Dublin?
M Fennelly was a big loss today and if what Iām hearing from during the week Cody might as well start planning for a team without M Fennelly as an option due to his ongoing back problems. We need his strength, speed and skill at midfield and are very much struggling without him
Thought Galway were good, some mistakes but theyāre as good as what is left in the back door draw so Tipp will play them in the semis and Galway donāt fear Tipp.
KK were good, TJ MOTM, full back line good, as were the half backs. Richie dos well when he went to midfield. Walter Walsh was shite, but from what I hear he is fantastic in training and thatās why Cody persists. Larkin just keeps producing, unreal. Power was okay, tried hard. Aylward did well again. Murphy took a chance for the second goal, no blame and pucked out well. Joyce is Teak tough. Tommy Lite outstanding under the high ball. Holden shut his critics up thank fuck.
Game again in 5 weeks time. I imagine weāll have either Waterford (probably) with possibly Limerick to contend with. But itās all about Tipp this year. Still their AI to lose.
I donāt know CLD, Galway are very good, better than what I thought. Jackie was poor. I like Murphy in the goal. Yeah there were mistakes but the pace was frantic with not much time to play around with. Jackie, WW, Power arenāt up to standard. Fennelly is a big loss. Colin F was good though. Not a bad days work for early July
Ah.now canāt read much into this week. P l games in the qualifier s business begins next week bud
agree
Cunningham told Cody heād see him in September.
so there ye go
Agree with all this, but kk are firm favourites in any given game, and hence for the AI.
Disappointing performance obviously. We really shot ourselves in the feet with unforced errors bad passes and getting blocked down etc. glennon was a complete passanger, as was hanbury really but he was never exposed. Harte was shocking, trying too hard. Him and cooney were so ineffective that Walter survived unscathed even though heās just a big awkward cunt. Poor game from Cathal mannion but the ball into him was shocking, how many high floaters did Paul Murphy just sweep up and clear. How is there no gamplan, we have ball winners in Johnny and Donnellan but thereās no support after they catch as they run into trouble. And 17 scores is diabolical, McGrath let us away with plenty of physicality in the first half, the next ref might not and a team that scores 11 or 12 from frees will simply outscore us, we still canāt work good scores, having only one midfielder ever play well is a killer in that regard.
On the plus side we showed up mentally with plenty of effort, Padraig mannion is outstanding and daithi showed a few flashes, but also showed that heās been playing more football than hurling all year. outside of tipp everyone else is miles below the standard we faced today, and today was a learning curve way more useful than the walk overs of the last two games. Thereās no doubting hurling is still a mans game though, Kilkenny were tough as fuck and tackled very well, you still have to compete with them physically to try and beat them. Cork and Clare wouldnāt have a prayer against them. And just after two of the greatest hurlers ever retired, they now have another one in hogan. Unreal. Unbelievable.
Apart from the wonder goal did Canning do much? Seemed to be anonymous when the game was in the melting pot.
What could he do really. He was at full forward for about ten minutes in the second half at one stage an not one ball was hit into him. And at other times high ball was floated in, Holden wrapped his arms around him and Murphy cleaned up. What forward would do well there. Holden is no weak link.
Did he show any leadership though
No point beating Kilkenny at this stage, as Galway discovered in 2012. The Bob OāKeefe means nothing to us, been there, done that, gave it a good kicking as well. Lots to be positive about but serious improvement needed before the next day out. Hopefully Cunningham can see where the weaknesses are and respond. He has been very predictable up to now, especially with his substitutions.
Heās wasted inside in the full forward line in a game like that
Imagine how much of an improvement on Tannian he would have been.
I totally disagree. Heās the most dangerous inside forward in the game. Galway have to find a way to maximise his goal scoring opportunities. The minute he is moved out the field Galway are surrendering.
Disagree. Loads of ball went into him, he won one and scored a great goal but they didnāt get enough out of him in there. Holden had the beating of him
Also Callanan scores about 2 goals a game and Canning is somehow more dangerous than him
But what are you going to get out of him out the field. To beat Kilkenny you need goals. If you move him out you are lessening your ability to get those goals. Play your players in their best positions. Canning is a natural full forward. If you canāt get the ball to him you have other problems. If you get the ball into him and he is not getting on the ball then you have to accept that the fullback has done a good job on an excellent player. If Iām managing a team beating Galway and I see Canning out around midfield Iād be clenching my fist with delight. One less thing to worry about.
Teams have learned with Galway that if you stifle Joe in at FF then you usually have them beaten. He adds a completely different dynamic out the field and usually the more ball that goes through him the better Galway play.
Heās one of the best readers of the game and is ridiculously accurate from distance. Heāll usually always find himself in the right place at the right time which is no accident. While the playing him at centre back thing is a piss take Iād love to see him spend a full game around the centre of the field.