2021 All Ireland Hurling Final - Cork v Limerick - New Money vs Old Money - Barbados Dollar vs Queens shilling

I’d say he might start

instead of an injured Mellerick? on hego?

Yes instead of Mellerick maybe even bit more forward than that in a pure spoiling role. He would be one of the few players we have with the physicality to even compete with the likes of Hayes or Hegarty.

A shite day weather wise as well. That Cork team only fell over the line against Limerick after an Albert Shanagher howler got them out of jail

I can still feel the rain in '99

Was that the Munster semi-final? I have no recollection of that match for some reason, apart from what I’ve read of it. Cork absolutely annihilated Wexford in the semi-final that year. Wexford and Waterford thought they were gearing up for all-Ireland tilts after winning the provincial championships.

That was the day Brian Corcoran scored a point while on his knees . IIRC Wexford took Cork to a replay that year in the semi and got their holes opened in the replay

Maybe Damien and Conor Cahalane could take the wing forward roles on Byrnes and Hayes to hammer the hammer? Just to spoil and stop the half back launchpad for Limerick attacks. A specialist brother marking mission in somewhat unfamiliar territory for one of them. A reprise (cc Ger Canning) of sorts of Joe and Justin McMahon doing specialist jobs on Kieran Donaghy and Tommy Walsh in the 2008 football final, even though Joe wasn’t usually deployed in that area.

Yeah that’s what I was getting at. Throw Damien down onto Hayes and just try to stop him hurling. Easier said than done I know. But having Robbie ó Flynn or someone on him is a bit of a waste of time, Ó Flynn would need to forget his own game to mind him.

Conor Cahalane did v well yday too in a midfield role, I’d say he will start there again. Fitzgibbon might be an impact sub

I can assure you of one thing, Cahalane is not at the level required physically or hurling wise for Hayes. Not sure about Conor Cahalane either, I would fancy Byrnes to eat him without salt if truth be told.

I’d say Fitzgibbons pace will earn him his starting place again. Granted wasn’t great yesterday but is the one player who can shift the gears when needed

Sure none of the cork forwards are. That’s the point

He used to have gears anyway. Not so sure about the pace this season.

It is the pace which will hurt us, not physicality. I sat watching the first game and Limerick kept stepping off in the game they were so fearful of it. This game is way closer than the bookies or the media suggest. Cork have a brilliant chance in this game.

Fyp my oul epal

We have plenty pace. We can afford, need, to carry one player in the forwards to do a Timmy Mccarthy type role

This is it. It’s all well in good planting ball on that Limerick half back line, they eat and drink it all day. Work it up and run at them , you’ll create the space inside for your runners.

The Rebel Treble.

Neither Cahalane are good enough to make an impact on Hayes or Byrnes. It is the pace that gives Cork the chance here. We hold the ball better than most teams so ye won’t get as much ball. I think we will target Coleman, we are likely to push up to stop any short puck out and make ye go long.

Limerick by whatever they like