Noted.
‘Apparently’ Clichy made more tackles then any other full back in the 2010/2011 season. At 5-6 million, I think he’d be a bargain considering what they paid for Glen Johnson.
Is that really a valid form of measuring a full backs quality?
Still, at 5 mill or so, its a no brainer imo.
Jesus. :rolleyes:
He wasn’t saying it was the only way and would be only part of it, but it is certainly a good stat for a left back to have.
Was that just a post to up the tally?
Just a post pointing out that just because someone makes a lot of tackles doesnt mean they’re a good player. Thought it was pretty self explanatory myself. A player could just giving the ball away constantly and having to dive in a tackle to get it back, thereby not making a good player. I also pointed out he would be a good buy however for that money. What do you Liverpool supporting mates think?
How you keeping mate all the same? Great to see you’re keeping up to touch with Irish TV gems such as The Committee Room whilst experiencing the joys of living in a foreign country. Way to assimilate buddy.
How would you measure a full backs quality so? I think it’s a great stat for a defender to have who’s chief role is to make tackles.
Thats like saying a defender makes lots of sliding tackles a game is doing a great job, but the great defenders don’t make tackles, they make interceptions. Just don’t feel its a good way to judge a full back thats all.
Who mentioned sliding tackles? The stat says tackles. There’s nothing there to suggest he spends the game sliding around on the grass.
And youre saying to be a great defender you don’t tackle you just intercept? Have you woken up yet this morning?
Mate, I just pointed out it was a pretty dodgy stat to be relying upon solely. I then mentioned sliding tackles myself, didnt you see it right there on the post? It wasn’t in relation to Clichy either. I’m pretty sure I wrote it in english.
Its the internet, its a world wide thing. I’d say playing rugby league, boxing in the local club and volunteering with the school soccer team is helping me assimilate just fine. Seeing the real Australia here fella.
You should try travelling some day. Its kinda obvious you haven’t much done of it.
Good on you buddy, keep up that good work.
Wow, that’s some spasticated little argument going on above.
Getting back to the Fabregas argument/12th man - the point I’m making is that they don’t need him. For a club that has its debt problems, how does it make any sense? They’ve been doing ok without him. One man’s lack of rotation is another man’s settled side.
This is funny seeing mbb make a clown of himself.
Ya, we all love hearing about the goings on in your gaff Clarkey. Its hilarious stuff altogether. Just ignore us.
Would you think tackling should be part of analyzing a left back in Association Football?
Sorry Clarkey, I try not to engage for the most part, but I was feeling in good form, the sun is shining, its Friday and I just wanted to rattle his cage a little. Its always a little bit of fun for me but I realise how tireseome it can be for the rest of the forumites. Accept my apologies.
The Fabregas issue is an odd one. I love the guy, think he’s a class player, but the pressuire put on him at Arsenal from such a young age seems to be crushing him at this point. Combined with the constant rushing back from injury means he hasn’t played a full season in God knows how long. He needs something, because it looks as though his development has stalled, and he constantly looks like a jaded tired player. Barca could take him now, use him sparingly with the hope of having a reinvigorated player when the time comes for him to take on more pressures in the side.
Ridiculous goings on here.
The tackling stat in isolation tells you nothing. From what I read Arsenal fans don’t seem to give a shit about Clichy leaving anyway, that’ll tell you enough about him. Terrible positioning, terrible concentration levels, can’t cross the ball, all round headless chicken.
That’s what my thoughts on him would be, gauging on what I’ve seen of him this season anyway. I used to think he was decent enough before that though.
Who else will be leaving Arsenal this season Brian? Ye could do with a massive clearout.
Rosicky?
Bendtner?
Denilson?
Diaby?
Arhsavin?
Squillaci?
Eboue?
Almunia?
Vela?
They’d all strike me as the type of players you wouldn’t win a league with as your squad regulars and you also have the uncertainty over Nasri and Fabregas.
Would dearly love most of those to leave Mr. T but I just don’t think there are enough mugs out there to actually take that lot on and pay them a wage. Best one can hope is that three or four will leave.
My instinct tells me Fabregas will be around for one more season. As the days go by I think Nasri is burning his bridges with the Arsenal fans, whether he stays or goes now he’s tainted in most people’s eyes for publicly stating he’d consider a move to United. Even if he’s only doing it to get more money (which I doubt) it’s a cuntish thing to do, especially coming from a player that went hiding in the second half of the season when it really mattered.
Yes, it is quite funny stuff at times.
The stat, in isolation, means very little in my opinion.
It’s not just squad rotation though - it’s about having cover. They were short on options all over the pitch this season and the likes of Keita played a fair amount of games that Fabregas could instead. Also frees up Iniesta to play further forward as he did when Yaya Touré was in the squad. They don’t obviously need anyone because they’re better than everyone else but if part of their strategy is to ingrain players in their playing style (which it seems to be) then it makes sense to get the likes of Afellay and Fabregas at relatively young ages.
What position does that guy they signed from Charlton play BT? Is he a right or left back?