2018 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

If it was Kerry winning four in a row there wouldnā€™t be any talk of the state of the game.

Thereā€™s only jealousy because itā€™s the dubs.

Iā€™d certainly be calling the Yerras cunts if they did.

Which posters are the same lads?

There was plenty of talk about the state of the game back in 1981. Kerry handed out some awful hammerings. They beat Cork by double digits in Munster Finals of 1979, 80 & 81, Roscommon, Monaghan and Mayo in the semi finals of 1978, 79 & 80 by double digits and beat Dublin in the finals of 1978 & 79 by 17 and 11 points. The feeling in 1981 was that Kerry could win 5,6 or 7.

The Jacks
Are back

Oh we do. Modern Ireland hates the GAA

yeah and also referring to her as ā€œmichaelaā€ like he fucking knew her the cunt

i would agree
there were a few right shapers there today
yer man Macmahon for Dublin is an absolute gom also and yer the center back Cooper is it, youā€™ll have to imagine or at least hope his career will end with a really bad injury
dubs were carrying a few there today- that lad macmahon looks like philly hughes in his pomp for shelbourne with his size- a hopeless player - his only contribution was to give away a spotter,

The GOAT

Youā€™re an absolute baboon.

Your support every county so you canā€™t lose trick seems to be paying off

https://twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1036408272419545088?s=19

He had a corker at Alan Brogan as well. Why Alan?

Iā€™m calling it lads peak Dublin. That Dublin team is awesome, thereā€™s no doubt about it, but they certainly arenā€™t unbeatable. Same as Kilkenny were never going to be beaten ever again a few years ago. Itā€™s up to the rest to get to their level. When we reached peak KK it seemed that every player was interchangeable and it didnā€™t matter who was playing they were just unstoppable. The subs were the second best team in the country etc.
But as new lads were introduced and the old stars faded out the standard of the team imperceptibly at first began to drop. What kept them above all others was their fanatical will to win and an aura of invincibility that had other teams rattled before the games even begun.

Whether Dublin like it or not they are a worse team without Connolly and Cluxton is nearing the end as well. McMahon, Oā€™Sullivan, McManamon, MDMA, Fitzsimmons all over 30. Even the likes of Brogan, Andrews, Daly and Oā€™Gara who are used sparingly are still providing depth and over 30. Dublin are just beginning this dip now I think. If they do get the 5 in a row then surely most of those lads will walk. It could still be a couple of years before someone cracks them, but once they do they wonā€™t reach the same heights again. The idea that Dublin will reign supreme forever is laughable IMO.

The reality of this season is that Dublin have slipped in standards ever so slightly, but their main competitors to this point Mayo and Kerry fell to pieces. Tyrone stepped up, but they were coming from a long way back. Thatā€™s a young Tyrone team and they should be back with lessons learned. Mayo Iā€™m not so sure, theyā€™d need something special (McGuinness for one last rattle maybe). Galway improved to an extent this year, but Iā€™m not sure they have it to make the step. I think with a decent man in place Kerry could close the gap very quickly. Theyā€™ve a conveyor belt of talent coming through the likes of which has never been seen before, even in Kerry. Fitzmaurice never evolved his thinking at all and kept trying the stuff that worked in the first year or two while the whole landscape had changed in the meantime. The right appointment and they could be right back in it very quickly.

Cluxton is probably the biggest one there if he canā€™t be replaced well. Deprived of the possession he gives them Dublin will have to defend an awful lot more.

Dublin are as professional an outfit as has been in the GAA (understatement of the year etc etc) and clinical. Superfit, superhuman, huge squad and depth. Next year will be a procession.
With the difference of actual hunger this time around as they can genuinely achieve immortality with the 5 in a row. Iā€™d love to see Connolly back to do it.
And then it will fall apart for them. Kerry are as you say, a decent bainisteoir away from being genuine contenders. Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Monaghan all there.
I know they have all resources, money, population etc, but I think Dublin have actually been very fortunate to have had two very, very smart, talented and professional men in Pat Gilroy and Jim Gavin steering a very steady ship these past years. Replacing Gavin when he goes will be the key thing for them.

This has, incidentally been a very, very underwhelming and anti climactic championship. Iā€™m not sure Iā€™ll bother my hole watching the final.

Nail on the head.

The kickout thing is quite simple really but very well executed.

Cluxton has large sections of the pitch to kick the ball to. The chances of a high-risk turnover such as happened Tyrone are low. The space ahead of the receiver means the ball is moved forward quickly.

However he favours his left foot to the right side so much and still the opposition will not challenge to make the more difficult kickout. Tyrone could have made it difficult by maintaining a zonal set-up in the full forward line.

They had a zonal set up in full forward line during the 15 minutes they had Dublin under pressure in first half. Cluxton put one over the sideline. Then penalty went in and Dublin got two quick points and Tyrone seemed to abandon the zonal press