Malaga are close to signing Santi Cazorla. They should give a good push for a CL spot with the squad they have assembled now.
They should be ahead of Villarreal, Atletico and Valencia now with the squad they’ve assembled. Santi is an excellent signing for them.
I presume that Zlatan has now transferred to AC seeing as he scored for them tonight in the Audi cup
Man City seem confident in picking up Kun for 35M
I believe so Louie. Zlatan will be wearing the red and black this coming season, €27m was the fee mentioned last year for Milan to make it permanent. I believe he had a personal visit from a very distinguished Milan fan in the past week or so, tennis world no.1 Novak Djokovic who outlined his expectations of the Milan team this season.
Looks like United are not finished yet: Man United chief David Gill targets one more signing
I wonder will Fergie decide that the money they’d need to outlay to bring in Wesley might be of more value to United if direct towards recruiting Schweinstiegier at a price that Bayern could not refuse.
Schweinsteiger would be an ideal signing for Man Utd.
I was discussing recently with Bandage who would be the fifth in the world’s top 5 players. The three Barcelona lads and Ronaldo are pretty much nailed on. I would go with Schweinsteiger.
Superb footballer.
From the Daily Mail
Liverpool have watched Shane Long to assess the hype around the Reading striker.
Scouts from Anfield saw the Republic of Ireland international score twice during his side’s friendly with Northampton at the weekend.
Long, 24, had been a target for West Brom and Everton but, as yet, West Ham are the only side to express a serious interest in a player who scored 28 goals last season. The London club made a £6m bid which was rejected.
Alberto Aquilani is expected to complete a season-long loan to Fiorentina in the next 48 hours while Fulham, FC Copenhagen and Udinese are monitoring Christian Poulsen.
Mexican starlet Marco Bueno will join Liverpool on trial with a view to signing a five-year deal
Why would Schweinsteiger want to move to United though?
I don’t think Bayern would contemplate selling Schweinsteiger and I don’t think he’d be interested in moving to United either.
Agree with Farmer that he’s a magnificent footballer.
Yeah he’s always impressed me, even when he was on the wing in Euro 2006.
The question isn’t really whether he’s want to go to United - he no doubt would like a move to club that would give him higher wages and a better chance of winning the Champions League.
The issue would be whether or not Bayern would allow him to leave as he only signed a contract in December 2010. And also it would depend on what would happen should a bid be accepted and other clubs enter the race to sign him.
I read somewhere that Schweinsteiger is a Man Utd fan.
I hope he doesn’t move but United have a better recent European record than Bayern.
Might have missed it on here but there are strong reports in Argentina that Tevez will be joining Inter on loan for next season.
Lansbury being linked with a return to Norwich - presumably on loan.
Aguero is one of City’s better signings. Still not sure they’re proper contenders though.
Gonna get him for around 35 million it appears.
Incredible when you think of who else went for that money.
I don’t think moving to United would give him a better chance of winning the CL.
I think they definitely have a chance. The thing is Mancini. He is ultra cautious. He seemed to be happy last season to make sure he finished in the top four. I recall the home game against Man Utd where he played a midfield of Barry, De Jong, Milner, Ya Ya and Johnson with Tevez up top on his own. Ya Ya was the closest to him. United were well ahead of them at the time in the league and it was set up perfectly for them to have a go. But he didnt seem interested in winning - he just didn’t want to lose.
They have some gaps in their team. Central defence partner for Kompany being one, I wonder how Savic will get on. I wouldnt be surprised if they bought Cahill for big money.
They also have a lot of physicality in midfield. Outside of Silva, and possibily Johnson there is not much guile there. Then again I wouldn’t be surprised to see Nasri there.
I definitely think they have a couple of deficiencies but not sure United have addressed the right areas and windering what Chelsea will do.
bizarre example there farmer. city were pushing for the winner at the time before rooney popped up with the goal of the season.
city only scored 60 goals last year, 18 less than utd. if tevez leaves thats 20 goals out of the side. aguero will do well to get 20 goals in the EPL. not sure what he would be like on a wet night in stoke. They need far more from Dzeko who was shite last season and seemed as immobile as jan vennoggorvonhesselink with the same first touch. balotelli with only six league goals also need to pick it up. silva had a fine year but needs to get up around the 10 mark too imo for City to have a chance.
To be fair it was remarkable for City to concede the joint lowest 33 with Chelsea last season considering in both teams some poor defenders. In City’s case the hapless Boateng, Lescott, Toure and Kolarov. Obviously Mancini was going to pack the midfield with the incomparable Nigel de Jong. where he continues to make a mistake though is to persist with Gareth Barry as his partner as a holding midfielder. Barry isnt suited to playing deep like that and isnt good enough for a title chasing side anyway. Milner too is nowhere near good enough out wide but was developing into a very good centre midfielder at Villa. Surprised he didnt give him more of a run in the centre. Silva is an outstanding player. Johnson has ability while Yaya Toure pushed forward is support of Tevez worked really well last season. Bit of a tactical innovation too there. Richards improved at right back for them while Clichy will be a great fit for them I feel. But is all about Tevez if City are to make a title charge. His cuntish antics last season were of no help imo and if his agent and himself start up the same craic this season then its hard to seem them winning. nasri would be a great fit playing deeper next to de jong I feel. I felt he was wasted at times for Arsenal last season out wide to accomodate Fabregas.
I think they have to move on from Tevez though KIB. He had an excellent record for them but he’s more unlikely to score 20 for them next season than Aguero is. Wet nights in Stoke excluded obviously.