2016 All Ireland Hurling Semi Final - Waterford v Kilkenny - in the melting pot

Really? Surely KKā€™s goal was. The one that saved them looking for 3 scores instead of 1.

15 on 15 is the only way to beat Kilkenny. Your forwards have to tackle and their men to ensure clean ball isnā€™t delivered down field. That may be obvious but rarely done by anyone outside of Kilkenny themselves for more than one game. Cody always said his best defender was Eddie Brennan.

Dunno, they reacted well to that missed chance but Morans point would have given them a cushion which the KK goal would not have fatally deflated IMO.

The more I think about the replay, I think WD will relish Thurles more so than KK.

Iā€™m on Waterford at 7/2 it will disappear shortly. It is all in their favour now. KK didnā€™t play bad - they didnā€™t miss many goal chances or have too many bad wides. Waterford stopped them from hurling. The deise will need goals because it is going to be tough for O Mahony and Gleeson to repeat yesterdays accuracy.

That came almost instantaneously after the disallowed point, within about 30 seconds Waterford went from 4 points up to level. A cruel blow psychologically after their dominance to that point.

Youā€™re dead right, they got some great scores. Was their first wide in the 53rd minute?

Waterford planned this very well. It was always unlikely they would win last year. You are right, ot is like Donegal. Tactically and technically its wise to build from the back. However its also about being competitive and confidence. ā€œLook we were within 5 points of KK last year with only so much work done, year older, wiser ā€¦ā€. Sometimes its about creating a narrative for the team, especially with youth. There is alot of calculated guessing going on. McGrath knows young lads, he still has a great connection to the younger generations. Its a big help.

As for the system change, i thought it was minimal enough. Its more player moving than anything
They moved a more stationary no.11 into the FF line and put a mobile guy there. He was able to cover the ground alot and was back in his own half and around midfield alot. You would have to look at it again though i think.

Ya but it still had to be scored. Certainly a turn around, but in defining moments the goal was it.

I am clearly pointing out the irony of your comments on Owens & certain viewpoints which were in disagreement with yours.

You called the inability to question his performance a typical irish male weakness. When your costs were questioned whether rightly or wrongly you nearly dropped your bowel out your pie hole.

I see a distinct similarity & clear cut irony in that.

But, itā€™s time to move along is it?

I didnā€™t say the inability to question his performance was an Irish Male weakness. Its the inability to take a new position even when new evidence is available that is a Irish male weakness.

Its probably a human weakness, but it seems to be magnified in this country for whatever reason.

Someone mentioned it here already, but I thought Waterford trying to score from the sideline 45 yards out was a huge mistake and another remnant of their previous system where they had to have a go because they had so few scoring opportunities. Sidelines are the last remaining low % plays that teams still make, theyā€™ve gotten rid of overhead pulls, ground pulls etc. because they unpredictable. You even see a lot of teams just play short ground strokes from sidelines now. I know he can hit them, but Iā€™d say his strike rate is still low enough. A foolish waste of possession at a key time IMO.

There is absolutely no comparision in these 2 things. Its a bizarre example.

Thats just a 50/50 view point. Easy enough to make an argument for ā€œtrusting his abilityā€. It went only a few feet wide. He hit it really well, so had the mentality right. I would say in the moment if a chance to do a quick one came then grand, but from memory nobody was running over looking for it.

Nobody was running over looking for it because he was going to shoot though. Bit of a chicken and an egg situation

Kev, do yourself a favour and dont engage with him about your personal business. Cuntish in the extreme him bringing it up in the first place just ignore it FFS.

As i say if the technique disappears or there is a huge fuck up then you have to question is the mentality right.
Personally i would be inclined to work something as i thi k its very natural to switch off ever so slightly when you see him go over to take it. If he got it to Barron and went for a 1-2 then you would think theyā€™d be in the danger zone for KK and maybe a free comes of it.
Its not something i would over think though.

Yep. Itā€™s okay make a cunt of Owens performance yet cry when the shoe is on the other foot.

And if Kev kept his personal business to himself I wouldnā€™t be able to engage with the flute.

Well i put it up here so fair game. I was highlighting the stupidity of boards/clubs with a very common issue.

It just makes no sense, at all, the comparison.

Itā€™s all on how Waterford respond nowā€¦bring that tempo and physicality again and they win. Very hard or unpredictable for a team without a winning history to get back to that level in such a short Windowā€¦ Itā€™s gonna take a lot of Dan bouncing around at training youā€™d imagineā€¦ Heā€™s gonna have to mix up his hat wearing style tooā€¦

referees get grief on here every day of the week in every sport. Whether he is right or wrong is somewhat irrelevant.