeping today under a good bit of pressure from the Tipp attack and the need to win the game,hes way ahead of Cusack as a shotstopper and hits the ball as far as he can which is what a keeper is supposed to do,none of this arseing around with short ones that only work half the time,if Denis Walsh has the balls and is picking his best fifteen Coleman will start the League FInal after todays display.

Another thing i noticed about the game,Cork get an easy ride from refs when hurling in P Ui C by the looks of things,Pat Horgan got away scot free with a sending off offence committed straight in front of an official,the Tipp man(Brendan Maher i think) must have been amazed when he ended up with a yellow while Horgan walked away to take the free which should have been thrown in but for brain dead reffing.

Cork hurled well today in fairness but Aisake and Mark O Sullivan,forget about it.

Why was Aisake moved out the field when he seemed to be roasting Maher on the edge of the square?

He was moved out because he was roasting Maher on the square.

Evidently Link missed the opening ten minutes of the match.

Bandage ,
Im with u on that re: henderson
In general I found the Sunday sport show quite poor today, I spent the afternoon driving from kildare to cobh and john Henderson did nothing for the show accept annoy me
Con Murphy and Jacqui Hurly tried to almost co present and it did not work
It was too start stop for my liking with no fluency at all, I remember over the years Adrian Eames used to do a great job where you had commentary on the main game and then every 5 minutes or so Adrain would come in with the updates and they would have reports at half time,
Today during the first half of the cork game Con and Jacqui were discussing the game amongst themselves, it reminded me of been in the smoking area of the Big Tree after an all ireland semi final and hearing the lads trying to make small talk with some random bird about the game.
I think John Henderson was employed to be like Matt le tissier or Paul Merson on sky soccer Saturday where the lads are talking about a game they are watching on the screen,
During the first half of the hurling they even went over to Goodison Park to get team news of the west ham game and discussed that for a few minutes, id imagine at this time most folk who tune into radio 1 could not give a shite about a meaningless premier league game.

In general this co presenting lark does not work on irish sports broadcasting,
Setanta used to do a really good job with the hub when it was just yer man with the glasses presenting for an hour talking to Franno, Don Maclean and whatever GAA guy they had on,
Now they have this awful, fragile half hour thing co presented by yer man with the specs and some random bird.

He destroyed Maher who even resorted to playing his head a few times with the stick.
His job was done in there after 10 minutes and DW moved him out to try and get him some experience out the pitch against top class players
DW is a cute hoor of a man, I can feel the Cork hurling bandwagon beginning to roll again a bit like in 98 when we won the league and then went on to win the AI in 99.
Denis knows this and dosent want too much hype building up, Aisake was poor enough when he went out on the 40 today and many people would have left the park saying he was shite, Thats the way DW wants it for now, he knows what he is capable of and Cussen is also there. IF AOH’s distribution improves at all he will cause damage
I was very impressed with Naughton today and his three points, id definitely be going with Gerry and Tom Kenny in the middle of the park, id say come championship ben and Naughton will start on the wings with Niall mac if fit in the middle, Horgan and AOH will be in the FF line with either POS or Murphy in the other corner
Curran was immense as well I thought, too often he wins a great ball and then hammers it nowhere, with AOH in there and Naughton always moving about the 40 he now has options
I just watched the recording there and fair play to both sides for the second half, I thought Paul Kelly was class for Tipp in the corner also

Could be an interesting summer chaps
Cork hurling with confidence and the crowd behind them makes them a threat, I had to laugh with AOH pumping the fist in the first few minutes when he won a free frees, that will really piss the Tipp crowd off, the last time I saw that was his brother in the first few minutes of a game against Clare in 2003 after another strike before he went on to walk all over ( literally ) Frank Lohan.

There should be a huge crowd in Thurlus for the league final……….

I missed the first 15 minutes,what did ye think of Coleman?

You know this for a fact or it is only your opinion?

Anyone know why the GAA changed from scoring difference to head to head to seperate teams that finish on level points? It would be disgraceful if the Duds were to get relegated if they’re beaten by Limerick in 2 weeks as they’ve clearly been a more consistent team (Well Limerick have been consistently shit to be fair) in the league. First I heard of it was when Mickey “Pious” Harte was whining about it in the indo there last week. Apparently it was voted in at congress or some such gathering of piss stained legislators.

Also, does anyone know why there’s only one team relegated from Division 1? It’s always been 2 (before the current version obviously) in the 8 team formats and it’s 2 up 2 down in football. Surely a more equitable way of doing things? Wexford topped Division 2 last year and didn’t get promoted, and the same fate will befall Clare this year if they make a balls of the final (which could happen). It hardly makes sense in a league context from my uber simple point of view. Clearly play offs for the final promotion place are used in the Coca Cola Championssip or whatever the fuck it’s called but at least the top team is guaranteed promotion.

Link the character you’ve chosen to play on here is that of a drink driving, homphobic, bogger simpleton who’s authority on hurling is based on an accident of birth that connects you to the achievements of Cody and his cohorts, is that a fair call? Or is that really you? Deary fuckin me if so. Is the pitch in Inisteoge completely fucked? Were the goal posts washed away?

The head-to-head amendment was voted in at Congress last April and it apears that certain County Boards never bothered informing their management teams. I agree with it myself.

Thanks Bandage.

Did you move up or down the weight divisions last night or just take a ringside seat? Did jugs meet anymore dogs?

[quote=“Appendage, post: 434158”]
You know this for a fact or it is only your opinion?

Anyone know why the GAA changed from scoring difference to head to head to seperate teams that finish on level points? It would be disgraceful if the Duds were to get relegated if they’re beaten by Limerick in 2 weeks as they’ve clearly been a more consistent team (Well Limerick have been consistently shit to be fair) in the league. First I heard of it was when Mickey “Pious” Harte was whining about it in the indo there last week. Apparently it was voted in at congress or some such gathering of piss stained legislators.

Also, does anyone know why there’s only one team relegated from Division 1? It’s always been 2 (before the current version obviously) in the 8 team formats and it’s 2 up 2 down in football. Surely a more equitable way of doing things? Wexford topped Division 2 last year and didn’t get promoted, and the same fate will befall Clare this year if they make a balls of the final (which could happen). It hardly makes sense in a league context from my uber simple point of view. Clearly play offs for the final promotion place are used in the Coca Cola Championssip or whatever the fuck it’s called but at least the top team is guaranteed promotion.

Link the character you’ve chosen to play on here is that of a drink driving, homphobic, bogger simpleton who’s authority on hurling is based on an accident of birth that connects you to the achievements of Cody and his cohorts, is that a fair call? Or is that really you? Deary fuckin me if so. Is the pitch in Inisteoge completely fucked? Were the goal posts washed away?
[/quote]Here man if Limerick beat Dublin they deserve to stay up and vice versa,to say they have been consistently shit is the height of ignorance as i presume you haven’t been to any of their games,they have given solid accounts of themselves bar the Tipp match where they had a man sent off after 15mins,they have bust their balls for that jersey with the whole country including so called Limerick fans putting them down.If they beat Dublin they will make a huge statement,lets hope they do as they deserve it.

Take this to PMs please, Appendage.

Belated congratulations to Wexford native, Peter Daly, on scoring 4 goals for Fingal against Tyrone last weekend. Tyrone hurling appears to be in trouble - Healy Park in Omagh used to be a really difficult place to go to but Wicklow forged a comfortable 6-22 to 0-3 victory against them yesterday. It will be a big consolation to Wexford hurling followers if we don’t get promoted this season that another south east derby could be in the melting pot in Division 2 next year if Wicklow come up from Division 3.

No I think that scoring difference should be the deciding factor as it is measured over the entire campaign. The bit about the whole country putting them down has nothing do with it, or busting their balls for that matter either. Statistically they are the weakest link so it should be goodbye.

[quote=“Appendage, post: 434163”]
No I think that scoring difference should be the deciding factor as it is measured over the entire campaign. The bit about the whole country putting them down has nothing do with it, or busting their balls for that matter either. Statistically they are the weakest link so it should be goodbye.
[/quote]It’s survival of the fittest. :rolleyes:

He was very good, but got caught in possession twice, something Cusack never does. Cusacks speed of delivery is faster, he is a calmer player, a better organiser and probably of similar standard of shot stopping as the other 2. Coleman is an excellent back up.

Your opinion on Cusack stinks of judging him on other matters Link. You even admitted as much by saying you disliked him even more after the strikes. Also if you really are as in touch with the South Killkenny hurling world as you suggest then you would definitely know Donal Og was gay long before last year. Most hurling people knew it. I believe this has clouded your judgement intensely.

Your clearly worried about Cork, already coming up with the referee shite. I know Declan Fanning, and i know well he was play acting there, the fucker, it was a tap, but deserved a yellow in fairness. Pauric Maher should have got a yellow for doubling on Aisake, but didn’t, nobody complained. Its a Cork-Tipp thing Link, you wouldn’t understand.

But shit stir away, your clearly rattled.
on the game itself. Great application from Cork against the wind to win. Still a few of the old problems, but at least Naughton has become a scoring forward, which is great. Paudi Sull didn’t get alot of ball, but he should have scored 1-1, jury still out. Hoggy is flying and might just be the replacement for Deano in the scoring stakes. He’s more suited to the more power driven modern game as well. Aisake was good, and i thought it was very smart in hindsight to move him off Maher. The doubts are there now for Maher come championship. Aisake is justifying being involved, but will have to score a bit, and get consistant. Tadgh Og is still a bit away physically, but is a smart hurler.

Midfield was good, probably broke even with a strong Tipp midfield. McGloughlin will improve, but is probably not ready yet, despite some good stuff.

Backs were solid, Brian Murphy aside who had a poor outing. Cadogan is improving every game and was too strong for Hammersley. Curran played well as did Gardiner. Sean Og is struggling a little, but has at this time of the year many times. he’s looking bulky like he always does in April, so i expect his game to improve steadily over the next 2 months.

Denis Walsh seems to be a smart manager, and has done an excellent job with the laegue. Hopefully he can keep that going. Overall its very encouraging.

Colm O Rourke and his buddies got it voted in in Congress last year when no one else was looking, he was on about it in his colunm yesterday as well as brandishing everyone who discusses GAA online as a coward and licking his friend Sean Quinn.
I wouldn’t be a big fan of the play off process, defeats the whole purpose of a league imo. To extend your Championship analogy, Forest who are 3rd, look like they are gonna have to participate in a play off with the likes of Blackpool or Leicester despite being over ten points a better team over the season. Just what the fook was the whole feckin season about? If play offs are that much of a neccessity(and their not) then a fairer way would be Forest playing the 3rd from bottom of the EPL or in Hurling case, the 2nd from bottom of Div 1 playing the runners up of Div 2.