2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Never realised that Clarecastle had a football team? Do they still have one and what level would Dalo have played at?

Theyā€™re Jnr A now, but Iā€™d have played senior against them about 20-odd years ago. Iā€™d say they won the intermediate by accident that time though. A few of their better footballers transferred into Eire Og after they went back down.
They were in a minor B & C football final only a couple of years ago so theyā€™ll have to get the pen-knives out again

believe that the sport of Gaelic football at inter-county level is more entertaining.

Stunned to see something like that written by a no mark in the Belfast telegraph

I actually thought Clarecastle didnt bother at all ever with football!

Intermediate champs in 84, 93 & 98, Jnr A winners in '12 would be the recent roll of honour. A senior all the way back in 1908 (although they contributed to a scatter of Ennis Dalcassians wins in that era). Twelve senior hurling titles by contrast, but none since 05.

Similar examples recently in Tipp whereby Drom & Kiladangan won intermediates almost by accident after exiting the hurling early.

Often defeating proper footballing clubs who would hand put up an effort at senior the following year, Kiladangan & Drom just gave walkovers.

Gas game, football.

Classic misinterpretation of the phrase hurling snob by dalo. Growing up in a terraced house has literally nothing to do with it.

Absolutely tip top reading

Probably South Tipperary clubs who have a large dependency on lads who have soccer as their first choice of hobby and drinking Bulmers at the weekend as their second.

People wonder why Tipp Town, Clonmel, Carrick on Suir, Cahir etc donā€™t produce hurlers and are slipping at football; itā€™s because Junior soccer is the main show in town in South Tipperary

John Delaney finished Irish soccer and Tipp hurling. What a legacy

@peddlerscross has been bought off. A lot of clubs in those towns mentioned benefitted from JDā€™s deep pockets

Thatā€™s horseshit anyway.
Clonmel and Tipp town were always big soccer towns, a Thurles club won the TSDL Premier Division this year.

Dela grew the game Nationally, not just in Tipperary.

As an aside, there was a great story told at his father Joeā€™s funeral the other day. Joe used go down to the dogs in Kilkenny every Wednesday night without fail. 10 days out from an All Ireland Final one year, and he was talking to the car parking attendant at the trackā€¦ They were talking hurling and the Car Parking attendant, said that in 55 years following Kilkenny Hurling, heā€™d never got a ticket to an All Ireland Final. Joe tells him, Iā€™ll meet you back here at the same time next week and I promise Iā€™ll have a ticket for you. Joe was true to his word, and in return had a Car Parking spot kept for him at the track for the rest of his days.

We used to be a proper country.

He was a cunt, and youā€™re a bigger eejit of a cunt for perpetuating this bolloxology.

Ffs you couldnā€™t give All Ireland hurling final tickets away in Kilkenny some years

No real fan is ever left without a ticket

Yer man mustnā€™t ever have been part of a club if he couldnā€™t get tickets for an All-Ireland. I find that story incredulous.

That car parking attendant played him like a fiddle.