Christ, itâs starting to feel like groundhog day around here again. The viewing figures are what they are. Those who prefer to watch football will watch it and vice versa.
Is it because the broadcasters have recognised that the Connaught championship is the only game in town? Munster and Leinster are too one sided and worthless for anyone to bother watching, and while Ulster is competitive the broadcasters have correctly recognised that it is turgid shite that no one wants to watch and filled with teams that are incapable of having any impact on the latter stages of the championship.
I wouldnât be one bit surprised if kerry lost to tipp in Munster.
Iâd say youâre in a minority of one there
Kerry are Always savagely undercooked going into munster and tipp are more than decent outfit. I presume tipp who are probably in the top 10 sides in the country or at least close to it will be flat out for a historic munster final win. Fitzmaurice and this kerry outfit are vastly overrated and the only reason there anyway rates is thanks to jimmy mcguiness mugging Off Dublin a few years back and kerry picked up the pieces in the final.
There isnât even any Kerry posters here mate, youâre wasting your time
He is hoping some of the West limerick crowd bite .
Ah jaysus, that was dumb of me
Kerry will be in the All-Ireland final.
Liam kearns is fuming that the chip lads would play Waterford and cork in successive weekends. Not thinking about kerry yet
They will in there fuck. Theyâll totally exposed in the super eights. Iâve a feeling Mayo will do it.
Iâve a feeling Mayo will struggle this weekend and end up in a shit hard super 8 group. Donât laugh lads but I think Tyrone ew @ 10-1 (ew 3rd of the odds) is a savage bet.
Dublin v Tyrone final for me.
Tyrone being in the same Super 8 group as Dublin, presuming they win Ulster, will be a big benefit for them.
The hiding Tyrone took from Dublin will resonate for years to come. They were possibly ahead of the chasing pack but were miles and miles behind Mayo and Dublin. Very little evidence to suggest theyâll improve significantly to trouble the big two.
Iâm really not sure what evidence you thought there could be at this stage of the year. Thatâs the thing with GAA. The big teams only go full tilt at each other in the latter stages of the championship. The concept of âevidenceâ is a fatally flawed one. You only get the evidence when it has to be produced.
Quite possibly. But Iâm betting on them being good enough to beat the other teams involved and then have my money mad before the ball is thrown in for the final and sitting on a docket for the win. Might throw it in as an ew double with your russian fellaâŚ
No offence sid but if you took a notion youâd argue the sky isnât blue. You ignore all evidence even whenâs its screaming you in the face. Tyrone were ruthlessly distmanlted at ease by Dublin. They havenât beaten Dublin or kerry or mayo in championship in four seasons now. Theyâve added one forward to their starting fifteen and lost cavanagh. Same manager too. If you fancy Tyrone for the all Ireland itâs down to sheer faith or just refusal to accept all known evidence.
So?
Dublin were destroyed by Tyrone in 2008, Kerry in 2009 and Meath in 2010. They capitulated to Cork in the league final in 2011.
There was no âevidenceâ they were about to win an All-Ireland.
As I said, the notion of âevidenceâ in GAA is a fatally flawed one due to the major competition being a cup format, and the fact that the top teams only go full tilt for perhaps three matches per year.
When predicting outcomes, youâre always working off the minimum of evidence. Loads of teams have taken a humiliating thrashing one year and won the All-Ireland soon after.
Tyrone havenât won a game of any real consequence in Croke Park since 2008. Youâd think the Tyrone cheerleaders here would have learned something from what happened to them against Dublin in last years semi final.
Thatâs rubbish. In 2010 Dublin beat Tyrone (a big scalp at the time), lost to the eventual all Ireland winners by a point and won an under 21 all Ireland. Losing a league final too in 2011 was a clear pointer that they were in the shake up in what was a wide open championship. Tyrone have been largely an irrelevance underage in both minor and 21 bar 2015 for the last 8 years. Theyâve nothing in the senior championship, have the same manager and basically the same group players that have been miles off it for the past few season. Everything points to them falling short yet again. I reckon Tyrone will be beaten in ulster and will be put out of their misery by one of Mayo/Galway/Roscommon/Kildare or cork. Teams of that standard would love a chance against Tyrone.