Fair point. I just wanted to put that piece of information out there and hadn’t had the opportunity to do so yet this week.
the point of betting successfully is all about value. you should only bet when you think the price quoted gives value regardless of anything else. Your evidence of armagh being value at 1.83 was because they had a game under their belts (which was a huge advantage according to yourself). Yet that turned out to be bullshit. Armagh generally beat Derry was your other in the know quote. That seems the rationale of a mug. I know little about both teams admittedly but in an ulster semi final a young Armagh side doesnt strike me as value at 1.83 anyway. you seem to have no idea why betting on Armagh makes sense other than if they win, you win.
Teams have used the qualifiers successfully in recent years to come back and win the All Ireland. Kerry did it two years ago, came back to beat Cork in September It is questionable how much of an advantage, winning Munster would be to Cork or Kerry. Certainly wouldnt be fatal to lose and could come into Croke Park for the quarters battle hardened and with momentum behind them.
And I didnt even need a Polish maid
I didn’t say that.
But this is gold “you should only bet when you think the price quoted gives value regardless of anything else”. There is great value in Clare Sunday, if they win. You really are thicker than i thought.
Has Mac bottled it after week 1 ?
This is the 2011 GAA betting thread, ki9ndly set up by Mac. Its not Macs betting thread.
Give us your predictions you story telling little worm.
Haha that was actually quite funny.
It’s Macs moment to prove his in the know betting style and cliche ridden posts actually have some value for forumites.
Don’t ruin it now. Though I think he has bottled it already.
Galvin is more than likely out lads, get on Cork.
Good ol KIB Man. The healthy obsession with me continues to grow. I suppose he needs someone to try and show up after the way he keeps embarrassing himself with his Celtic posts.
Anyway, I don’t have time to pen any cliché ridden analysis today so will just post my selections
Armagh / Galway double - 2.3/1 - Victor Chandler
Jamie Clarke to score more than 2.5 points - 10/11 - Paddy Power
Aaron Kernan to score more than 2.5 points - 4/5 - Ladbrokes
Dotsy O’Callaghan to score more than 2.5 points - 10/11 - Ladbrokes
Draws in Ulster football served me very well up to 2 years ago. Will go down that route with Armagh v Derry game and Dublin v Galway hurling too. My tuppence worth anyway. And lads, where is the love?
Double:
Donegal to beat Tyrone 13/8
Kildare to beat Dublin 9/4
Standout bet for me.
worth a fiver alright. Both very 50/50 games i would suggest though.
Clare wont win today but 18 availalable on betfair is very generous. Good back to lay opportunity I think, hopefully clare start well
Caveat emptor Dan. Betfair isn’t the most liquid market for GAA.
A hammering will put Clare hurling back years. Hopefully it won’t happen.
Cant see anything other than a hammering for Clare today. Defence is poor even moreso with O Donavan out, Honan and Conlon are their only serious forwards and Hoan is carrying an injury. Allied to that the poor standard of coaching/management around this team the -8 for Tipp seems a banker.
I’ve had a few quid on Derry @ 6/4.
Too big I think
mac hoping for a high scoring game in Ulster to breakeven
why does it have to be high scoring?
Laois beat Clare in the NHL. Grand it was only the league, but just felt it worth pointing out.
I’m going to have an interest in that Tipperary -8 bet. I think Clare’s full back line will give up goals and it could be a rout.
I’d be slightly wary of betting on Tipp with the handicap in general. They have a tendency to switch off a bit after building up a lead. Off the top of my head, the All Ireland semi with Limerick in '09 is the only time this team has put a serious beating on anyone in the Championship.