2023 Club Championships

I’m sorry ye lost @Midshipman_Asha
Well I’m not, but I’m sorry it was ye
Missed the game as I was travelling.
Does anyone know if there’s a highlights package or can it be watched anywhere?

This guy fucks

Selectors shouldn’t be heard, ever

I presume he is related to the legendary KK goalkeeper who wouldn’t be renowned as the most diplomatic sort?

Perhaps but counsel should be kept in such circumstances.

You’re right, I’d imagine glen will be in a few more.

Assume it will be on theTG4 player. And they have a highlights package tomorrow night at 8.

Perfect thanks.
I’m not sure I can access the player. Likely geo locked

I have a work around for TG4 player live.

If you could pm that’d be great.

What both games showed once again is GAA is played at its best when there are mistakes, turnovers and consternation.

Dublin footballers and Limerick hurlers have taken that away from the inter county game which has now replicated in much of club football also. Boring, mechanical, monitous, soulless, systematic tripe is what it is.

The GAA needs to look at both those games and continue to encourage more contests for the ball. Regulation of the steps in both codes would be a start, stopping throwing in hurling and back court football would make the games even better.

Can’t remember a better display than Conor Glass in quiet a while. David Moran v Kilmacud might be the closest I’ve seen but it didn’t have the Hollywood finish Glass got.

https://twitter.com/smallerfishgaa/status/1749072279336550658?s=46&t=YOfhVM10W0bcyIiYSLI3Wg

Which is it Nigel

https://twitter.com/analysisgaa/status/1749099569563017368?s=46&t=YOfhVM10W0bcyIiYSLI3Wg

Once you have a man who knows his limitations you can get a whole lot out of him

Kilkenny lads never go great in the rain.

https://twitter.com/CrypticCra/status/1749073283188658481?t=lyQCZGIpcD-mxnvcWSG5LA&s=19

A Hall of Fame day at HQ.

The hurling was as compelling a game as you could ask for. It was a level below Ballyhale v Ballygunner in terms of quality and lacked a TJ Reid/Eoin Cody,/Dessie Hutchinson to really get you on the edge of your seat but was a worthy final in so many ways for drama.

OLG just didnt have enough up front. They have brilliant backs and were prepared brilliantly but you don’t win All Ireland’s without really elite forwards. The longer it went on the harder they found it to get any real traction up there. Having said that they should have had a goal and with a bit more composure would have got at least a draw at the end.

Thomas’s arent the most endearing but you do what you have to i suppose to win these games. They probably have it in their heads that the reason they’ve come up short to Ballyea, Ballyhale x 2, Borrisileigh and Dunloy was because of some softness and this year they were going to bring an edge. Some of their off the ball stuff is nasty enough but ultimately they have now timbered Ballygunner and OLG out of it and they’ve the cup which is all that matters. Security nearly had to intervene in the Premium when a few red neck Galwegians nearly lashed out after the red card (which i thought was slightly harsh on Regan) but order restored and everyone parted on good terms i think. The OLG supporters were thoroughly alright sorts i found. Good hurling people.

The score to win it was one of the best ever. Maybe the wind played a part but the way he struck it and how it fizzed over was sensational. Skills pay the bills and Thomas’s have 6 or 7 with ridiculous wrist quality.

The football was an incredible game. There were signs early days that Glen were all over the shop (McFauls loose handpass for a sideline and Dougie trying some sort of outside of the boot Hollywood pass that backfired spectacularly and also went out for a sideline). Mentally they appeared to already be on the beach somewhere. I wouldn’t say i underestimated Brigids but they were definitely better than i thought. Ben O’Carroll is unreal. His backdoor cut for the goal was elite level stuff. Nolan and Cunnane midfield were giving as good as they got. They were fully entitled to lead by as much as they were coming down the stretch and had their foot on the throat a man up and 4 up.

But but but…

Hercules my word what a man. Himself and to a lesser extent Ethan Doherty and Michael Warnock took the game by the scruff of the neck. When all around them were losing their heads, they kept theirs. Warnock’s point to cut the gap from 4 to 3 effectively kept the game alive. Only Hercules would have had the balls to go for goal from where he was. He followed it up leaping 6 feet in the air on the next kick out. A winner.

Pity for Brigids as they literally couldn’t have done much more. They should have more goes at it. While the better team lost on the day, the right team won. The best club team in the land over the last few years now have their All Ireland.

Overall I’d rate it a 9.5/10 day on the @peddlerscross richter scale.

You were one of the first on the forum to note the prospects of Watty Graham’s, fair play mate. You called it.

Delighted to see them win it today after last year’s debacle, despite the fact I was also sickened for St Brigid’s. It would have been some fairytale story. They seem like a great club also.

Two great clubs in the final. Two clubs who do shit the right way. Thankfully two clubs that wouldn’t fall into such a category got sent home at the semi final stage. A great year in club football.

Glen were effectively playing with a sixteenth man- game should be replayed

He was speaking to forum favourite Darren after on radio 1 and admitted he was haunted by the missed goal chance last year. He had it in his head if he got one this time he wouldn’t spare it. And by god he didn’t. He also said he pushed up on the keeper for that free kick, which ensured the fella went up the line, with Tallon forcing the turnover. The keeper back pedalled leaving him free. After that it was a case of unleashing the hammer.

The leap after for that kick out was the stuff of legend.