2016 Club Championships

He’s from O’ Loughlins.

I wondered was it the same lad. He must be into his 40s. Nice chap.

Very poor governance standards there.

The sort of carryon you wouldn’t be shouting from social media. You wouldn’t find that sort of stuff in Wateford.

You wouldn’t. Not any more.

That may be the case but I have been to enough GAA (or indeed any) club AGMs to know that when they are looking for volunteers to become officers and take some of the workload, the navel gazing Olympics begin

@KinvarasPassion are you Hurling a bit of Junior B this year?

Junior C mate…

Are you togging at the weekend yourself?

Very similar to any of those football mad places in duhallow. Kiskeam, Cullen and all them the very same. Sound people

I won’t be mate, they’re a lovely Club, I presume it’ll be played in Heywood on the 4G pitch. Will you travel?

Who runs this thing, it’s a grand idea.

Kileedy in limerick run this. Got in a bit of trouble last year with appeals and the like with illegal players. Don’t think it is officially recognised by the GAA. I think Abbey Tynagh Duniry won it last year with Kevin Broderick on board.

Fair play to them, it struck me as a something outside the norm alright.

The Masters is the same way I think, or at least it used to be. That was another grand idea and you’d imagine there was merit in the GAA rowing in behind it again, but presume it was insurance or the like that caused the fallout.

It is recognised by the GAA now, good money spinner for Kileedy.

Its a disgrace there is no Masters GAA of note.

What a simple way to keep lads involved and have an endless line of adult coaches. I stead let them off to do triathlons

You would surely get strong numbers for an over 35 summer league or something. Can’t have played for the first team in your club for 2 seasons or something to keep it casual enough.

No organised training whatsoever for it. I would definitely play it. Have played several “masters” rugby games. Great craic but high risk of doing yourself an injury. Less so in GAA really

Trouble with all these things is you always get some band of losers who take it too seriously.

I’m aware of a few clubs in Dublin running over 35 teams for football. Round Towers in Clondalkin and Fingallians come to mind. I think there are a few blitzes a year usually in Ulster.

That’s a fact

Nothing wrong with trying to win. But just park it there. The Aussies have a great system. Every 2nd weekend of blitz at hosting clubs. Played before Ressies and Senior teams league games. PLenty booze and mingling after.

They go for it though.