Would agree with that. Though Eoin Cadogan will have his work cut out to be centre back on the hurling team and full back on the football.
Kev fine atmosphere it may have but for fans and players alike its a thoroughly unpleasant experience. I was on a pitch over the weekend that has about 4 or 5 teams training on it each week and its surface is a pleasure to be on, to see the state of the pitch there yesterday with players’ hurls getting stuck in the sod is just unacceptable in this day and age. It wants tearing to the ground at this point in its existence.
I believe full back is the most important position for Cork, not thats its the most important position in hurling, although it is one of them. How many times have you seen Cadogan play center back at county level? He was unbelieveable there for the U-21’s in an All-Ireland semi against Galway, but other than that he hasn’t set the world alight.
You also can’t be judging Curren on a game in March, but it was clear to me he was improving as the game went on. I agree Shane O’ Neill has to move out to the wing, and Murphy should go to the corner.
I feel the Newtown lads should have got more time, well the O’ Connors anyway. Ben is wrecked.
Aisake has a long way to go, i personally can’t see him making it. Mark Sull struggled with the power of Tyrell and the general pace of the game. Niall Macs misses show how limited he is, even in acres of space, as a scorer. Naughton the same. If Luke O’ Farrell is up to it he probably needs to play sooner rather than later, he’s a natural scorer going by his scoring record. Cussen can score, Fraggie and Hoggie can score, and Paudie Sull showed up well. you can carry a ball winner if you have 4 or 5 scoring forwards and midfield contributes as well. Why they stopped hitting the ball into Horgan yesterday baffled me.
Obviously Cork are still a good bit off the top 2 in reality, but with a bit of luck regarding injuries i can see them having a good year, probably semi final stage or maybe a final if the draw was good. Tipp are beatable in Munster, but we could struggle with their pace in CP.
Thats way over the top, i know Kerry and Tipp people love the Pairc, and they would be there the most.
Thats the first time in years its been like that. We played on it last year with the club and it was lush. The main problem is for some retarded reason they don’t have sprinklers on it this year.
As a man over 6ft tall sitting in those seats cannot be deemed a happy experience. It is in no way over the top IMO.
Those seats were replaced. Uncovered stand i presume your on about?
Aye, the ones they cut the backs off of? To be fair its been a while since I was down there but thats more for the fact that I’d never go back after it. I’ve was in the dressing rooms down there in 90’s and it wasn’t too pleasant an experience either. Just dont like the place to be honest.
Dressing rooms are a farce alright, complete nightmare when a double header is on. I think they are going refurbishing now, as the new complex is a good bit away from getting the go-ahead.
I think it was left deliberately the way it was for a long time, because it was cramped and not a great place for the away team. Cork were used to it. 'Cos it certainly had nothing to do with money being available!
unfortunate for ye that wexford got a draw yesterday, i’d imagine that even if ye beat them they and clare should win all the rest of their matches.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 433914”]
Dressing rooms are a farce alright, complete nightmare when a double header is on. I think they are going refurbishing now, as the new complex is a good bit away from getting the go-ahead.
I think it was left deliberately the way it was for a long time, because it was cramped and not a great place for the away team. Cork were used to it. 'Cos it certainly had nothing to do with money being available!
[/quote] :lol:
C, I know we all had high hopes but Eoin Cadogan is not a full back at this level.
Well if we beat Wexford and win the rest of our matches we will go into the final above them, simple as that really. Huge ask though, but its what they’ll have been aiming for. Should have beaten Clare last day out anyway, would have imo had we Jimmy Walsh Cahir Healy or Tommy Fitz even available from the start.
Thankfully Denis Wellllllch doesn’t agree with you. I think it was kinda too easy for him back there yesterday once they were down a man, he’s better at the 100 miles an hour stuff, and getting it out fast. Now he’ll obviously have to calm down a bit, but i’m not one bit worried about him.
Yeah, you might be right there. Fair play.
But we’ll hardly be any the wiser after next Sunday either :lol:
Went to the game. Good crowd in fairness, bit more than the 10 grand that was announced but sure what’s new there. One comment is the seats in the covered stand. Very uncomfortable, legs and back were broke after the game. The pitch was in a shocking state but it was the same for both teams. It didn’t add to the game but what can you do.
KK were without 9 of what I would consider starters for a championship game. I thought those who were left behind did well enough; Ryan in goal pulled off 2 class saves, Hogan okay at full back, Tyrell excellent at centre back but does take a bit too much out of the ball. Tommy, he was 5/10 on the Tommy scale, 7/10 on an ordinary players scale. JJ good so happy with the half back line. Canice Hickey, get him off. Dalton I thought hit some amount of ball, very good in my eyes.
Midfield, meh! Tennyson is a back and Delaney isn’t up to it yet. But put in good effort.
The forwards. Richie Power did okay, Larkin did well when he came out onto the half forward line and slowly his touch is coming back. Grace was doing well until he was sent off. The shumozzil happened on the far side of the pitch and I haven’t seen it on the telly yet so don’t know if he should have walked or not. Yellow card was enough by all accounts but I didn’t see it. Taggy and O’Dwyer, not good enough. Mulhall, he’s one awkward player but 1-3 from play is a great return. Eddie Brennan came on but didn’t do much.
Fair play to Cork, they won it fair and square. Don’t want to comment too much on them as, well their not my county and not my business that they had practically their full team out, that they got a standing ovation at half time for being level and that there was a huge cheer at the end of the game after beating the AI and League champs missing half their starting team with a man sent off before half time on their own ground. Cork is a massive county with huge resources behind them, class team that should go all the way this year. Cork are back!
He deserved to go Locke, clattered yer man in the side of the head with the hurley, granted I might have done the same meself if some cunt like Murphy had come at me the way he did when it was nowt to do with him, but he can have no arguments.
All kids were free and not counted in attendance.
Ya the cheering i suppose is after a couple of years of what can only be described as heart break. There was alot made of the jeering last year, but i think the biggest thing was the effort Locke, they broke their balls sunday. They are very fit, but have very little hurling done. KK were the same of course, in fact my dad who was there commented that it looked like a few of them were carrying weight.
On KK and what they were missing. Shefflin is obviously a massive loss, as is Commerford as well imo, Is Cha a loss right now? Fennelly isn’t better than whats there now? And all this we heard about the KK subs being better than most other county players? Ritchie Hogan has a long way to go to convince even KK people. TJ Reid would be a massive asset. But if KK are hoping for Fogarty, O’ Dwyer and Hogan to do it down the road i think they are in trouble.
Look i’m not thinking we’re going to win f-all with that team, but Cork were not full strength, at all. Ben fresh, Sean Og, Cussen not starting. Remember Tyrell was marking a guy who until last year had never, and i mean never played above Junior A hurling.
Cork will win nothing with Mark Sull, Aisake and Niall Mac in the same team. But after the games so far, and discussion with the man who knows more, this is the team i’d like to see tried, and possibly play next league game. Seanie Mac has been crying out in the Echo for Cork to play as close to their championship team as possible and go hard for the league.
Donal Og
S Murphy E Cadogan B Murphy
S O’ Neill R Curran S Og O’ Halphin
T Kenny J Gardiner
M Cussen C Naughton N McCarthy
P Sullivan K Murphy P Horgan
Ben needs a longer break, that is clear from sunday. Jerry is a good sub to bring on.
Cadogan is playing for the footballers, presumebly that means either Cunningham or Chris Murphy at full-back. Jerry O’Connor will start as well I’d imagine, not sure Naughton or Niall Mac will.
“Cork will win nothing with Mark Sull, Aisake and Niall Mac in the same team”
Yet we’ve won bigger games with worse
i.e. Landers
Go easy on Aisake. His big brother’s first season is memorable for the fact that he too was mightly at winning ball but clueless with what to do with it. Aren’t you glad we stuck it out?
Give baby brother a season.
Em, he had that season, last year…