2016 Club Championships

Pat Critchley or Cheddar probably?

Critchley? You wash your mouth out.

Aye, that was the big man Cheddar, he got some trimming there. I was at that game. They were fucking hurls in according as they were breaking them off each other.

Still, none as trampish as Clonaslee, they’re a different breed entirely. They once bailed a lad out of jail to go play a hurling match :joy:

Bandit country & none of them in the Ra. :smile:

It’s not the same if the fella works in the jail pal.

Dangerous shower of fuckers. They went 5 years without a home game after the last encounter, yer man who was bailed out got a big suspension that time too, not to mention the all star nominee, and a former All Ireland Minor winner. Lethal.

I was at the infamous Camross v Clara match in Athy in 1986. My father is from Clara. I’ve never seen such scenes of violence in any walk of life to compare with what I saw that day.

@Fat_Pox will know more but I heard Solohead v Galtee Rovers in the West Tipp Senior Football final back in the early 80’s was meant to be scandalous regards the violence at it.

That’s Camross, mountain men. Cut the timber during the week, break it at the weekends.

Holy fuck… you wouldn’t see that in Ballinasloe on a fair day. It takes some animal to swing a hurl at fellas head.

There is a fella in there with jet black hair who deserved to get a jail sentence

Was that Camross v Portlaoise brawl I posted up there the 1989 final?

I was at the 1990 Laois final between the same pair. It was the curtain raiser in Portlaoise to Kilkenny v Tipperary in the U21 final. There was pretty much a full house in for it and there was as much anticipation about likely bloodshed in the Camross v Portlaoise clash as there was about the DJ Carey v John Leahy shoot out in the main event.

Camross had got absolutely hammered (a lot worse than Portlaoise) with a few life and 12 month suspensions from the big brawl and Portlaoise were hot favourites. Camross won easily enough in a tepid enough game with everyone on their best behaviour. One thing I do recall is the Camross captain at the end of his victory speech offering the obligatory three cheers to the vanquished Portlaoise team. After the cheers were given he signed off by remarking that the Portlaoise effort had been so weak, you’d think it was Portlaoise and not Camross that had all the missing personnel through suspension.

Were you at the Castletown vs Faythe Harriers game in Nowlan Park by any chance in 2001 ?

Ballybrown vs Clarecastle from 1991 is an old classic :joy:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mw9bYoaDqb0

I was at it. Some midget forward caused havoc for the Wexford kingpins.

Nicky Lambert kicking 16 year old. He was a raw man that year but unreal. Castletown crowd some crowd of arseholes in the stand that day.

Aye, twas 89 alright. They’d faced off a few times in the years leading up to that, there was no love lost.

No I wasn’t at that one, bad I presume?

is young in goals now to try and keep him away from perpetrating grievous bodily harm out the field? had a few pints with him at a wedding in gort one night, really sound fella

Like a lot of them, not the worst off the field, but on it, forget about it. My father would aay, as individuals they’re grand, but as a unit…

Presume he’s in goals because of age and injuries at this stage but was surprised to hear it as well.

Crowd following Castletown that day were a bunch of arseholes was mostly what stuck out for me.

Best thing about that 89 row was, who had a video recorder back then taping GAA matches?! Someone knew that was coming I’d wager.

This is a beaut of a slap from a Junior game

http://youtu.be/kb2s7BoBXn0