2018 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

That Mayo team wins.

For some reason people think 6-8 months is going to kill a few players, because thatā€™s only how long ago it was these lads were hopping.

Without turmoil or changes in manager Mayo will have a ride and trusted approach. Galway are still tinkering and learning. I would say Mayo realise the value of this game as a qualifier run and Super 8 will hardly ever produce and All Ireland winner I would suggest

Maybe so but great teams can age very quickly and the age profile of that Mayo team must be worrying.

Ultimately we donā€™t know but they canā€™t keep coming back every year.

7 of that starting side are now in their 30s.

In another lifetime Andy Moran would not be making his 165th appearance for Mayo on Sunday. At age 34, he wouldnā€™t be still playing intercounty football or thinking back on the six All-Ireland finals he has lost since his debut season in 2004 and wondering what if?

He wouldnā€™t be worrying about beating Galway, after losing their last two meetings in the Connacht championship, and instead most of his thoughts would be on his gym business in Castlebar and his wife and two children.

That doesnā€™t mean there is anywhere else he would rather be on Sunday than in MacHale Park, and although openly admitting he thought he would have won two All-Irelands at this stage, with or without being footballer of the year, Moran is perfectly content to just keep pressing on.

ā€œWould I have preferred to have won an All-Ireland in 2004, got it out of the way, not to have this attention? Of course I would. But listen, it is what it is. And to me itā€™s just great that we are competing at the highest level of the sport that we are in.

ā€œPeople talk about losing All-Irelands and various things like that. I would much prefer to be in the All-Ireland than not be in it. You have only one chance of winning, and thatā€™s if you are in the bloody thing. So, weā€™ll keep fighting to be in it, and weā€™ll keep fighting to win it.ā€

It is a few years now since Moran reckoned this Mayo team were good enough to go and win not one but two All-Irelands despite their string of final loses: now heā€™s only a little less sure.

Massive journey

ā€œWell, Iā€™d take one now at this stage. Weā€™ve had a massive journey. What I would love to think is that Iā€™m going hell for leather to win one this year, next year. Whenever I play I think you can only have one goal.

ā€œBut the key now is that weā€™ve a legacy moving forward. Itā€™s like we didnā€™t come, get to an All-Ireland final or two, then drop off. Weā€™ve literally stayed there, six, seven years, and weā€™re hoping that these young guys that are coming in after us, the likes of Stephen Coen, Conor Loftus, all these guys that now understand that they can carry it on.

ā€œBut I thought the team at the time was good enough, I genuinely did. You see what Dublin did, they went and won two or three. Thatā€™s the sign of a really great team. No matter what you do youā€™d love to do it twice to show that you can back stuff up.ā€

Win or lose on Sunday, he expects Mayo to have a say in the latter stages, especially come the new Super-8 stage; and the same with Galway. After that if Mayo do fall short he certainly wonā€™t be feeling sorry for himself, and 2019 might well be another year. Especially given the fact he though injury had finished his career in 2014.

ā€œTo be honest I wasnā€™t going to retire or anything, but I thought I was finished in 2014. I would still argue Iā€™m not that talented of a footballer. I would live my life by working as hard as I can on my game. Iā€™ve certain areas which Iā€™m good at, Iā€™ve certain areas that Iā€™m crap at. I try to make the ones that Iā€™m good at as best I can and then I move on. I can honestly say that if I left in the morning I could say Iā€™ve literally tried my best.

Personality

ā€œI actually do think itā€™s a tiny bit of our personality that we can kind of take stuff, give out about it for a while, and then just go at it again. I think thatā€™s probably just the nature of our psyche

ā€œWhat I can live with is Iā€™m playing the game, I had one or two serious injuries throughout my career, I came back, I played really well, I burst myself to win the All-Ireland. If it doesnā€™t happen I canā€™t do any more. I have a wife and two kids at home ā€“ if I feel sorry for myself for five minutes Iā€™m dead.ā€

Mayo have one championship debutant for Sunday in defender Eoin Oā€™Donoughue, while Galway have three: defender SeĆ”n Andy Ɠ Ceallaigh, midfielder CiarĆ”n Duggan and forward Barry McHugh.

Thatā€™s exactly it and to be honest I still donā€™t think weā€™ll know after Sunday, whatever happens.

Itā€™s when the Super 8s and Croke Park comes around is when we will have a fair idea.

You can sense the desperation off your posts re Mayo.

No desperation here.

Just stating facts that every side has a lifespan and Mayo are coming very close to their expiry date. They have defied the critics so far but itā€™s going to come some day.

Youā€™ve been saying it for the last three seasons.

Nobody ages any quicker than anyone else.

What happens is one player has had enough for physical or lifestyle reasons or maybe change of management. This can then lead to a standing ovation effect where others who view themselves as equal/similar start questioning themselves and either follow suit or reduce effort.

However I do not see that with this mayo see ide yet.

If well looked and fter being 30+ these days is no bother. It varies obviously for individuals. But physically with the way sports science is now and especially who mayo have looking after them I would say 35 is the new 30

As have a lot of people but if you keep thinking these Mayo players can keep defying their age then you donā€™t know very much.

There are signs their bodies are creaking though.

Injuries are being picked up more and more frequently by these guys.

Last weeks panel on Sunday Sport, now I was only half listening in the garden with the kids, seemed to suggest this was the year to beat the Dubs. Lots of players retired, others aging, new lads may not be experienced.

If that was their view of the Dubs then I donā€™t know where the winner is coming fromā€¦not Mayo based on the players retiring and aging presumably.

I hope not but I think @Cicero_Dandi maybe on a high in September and not just after celebrating the Popeā€™s visit.

They were at the same shite last year.

Fact is Dublin are 4 games away from 5 in a row. And only 2 teams can beat them imo.

Connolly is a massive loss if he doesnā€™t return which will give the chasing pack a glimmer but I donā€™t believe them to be as vulnerable as many of the pundits are saying.

Sometimes it does.

Have you stats to back that up?

Because my information is mayo injuries have been steadily reducing over the past 5 years

Itā€™s clear as day, look at the injury problems during the league.

Barrett had knee surgery during the off season.
Lee Keegan had a double hip op.
Vaughan hasnā€™t played this year to date with injury problems.
COC tore his hamstring.
SOS missed the most of the league with a knee injury.
Harrison missed the majority of the league with injury too.

Galway have far better forwards .

Quite a few of those Galway forwards have still to stand up on a truly big day. Its time for Shane Walsh in particular, to stop faffing about. Going back to Armstrong as well, suggests a lack of faith in a few of the others which have been tried. Armstrong has flattered to deceive for years. Iā€™m a big fan of Galway, but the Baysht aside, the rest have a lot to prove.

Fair comment but I still think there is more pace and natural scoring there .

So what?

From my information they rested platers and as well as that injuries are down on previous years.

COC, Harrison and Barrett all under 30 too.

So you are talking rubbish

Highly debate able.

Bigger ceiling of ability maybe.