They need to pump money into dublin to make an unattractive sport popular
There is a salary cap in the gga already mate
I said ‘akin to the salary cap in NFL in relation to spending on team prep’.
Please read the entire sentence before you come out with your ridiculous statements.
You do know the gga is amateur? Not sure your idea of a salary cap is feasible
Indeed, it’s a pity there was a cap put on the investment in teaching you how to actually read.
The future of Gaelic football should be an AFL-type structure with a 16 club professional league with 10 of the clubs based in Dublin.
We could poach young Aussie Rules players from Australia. When they see what the weather is like here they’ll be over in a shot.
lads who come to work and live in Dublin along with most of rest of the country need to get behind their adopted county
They could learn a lot from the way a Cork man such as yourself forgot his roots and assimilated.
what motivates and possesses them to engineer a “double header” at every available opportunity?
why can they not play these games at stand alone venues
The usage of Navan two days in a row i assume was because it does not have the capacity to host a “very attractive double header”
5pm is am awful time for a game
ill prob head over to kildare fermanagh saturday at 7pm
Can everyone stop calling Saturdays game day in O’Moore Park a Double Header?
It is fact, a triple header.
if any posters are in meath this weekend and are stuck for parking or are heading to send ,me a PM
I’ve been a Dub my whole life. I won a fancy dress competition in ‘77 in a Dublin kit with a “the jacks are back” sign.
Fancy dress was a low bar in the 70s.
IFSC car park is best option
whilst this is somewhat true, it also doesnt take into account what Dublin also gets from the Leinster council.
Have a look at page 22 of the PDF there.
you have €2.5m of GPO expenditure which isnt broken down into counties. Divided by 11 counties, that would mean each county getting €227k each. That figure alone is vastly incorrect, as for example in Wexford, who part share costs on their GPOs who are on a base salary of €34k, their total cost would be approx €190k for the 5 full time GPOs (including Wexfords own payments to this fund). And other counties have less than Wexford, so that expenditure must include payments to Dublin club coaching officers.
Another point is the nice tidy sum of €239k for the “Dublin coaching project”. Which is still more than the above figure even if you do divide by 11 counties only. So adding in the “missing” Leinster council money does not balance out the figures and actually makes the gap bigger.
Dublin GAA get plenty of additional money from Leinster council, which added to their main central council funding will still easily dwarf every other county.
On a serious note, its not Dublins issue money is thrown at them. They have huge sponsorship and revenue building avenues so easy to make money. They generate money on gate returns and merchandise. They have a massive population. All natural factors that help them. They are using the money wisely and making the absolute most of it (for example see Offaly pissing away their Hurling Development Fund money). They are doing what they can with the advantages at their disposal. Its not up to them to balance the playing field.
On a less serious note, fucking jackeen bastards getting everything handed to them. The cunts.
Where do the Leinster council get the majority of their funds
The illicit traficing of illegal narcotics.
The majority (52%) from Championship gate receipts. See page 20 in that PDF. Central council is 25%. Co Board contributions 11%.
To directly answer your loaded question, of the €5.2m gate receipts received in 2017, Dublin GGA accounted for €2.2m of that in their 4 games. As an aside, Wexford GGA accounted for €1.7m in their 4 games. Also Galway, marked absent from any distribution of funds, accounted for €1.6m
So what happens to the funding for the every county if Dublin do not play in Croke Park? The ground with the highest capacity outside Croke Park is Semple Stadium at 45,000 or so. This would mean that instead of getting a 50,000+ capacity payday and all that entails with vendor sales when Dublin play in Croke Park, the most the GAA are going to get is 45,000 capacity pay day plus vendor sales and this is only if all of Dublins Games are fixed for Semple Stadium. If the GAA don’t capitalise on the Dublin games then there will be a reduction in funding to every County because of it. Lets face facts Dublin are the county that generate most money for the GAA so any reduction in revenue will impact on all counties.
Play more concerts.