2010 National Hurling League

:clap: :clap:

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Wexford in Ballygarvan on Sunday at 6.30pm is as follows:

1. Donal Og Cusack - Cloyne
  2. Michael Walsh - Kildorrery
  3. Eoin Dillon - Milford
  4. Shane Murphy - Erins Own
  5. John Gardiner - Na Piarsaigh
  6. Ronan Curran - St Finbarrs
  7. Sean Og Ó hAilpín - Na Piarsaigh
  8. Tom Kenny - Grenagh
  9. Cathal Naughton - Newtownshandrum
  10. Michael Cussen - Sarsfields
  11. Kieran Murphy - Sarsfields
  12. Ben O Connor - Newtownshandrum
  13. Paudie O sullivan - Cloyne
  14. Aisake Ó hAilpín - Na Piarsaigh
  15. Patrick Horgan - Glen Rovers
  16. Martin Coleman - Ballinhassig
  17. Chris Murphy - Blackrock
  18. Ray Ryan - Sarsfields
  19. Aidan Ryan - Midleton
  20. Lorcan McLoughlin - Kanturk
  21. Jerry O Connor - Newtownshandrum
  22. Mark O Sullivan - Dripsey
  23. Tadgh Og Murphy - Sarsfields
  24. Luke O Farrell - Midleton
  25. Stephen White - Ballygarva

Isn’t that remarkable, Cork trying a nippy hurling centre forward, Cussen on the wing and Eoin Dillion full back. Turrene have you been sending on my posts to Denis Walsh. :smiley:

Might go to this, thats a surprisingly strong Cork team. Any Wexford lads going?

I was calling for a small, playmaker type player at 11 at the start of the year - Pa Horgan to be exact - but only with two strong ball-winning athletes outside him. Niall Mac’s injury seems to be forcing DW a bit. That center-forward line looks well off-balance to me, although I’d doubt that is how they will line out. On the other hand, its only Wexford, so maybe they will leave Cussen on the 40 for the game to see how he does. He won’t be their championship regardless, nor will Fraggie. At least Donal’s in goals, so we won’t just be dropping the ball down on top of the same player for 70 minutes like we did against Tipp in the league.

Ya, i’d rather Jerry there, i just think he’s a better hurler. But only last week i read Seanie McGrath calling for a similar No.11, so the idea is definitely being toyed with, Seanie would be deep on the inside there.

The keeper is a massive part of it alright.

We can only wait and see how it pans out. I think it may be the way forward, but you won’t really know these things until it actually gets tried.

Wexford: 1. Dermot Flynn, 2. Paul Roche, 3. Keith Rossiter, 4. Eoin Doyle, 5. Richie Kehoe, 6. Ciarán Kenny, 7. Malachy Travers,
8. Mark Molloy, 9. Colm Farrell, 10. Andrew Shore, 11. Eoin Quigley, 12. Diarmuid Lyng, 13. Rory Jacob, 14. Stephen Banville, 15. Peter Atkinson.

Bunch of no-names really. We should have just put out our U-21s, would have been good preperation for Munster.

Whats with ye Cork cunts that ye cant see what is obvious to the rest of the hurling World??,brace yerselves for this one lads,sit down maybe…

Cusack is a shit Keeper at the level of Senior Inter County hurling and the short puckouts trick is a beaten docket since it was the primary reason ye lost the 2006 AIF,D Walsh being a shrewd manager wont be putting up with this business of drilling puckouts low to the wings leaving it open for half awake wing forwards to win them and drive them back over the Cork bar in 2010 id be fairly sure,im less confident that hes going to drop Cusack though,hes caught up in the blindness over his inablity to prevent handy goals being scored in most games that prevails down in Cork,its hilarious is all im saying about it.

COleman is a good goalkeeper.

What is it with you and the English language? You seem determined to rape it in every one of your posts. :blink:

I’m not going to argue about Donal as I know almost everyone in Tipp and KK has a complex when it comes to him, but he has the experience over Coleman and Nash, and desereves to start on that point. In terms of quality, there isn’t much between the three.

There’s no doubt Cusack is still a poor shot stopper but with the changes being made in the Cork full back and half forward lines it wouldn’t hurt to have someone with his level of experience. He gets a lot of stick over the puck outs from some quarters but it’s not his fault Cork have had nothing in the way of a reliable puck out target in recent times. Puck outs are a team issue anyway not a goalkeeping one unless it’s execution you’re talking about.

Cusack is shite,ill leave it at that.

jerry o’connor has served cork well but he has being finished as an inter county hurler for the past two years. his legs are gone and he simply has’nt the pace anymore at the top level. Anyone who witnessed the newtown - ballyhale match this year would confirm this. he was a pale shadow of his former self and only stayed on the pitch due to his name. of course this is all imho.

I’ve felt the same to be honest, but he was excellent against Tipp, which surprised me, pleasantly.

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Galway in Sunday’s Allianz National Hurling League final at 7pm in Thurles is as follows:

1. Donal Óg Cusack (Cloyne)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

3. Eoin Dillon (Milford)

4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)

5. John Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh)

6. Ronan Curran (St. Finbarr’s)

7. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Tom Kenny (Grenagh)

9. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)

10. Michael Cussen (Sarsfields)

11. Kieran Murphy (Sarsfields) Captain

12. Cathal Naughton (Newtownshandrum)

13. Ben O’Connor (Newtownshandrum)

14. Aisake Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

16. Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig)

17. Shane Murphy (Erin’s Own)

18. Michael Walsh (Kildorrery)

19. Ray Ryan (Sarsfields)

20. William Egan (Kilbrin)

21. Graham Callanan (Glen Rovers)

22. Mark O’Sullivan (Dripsey)

23. Jerry O’Connor (Newtownshandrum)

24. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)

Very very happy to see Dillon at full-back. We need a proper full-back replacement, which isn’t Brian Murphy. Looks a great team other then Ben in the other corner, he won’t stay there though.

Totally agree. Have been hoping Dillon would get a chance for last 2 years, he’s a proper full back as you say.

Best team we have really. Maybe in time Egan will play midfield.

One tiny gripe is Callanan on the bench. Seems like a cracking chap, but he isn’t the youngest, and hasn’t the hurling for inter-county level. Maybe if he was been played in his right position at wing back, but right now he is dead wood. Would have preferred a young fellow on the bench getting some experience.

I would make the same argument with regards to jerry o connor. in fairness to denis walsh, he has used the league really well and had a look at anyone who was worth looking at. i could see this team starting championship. i am hopefull that eoin dillon will go well at fullback. he was never found wanting at minor or u21. his big problem is that he plays midfield with milford and filled that same position with intermediates. i’m not convinced by cadogan as a full back to be honest.

Jerry still has plenty to offer from the bench imo. I agree with you about Caodgan, too loose for full-back, always trying to get involved and his touch seemed off during the league.

you cant play hurling and football at top level. if you want to excel you have to commit yourself to one or the other. you could tell in the league that his hurling was’nt as good as last year.

Galway make 13 changes from the team that defeated Cork in the final round of the NHL two weeks ago. Injury rules out Fergal Moore and Niall Healy, with Damien Joyce and Iarla Tannian coming in. Tony Og Regan starts at centre back, while Cyril Donnellan returns from suspension to lead the attack. Joe Canning is at full forward.

Galway v Cork SH NHL Final Colm Callanan, Damien Joyce, Shane Kavanagh C, Ollie Canning, Donal Barry, Tony Og Regan, David Collins, Ger Farragher, David Burke, Aidan Harte, Cyril Donnellan, Andy Smyth, Damien Hayes, Joe Canning, Iarla Tannian.

Dillon was the only fella to well on Canning in that U-21 a few years ago, will be interesting to see how he goes on him. Up to now i don’t think Canning has improved that much to be honest.

I don’t know Harte, but that half forward line is going to test our boys to the last, if they start running at Cork we’ll know well how well that old half back line is up to it or not. Its not actually that old a half back line, but they have massive miles on the clock.

I don’t agree with ye about Cadogan not being a good full back lads. He obviously needs to play there more and needs to improve in areas, but anyone would have to do that as we don’t have a full back anywhere near the standard that plays there week in week out all his life. As ye said Dillon plays elsewhere with CIT, Milford and the Intermediates. So he’s got the same problems, although he would have played there more underage. cadogan has more presence about him though, is bigger and stronger, and that matters alot.

I also think he could struggle to do the both, but it is possible. I know Sean Og makes the point he could be on Shefflin one week, Cooper the next but how often could that happen?

He trains twice with the hurlers once with the footballers, everyone trains 3 times collectively so i don’t see the problem. The problem lies in the 2 games in a weekend, were it to happen.