Liam Rushe, he’s up for the fight
Liam Rushe, his helmet is white
Liam Rushe, he plucks balls from the skies
Liam Rushe, he’s got tree trunks for thighs
Liam Rushe, when on form he’s the best
Liam Rushe, pride of Dublin West
Liam Rushe, he wears 6 like Keith Barr
Liam Rushe, a hurling superstar

Dublin, Galway, Cork and Limerick into at least the quarter finals. The way this season is going I expect Laois and Wexford to reach the last six through the back door, if not win it outright.

The hurling championship 2013. :clap:

to all the folk giving out that rte didnt show the hurling tonight, they had given a commitment several months ago to show the football shite that was on tonight. them schedules are made months in advance.

we really should be blaming the GAA for fixing the hurling for the same time as the football game. why not have it on at 5pm this evening, thereby allowing both games to be televised?

the gaa really fucked up big time on this one. would have loved to have seen it.

[quote=“WhiskeyInTheJar, post: 794177, member: 340”]to all the folk giving out that rte didnt show the hurling tonight, they had given a commitment several months ago to show the football shite that was on tonight. them schedules are made months in advance.

we really should be blaming the GAA for fixing the hurling for the same time as the football game. why not have it on at 5pm this evening, thereby allowing both games to be televised?

the gaa really fucked up big time on this one. would have loved to have seen it.[/quote]

The GAA are to blame for reducing the number of live TV matches a year from 50 to 40. Only the GAA could believe that reducing media exposure in a competitive market will increase interest in the games.

j

[quote=“WhiskeyInTheJar, post: 794177, member: 340”]to all the folk giving out that rte didnt show the hurling tonight, they had given a commitment several months ago to show the football shite that was on tonight. them schedules are made months in advance.

the gaa really fucked up big time on this one. would have loved to have seen it.[/quote]

just how shite was Cavan v Monaghan?

I suspect putrid enough made even more putrid by the fact that views knew they were missing out on a much better game and history in the making at Portlaoise

well said dodgy. I was at the game and thought Kelly did a superb job.

Kilkenny supporters were gracious in defeat but a few gimps next me had some very derogatory marks towards Kelly during the game - all kinds of namecalling and the worst of all was sure what was the continuous reference to the fact that he was from Westmeath and wtf would he know about hurling coming from there. All because he blew up a few fouls that Kilkenny often got away with in the past

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 794182, member: 1379”]j

I suspect putrid enough made even more putrid by the fact that views knew they were missing out on a much better game and history in the making at Portlaoise[/quote]
twas piss poor. i stopped watching the 2nd half and just concentrated on listening to the hurling on the radio

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 794183, member: 1379”]well said dodgy. I was at the game and thought Kelly did a superb job.

Kilkenny supporters were gracious in defeat but a few gimps next me had some very derogatory marks towards Kelly during the game - all kinds of namecalling and the worst of all was sure what was the continuous reference to the fact that he was from Westmeath and wtf would he know about hurling coming from there. All because he blew up a few fouls that Kilkenny often got away with in the past[/quote]

The Kilkenny man standing in front of me was an arrogant, one-eyed, know-it-all coont who shouted abuse at me and other Dublin supporters behind him at every oppurtunity. And I haven’t forgotten the foul-mouthed, obnoxious, threatening, middle aged drunk in who stood beside me at Parnell Park in 1998. Hurling men to their fingertips no doubt.

I didn’t encounter what you had to endure Sidney but the stuff towards Barry Kelly near me was not on. A kind of we are from Kilkenny therefore we must be right about the decisions as Westmeath is a hurling wasteland kind of attitude. Why the fuck don’t Kilkenny produce a few top class inter county referees if they are the fountain of all hurling knowledge rather than knocking the hurling people of Westmeath who produce referees to ensure the games go ahead running the risk of being split open whilst officating?

[quote=“Sidney, post: 794160, member: 183”]Liam Rushe, he plays centre back
Liam Rushe, he’ll get Cody the sack
Liam Rushe, he’s got dancing feet
Liam Rushe, he comes from my street
Liam Rushe, he’s a fluent Gaeilgoir
Liam Rushe, didn’t give up a score
Liam Rushe, he’s up for the fight
Liam Rushe, his helmet is white
Liam Rushe, he plucks balls from the skies
Liam Rushe, he’s got tree trunks for thighs
Liam Rushe, when on form he’s the best
Liam Rushe, pride of Dublin West
Liam Rushe, he wears 6 like Keith Barr
Liam Rushe, a hurling superstar[/quote]

Jez Sidney you seem to as big an admirer of Rush as you are of your beloved British Lions.

How will you cope next week with Rush in the Leinster Hurling final and the Lions finale the day before!?

KK’s run and dive hurling Has been disgusting to watch. Henry Sheflin is be inducted as the greatest hurler ever because of frees. He is certainly up there and is an incalculable loss to them but they are every bit a burden in hurling (and more IMO ) than any Ulster has been in football. For me football surpassed hurling in recent years mostly because it was more interesting and intriguing. Still trua a decent game of hurling is superior entertainment to football, but with everyone getting super negative cos if those KK cunts it reduced the good games down to one a year. Since 2006/07 hurling in general has been shit. This year things seem to be turning around.

In fairness KK did have superb players, an unbelievable collection really, but I did not enjoy watching them that much. Good riddance.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 794138, member: 686”]Canning always starts around the square anyway so I assume Plan A will have Big Tan & Co lamping ball in that direction.

Who will be our mystery man at 6?[/quote]

Hopefully no mystery Tony Óg is the only man for 6. Best centre back of his generation from the greater Galway area

I’m gutted we weren’t the ones to beat kk but we have unfinished business against the dubs let’s not forget 1983 and 2011 they hurt us let’s bury the c**ts

The west awake

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 794182, member: 1379”]j

I suspect putrid enough made even more putrid by the fact that views knew they were missing out on a much better game and history in the making at Portlaoise[/quote]

It was not that bad at all. As good a these 2 could produce and especially with Duffy reffing. It was all action-high intensity.

The stupidity of keepers taking frees still was still in evidence though.

Duffy completely bottled an over carrying decision on the Monaghan keeper at the end. Conor MacManus is a fabulous footballer as well.

From what I saw of them in 2007, they are worse than Tipp. Cork have much more class about them.

He must be good so.

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 794183, member: 1379”]well said dodgy. I was at the game and thought Kelly did a superb job.

Kilkenny supporters were gracious in defeat but a few gimps next me had some very derogatory marks towards Kelly during the game - all kinds of namecalling and the worst of all was sure what was the continuous reference to the fact that he was from Westmeath and wtf would he know about hurling coming from there. All because he blew up a few fouls that Kilkenny often got away with in the past[/quote]

I can see the wood from the trees on these things and I like Kelly as a ref but I stand by my comments from last night. How it was a free out for that last play???
Look, we didn’t deserve to win last night and fair dues to Dublin but I felt Kelly was poor enough last night.
The hurling championship is wide open.
Tipp lad said to me last night that the loss will be more ammunition for Cody to use. But Ammunition is not much good to you when you don’t have the gun to fire it.
This is a blessing for us.
Club championship is where it’s at.
'Mon d’Lockes!!

Kev, you need to go and you need to fuck yourself.
That is all

[quote=“theLockes, post: 794213, member: 58”]I can see the wood from the trees on these things and I like Kelly as a ref but I stand by my comments from last night. How it was a free out for that last play???
Look, we didn’t deserve to win last night and fair dues to Dublin but I felt Kelly was poor enough last night.
The hurling championship is wide open.
Tipp lad said to me last night that the loss will be more ammunition for Cody to use. But Ammunition is not much good to you when you don’t have the gun to fire it.
This is a blessing for us.
Club championship is where it’s at.
'Mon d’Lockes!![/quote]
The last play was a stonewall free out. If you can’t see that you are the very definition of a one eyed Kilkenny cunt. Fennelly gathered the ball and charged into a mass of Dublin bodies who stood their ground while Fennelly kept charging, hoping against hope for the penalty.

Was at this. Cluain Duaic summed it up. Dublin were far better and probably should have won by more. Their defence was superb, esp Rushe. 5 points from play sums it up. It looked at half time like it was going to be worse. At least KK died with their boots on. Fair play to Richie Power ( before his sending off). I’ve been critical of him in the past but he carried it to Dublin on his own in the second half.
Hopefully we’ll have one more kick in us for next week. It’s been some run but looks like the legs are gone now.
Interesting to see how the Dubs do now. A bit of speed could hurt them. The only times that KK hurt them tonight were the one or two times we got the momentum up and ran at them.