2017 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Ya but he’s arguably a more complete footballer now than ever. Leaner and getting others involved very well. He’s some man in fairness most would have been happy to bow out a few years back when it wasn’t going well for him and he wasn’t starting. He’d enough won at that stage for him to have been able to retire and had a great career. Instead he went away to basketball got his sharpness and fitness back and took back his place.

Lads haven’t a notion. If mayo pushed up on the kerry kick outs maher and Moran would have cleaned them. That’s what really nullified James and geaney the fact that kerry had to build from the back at a slow pace.

Kerry scored 2-14 playing shite and with very little high ball.

Are you telling me that Mayo don’t have any defender that could have done what AOS did yesterday? There’s no hope for them if they haven’t.

The best match I saw Donaghy play was against the Dubs in the 2011 All Ireland Final. He took the game to them more or less by himself. He played at left half forward for most of that match.

Clerkin is a woeful journalist.

They don’t. In fact fuck all counties do/did, with the exception of Tyrone with the two McMahons.

The Hurling snobs are seething

Did they think they would get cleaned out?

They’ve had 11 years since 2006 and a number of managers and the best they could come up over this time is to move a big fella back onto him… Like I said, whatever about starting that way, I think Rochford should have had the courage to really go for it at halftime - Kerry were barely hanging on at the back.

I hope Kerry obliterate them next Saturday.

Agree.

Throwing him in full forward was the call for me - if even for only 10 minutes.

It’s amazing the way lads who proclaim to hate football and won’t watch it cause it’s not a patch on hurling are all over this thread with all the answers now.Stick to hippin it and whippin it.

Name them ,kid… Call these wankers out.

They nullified the aerial threat but at the expense of losing a big presence further out the field and letting Donaghy on a pile of ball further out that he used very well. Marking O’Shea made life easier for Donaghy if anything, as well as for the rest of the Kerry forwards, as Mayo lacked a specialist full back.
Be interesting to see if they persist with it the next day. I think O’Shea as a spare man in front of the fb line gives you that defence from high ball without unsettling the defence and would give him more licence to get forward when the opportunities arose.
That Kerry defence is there to be taken if they go at them. Fitzmaurice has improved the bench options a lot this year, but the defence is as vulnerable as ever. Walsh was a big loss on that score as he does untold work from hf cutting off runners etc.

The first goal was not Aidan O’Shea’s fault. Seamus O’Shea casually got caught in possession on his own 65, Parsons could possibly have claimed the lose ball but it slipped past him and it allowed Kerry to break down the middle. Donaghy had come out but Aidan O’Shea was holding the full back position. Donaghy did brilliantly as he engaged O’Shea to notice that O’Brien was storming through for the pass and delayed and delivered it nicely. O’Brien came from beyond a few different Mayo defenders to get in position to take the pass. Seamus O’Shea’s sloppy mistake and the defenders lazily tracking back were to blame. I’m not denying Donaghy did very well and he did have a part in 2-4 or whatever but it’s the analysis that O’Shea was at fault for the 2-4 which irks me.

The football championship is excellent entertainment once it gets to this stage. A lot of dross before that though.

Agreed - A great game to watch in full flight but those games are few and far between…

I’d say the same about the hurling.There’s four teams in each the rest is just mediocre.

The second wasn’t his fault either,it was from a poor kickout from Clarke.

It’s been a good year to be fair, but really we were playing to see who’d join Kerry, Dublin & Mayo in semi’s. All three there every year since 2013.

The O’Shea apologists just can’t admit they got it wrong despite every top pundit and journalist slamming Rochford for it… The Leitrim lads defending Mayo is bizarre.