2011 BDO World Darts Championship

Think you were reading too much into that article I posted Fenway, don’t think Scotty will actually be playing for Liverpool.

As Rob Walker said in that interview, at least we’ll see Scotty back in years to come to try and win it.

Poor Sally won’t get to wear the dress she packs with her every year for the final now.

I imagine Scotty will stick around for the week all the same. That’s one of the great things about the BDO - how the eliminated players attend the remainder of the tournament to support those in pursuit of ultimate glory.

Super camaraderie.

I was actually impressed with Joey ten Berge’s bird (on our right in this shot). Granted she’s a bit orange but she is from the Netherlands:

Kong and Winstanley bumping chests on stage before the start. :lol: :smiley:

Missed the first leg as I was out making myself a bit of a salad and what do I see immediately as I sit down? Two 180s in a row. :clap: Strap in the seat belts folks.

Winstanley gets away with a miscount.

His counting is all over the place but his darts are deadly accurate so far.

Winstanley certainly has the scoring power in abundance, and he’s also wearing his lucky pants which are covered in four leaf clovers.

Huge leg there, which Winstanley won to seal the set 3-2 and to take a 2-0 advantage in sets.

An oppressive 42 degrees celsius up on that stage apparently, and still top quality darts is being produced. After watching this, the case for moving Qatar 2022 to the winter falls flat.

Kong will have to make do with becoming a father to remember his week by. Yorkshire gains revenge on Merseyside after Bunting’s win over Waites. Winstanley goes through to the quarter finals.

Very impressive and convincing win for Winstanley there. All too much for Kong’s missus who was carted off at the end in tears. That’s the Lakeside for you.

Lads I’m new to this darts but enjoying this tournament a lot.
After the match earlier I’m left pondering Waites won the Grand Slam Of Darts did he not? I thought this was contested by both BDO and PDC players? If so does this just not illustrate the strength in depth that there is in the BDO?

The bird is the word.

The England captain making it look very easy so far. 3-0 up against Ross Smith.

That was a very assured performance from Martin Adams to secure a 5-1 win and a place in Saturday’s semi-final. He’s moving steadily through the gears and it’ s looking ominous for the the other players still involved. Retaining his title would of course mean a third World championship for Wolfie. He just two matches away from joining Bristow, Lowe and van Barneveld as only the fourth player to achieve such a feat.

Some outstanding looking young women in the crowd at Lakeside tonight, and they’ve just seen Martin Phillips pull a set back to trail Big Robbo 2-1.

Excellent comeback by Phillips - he now leads 4-3 after being 3-1 down.

Dramatic scenes - we’re going all the way.

What a victory for the Welshman to set up a repeat of last year’s semi final against Wolfie. With Robbo looking like breaking throw to go 3-2 up in legs, Phillips took out a devastating 164 finish. Robbo was rocked after that and Phillips pressed home the advantage with a 180 andd 140 in the next leg to break throw himself and clinch the win.

Great to see Phillips taking his darts seriously again these days - we always knew he had the talent after beating Bristow in the 1992 World Championship.