2018 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Brody :joy:

And the league doesnā€™t matter eh? Time to swap league and championship, a far better system available in a simple swoop.

Itā€™ll never happen mind you.

The league doesnā€™t really matter. Mayo have been fighting relegation and competing for All Ireland simultaneously in the past few years. Itā€™s good preparation for the big stiff but thatā€™s the extent of it.

All GAA competitions outside of the Championship are used to blood new players or try new systems. If teams go well, then great and if they donā€™t as long as they add a couple of new lads to the panel its not a complete failure.

Wonderful post. Almost makes it sound like a day out at an NRL game at Leichardt Oval or somewhere.

I think Kildare have the potential to be the successors to Mayo over the coming few years. ie. a county who havenā€™t won the All-Ireland in living memory, with potentially massive support, a team that pulverises most teams through their superior physical conditioning and have the footballers to reach the business end of the championship and contend for All-Irelands, but never quite gets there.

They look quite similar to Mayo in their approach and they remind me of Mayo 2011.

Thatā€™s a fair comparison.

The only thing they may have over Mayo is a few underage teams coming along behind them along the right time

Despite losing all their games, Division 1 football benefitted them hugely this year. They were competitive in most of them. There was a paradox there in that while their confidence was taking a bit of a battering, they were building up knowhow all the time. They got a decent win in Derry to get them up and running, but the win against Mayo is the sort of breakout win that could prove to be a launchpad for a five or six year long period of challenging.

I think we will beat Roscommon very comfortably. It could come down to scoring difference and we will need to build it up here.

Roscommon are there to make up the numbers.

@Blake

Where are all the Kildare slapheads these days? You used have a load of them playing for ye.

Theyā€™re all supporting Tyrone?

Tyrone have a very high proportion of bald match-going supporters.

CON has them all juicing on the Rogaine

Gary is tremendous fun. Fair play to him

Fair play to him for sticking that up.

ā€œPass first year collegeā€ :smile:

Ah shur fair play to him. Jim McGuinness went back and done his leaving cer at a later age Iā€™d say.

How old is he?

Twee :white_check_mark:
Self indulgent :white_check_mark:
Narcissistic :white_check_mark:

McGuinness? Probably in his late 40s

The laois player