2021 All Ireland Football-Covid is a cod tyrone style

Up there with Clare 2013

Mayo needed a clinical forward. They really missed Cillian O’ Connor. McCurry has really resurrected his career for Tyrone. He gave O’ Hora a lot of bother today.

I agree. ROD is honest and abrasive but he can’t score on the spin like Cillian can. Tommy Conroy is all about pace but not a brilliant kicker either.

Maybe that young lad that came on is the answer.

Anyone who thinks coc would have been the difference today clearly hasn’t been paying attention

They didn’t get conroy on near enough ball. Now he obviously has to take some responsibility for that. But they were kicking everything to O’Donoghue and O’Shea.
Conroy got the first ball of the game, ran his man over like a bull in a bull fight and popped it over. This fellas going to do untold I was thinking, I don’t think he touched the ball for the rest of the half

I’d say @Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy was apoplectic when the penalty was awarded😂 What was it for? Between that, the non-black card for O’ Hora and Keegan he’d have been claiming a conspiracy. Although I think Kilpatrick should have seen red with Ruane at the end. Not that it would have made a difference. A Hennelly free and Walsh wide should have gone to Hawkeye in my opinion too.

I like Mayo, they try to play and they’ve given us some great games over the years, but that was a gutless performance today.

I’m not saying that but Mayo don’t really do forwards who can score on the spin like McCurry, Clifford and Rock. They are necessary at this level.

He’d have probably scored that penalty anyway. A far more influential player than AOS.

Credit Tyrone for that too but true to form the usual lads on that team had to make it all about them and the likes of Conroy who can kick a score got no ball

Keegan is some warrior. The rest of the Mayo lads can fuck off.

I don’t know enough about football, maybe ye talked about it already & I know he’s a legend in general.

But was Mickey Harte holding Tyrone back? Would they have won more?

Someone inform me or is it just hard to know.

Yer man Kieran Shannon did a good analysis on Mayo’s forwards a few years back.

In the 2016/17 finals, Dublin had 6 or 7 players who scored off both feet in those games. Mayo had none.

They haven’t really improved in the meantime, so they continue to only go so far.

The penalty was a clear penalty for handling the ball on the ground

They wouldn’t have got the penalty because be would have kicked the free over

Brian Walsh’s goal chance was a case in point. Forwards from Kerry, Dublin, Tyrone and even Galway/Cork/Donegal would have been two footed enough to score off the weak foot from 10 yards out.

Should it not have been a square ball from the free?

And is a Technical foul a penalty? Would it be the same in hurling?

Tyrone had their number, they were nearly inviting them down the dead ends. They were superb in the tackle again today, it wasn’t the passive you have the ball, you can keep it but I’ll turn you back style we’ve seen the last while, it was pure you have the ball, I’m taking it off you. Superbly disciplined in the tackle as well.

Mayo were fucking inept though, their shot selection sweet jebus. They constantly had the wrong person on the end of moves as well. Tyrones pressure contributes obviously because they are getting a shot off before being bottled up, but like Loftus several times, O’Shea, O’Donoghue all missed very scoreable chances with no one on them. Missed penalty. Minimum three goal chances etc.

Bar the one decent goal chance Tyrone missed they were very economical, especially on goals scored.

I don’t know if you can have a turning point so early in the game but hennelly missed that 45 early doors. Tyrone hadn’t caught a breath, Mayo were mauling them, next thing a chink of light, and Mayos manic aggression faded. Had Henelley made that they might have tacked on another one or two before Tyrone found their feet

I always thought picking up the ball was a 21 in hurling but not sure

Another major problem with Mayo which didn’t really hurt them today is they still don’t have a solid left footed free taker.

Mind you, McCurry was hitting them off the wrong side too.