what motivates and possesses them to engineer a ādouble headerā at every available opportunity?
why can they not play these games at stand alone venues
The usage of Navan two days in a row i assume was because it does not have the capacity to host a āvery attractive double headerā
5pm is am awful time for a game
ill prob head over to kildare fermanagh saturday at 7pm
Can everyone stop calling Saturdays game day in OāMoore Park a Double Header?
It is fact, a triple header.
if any posters are in meath this weekend and are stuck for parking or are heading to send ,me a PM
Iāve been a Dub my whole life. I won a fancy dress competition in ā77 in a Dublin kit with a āthe jacks are backā sign.
Fancy dress was a low bar in the 70s.
IFSC car park is best option
whilst this is somewhat true, it also doesnt take into account what Dublin also gets from the Leinster council.
Have a look at page 22 of the PDF there.
you have ā¬2.5m of GPO expenditure which isnt broken down into counties. Divided by 11 counties, that would mean each county getting ā¬227k each. That figure alone is vastly incorrect, as for example in Wexford, who part share costs on their GPOs who are on a base salary of ā¬34k, their total cost would be approx ā¬190k for the 5 full time GPOs (including Wexfords own payments to this fund). And other counties have less than Wexford, so that expenditure must include payments to Dublin club coaching officers.
Another point is the nice tidy sum of ā¬239k for the āDublin coaching projectā. Which is still more than the above figure even if you do divide by 11 counties only. So adding in the āmissingā Leinster council money does not balance out the figures and actually makes the gap bigger.
Dublin GAA get plenty of additional money from Leinster council, which added to their main central council funding will still easily dwarf every other county.
On a serious note, its not Dublins issue money is thrown at them. They have huge sponsorship and revenue building avenues so easy to make money. They generate money on gate returns and merchandise. They have a massive population. All natural factors that help them. They are using the money wisely and making the absolute most of it (for example see Offaly pissing away their Hurling Development Fund money). They are doing what they can with the advantages at their disposal. Its not up to them to balance the playing field.
On a less serious note, fucking jackeen bastards getting everything handed to them. The cunts.
Where do the Leinster council get the majority of their funds
The illicit traficing of illegal narcotics.
The majority (52%) from Championship gate receipts. See page 20 in that PDF. Central council is 25%. Co Board contributions 11%.
To directly answer your loaded question, of the ā¬5.2m gate receipts received in 2017, Dublin GGA accounted for ā¬2.2m of that in their 4 games. As an aside, Wexford GGA accounted for ā¬1.7m in their 4 games. Also Galway, marked absent from any distribution of funds, accounted for ā¬1.6m
So what happens to the funding for the every county if Dublin do not play in Croke Park? The ground with the highest capacity outside Croke Park is Semple Stadium at 45,000 or so. This would mean that instead of getting a 50,000+ capacity payday and all that entails with vendor sales when Dublin play in Croke Park, the most the GAA are going to get is 45,000 capacity pay day plus vendor sales and this is only if all of Dublins Games are fixed for Semple Stadium. If the GAA donāt capitalise on the Dublin games then there will be a reduction in funding to every County because of it. Lets face facts Dublin are the county that generate most money for the GAA so any reduction in revenue will impact on all counties.
Play more concerts.
Yep that worked out well for Garth Brookes.
Garth woulda been grand if it wasnāt for you fucking Dubs.
and how many times have Dublin brought 50k plus attendances to Croke park prior to the Leinster final? Because thats the main funds for the Leinster counties from games within the Leinster championship. The hurling and football finals brought in nearly the same amount of money last year.
Itās obvious that the GGA have starved Dublin of funds so that they can force them to play at neutral venues like Croke Park.
If Dublin had a 40,000 stadium it could use, Croke Park would be used about 8 times a year and turn to rust.
The Muldoons are emboldened by Kildare last week and now want to cut their nose off to spite their face. Let them play the game in Clones, the GGA will lose out on a fortune and Dublin will win anyway.
How fucking old are you?
So what. Is it a competition or a fund raising enterprise? If the gaa follow your logic, and they seem to, then they have a huge interest in their fund generators being competitive longer than other counties. So the body that gives funds, appoints referees, sets venues need one team above all others to do well. And you fail to see an issue?
Is this the lad you were gonna fight in a public park, 3 years ago? Or am I mixing him up with someone?
No they donāt whether Dublin do well or not they are still bringing a big crowd. Actually attendances were higher between 1995 and 2013 than they are now and we were shit. The issue is that GAA folk want everything, they want all the clubs to have great facilities and all counties to be competitive. To do that you need money and you are not going to make money on games unless Dublin are involved its a simple as that. If Dublin are the only county that can 3 quarters fill Croke Park on match days. Look at the leinster final on Sunday what was there 40,000 or there abouts. You aināt going to fund anything on full houses for 4 All Semi Finals and 2 All Ireland finals. So either you want the facilities in the clubs and countys or you donāt and if you donāt then grand fix Dublin to play games in 15,000 capacity grounds and take the losses.
I bet you would be back on here crying about how the clubs are falling apart and memberships are dropping because the GAA have cut the funding.