The first game brought dublin on and was a blessing in disguise. Still need to work on the discipline and stop mouthing off to the referee especially Mcmahon. O’Carroll, kilkenny and Andrews were our best players and Fenton put in a good performance at midfield. Dean Rock is useless and shouldn’t be in the team. Alan brogan did well when he game on and seemed to settle the lads down. Still a lot of work to do. When mayo got the goal I thought Cluxton was going to go postal.
Can’t help but think the Dubs are only starting their champo now in the 2nd half of that. Mayo too reliant on 3 or 4 key players to do the biz. I’d drop Flynn and Rock for the final. Consistently average. Dublin having 6 scoring forwards means someone else picks up the slack.
Is the Connolly saga over? DRA ruling stated he played cos he wasn’t allowed enough time for defence. Does that defence still have to take place?
I think he did. And I thought at the time it was ridiculous. Similar to Andrew Shore feigning injury in the u21 Leinster Final versus Dublin about 5 years ago. A goal game directly off it. Get up and get on with it ye little (big) fucker.
Not quite related to the All Ireland SFC but I attended a Wexford Junior Football Championship match in the afternoon and I witnessed a lad do a Tiernan McCannesque dive.
I almost felt sorry for Mayo. Superb standard by both teams in the first half today, I felt. Very impressive by Dublin to blow Mayo away in the last 20 minutes then. I thought Mayo looked quite strong once the game settled down after a messy opening few minutes of the second half. They were very good between the 40th and 50th minutes but the Dublin substitutions had a crucial impact. MacAuley was really impressive, as was McManamon obviously. Fitzsimons blotted out Andy Moran who had superbly created the Mayo goal and Alan Brogan was busy too. As for the starters, O’Carroll was good on his return though it’s fairly easy for elite defenders to snuff Cillian O’Connor out of a game. James McCarthy was vastly improved on last week and Cian O’Sullivan was absolutely top class. A huge game for Paddy Andrews and Ciarán Kilkenny was also great. Eddie Kinsella did a very good refereeing job. Seámus O’Shea’s rush of blood to the head really cost Mayo as MacAuley and Fenton finished very strongly in midfield for Dublin.
havent seen much on here about Lee Keegans pitiful effort that would have put them 5 up. that was a crucial miss IMO. It would have helped them keep up their momentum, but it was a lazy effort and cost them at a pivotal time when they could have kept the lead increasing.
Anyone else think that Aidan O’Shea is a bit of a liability to Mayo on Croke Park*. He just isn’t fast enough for the pace of the game. He gets around the pitch alot but no pace.
Fair play to both teams good match but the GAA will have to go the soccer route soon and ban back passes to the goalies.
Strongly agree rating. A fucking killer. Dropping a ball into Cluxton from that distance is a really poor thing to do. They were burned up after that miss. But as Bando says the crowd started singing and that was that.
Absolute turning point. Shocking miss, hint of a free however he should have delayed or go earlier. That lack of killer instinct is their major flaw. I believe they let Dublin back in, as opposed to Dublin finding a way themselves.
And that’s my point.
Kerry will take them chances
Gavin’s subs seem inspired, but they were subs that would happen no matter what. The big substitution was Moran going off.mayo seem a bit naive on the line.