2023 Failed Rugby World Cup Bid & does anyone remember the Interpros

Scotland aren’t a Home Nation?

Thats surely agreed upon a long time ago. Lads here have happily jumped on one or the other, or in most cases, both.

not as bad as the GGA fans though mate

Mayo get a couple of hundred for league games yet cry foul when they only get 40,000 tickets for an All Oirleand final

You are correct that GAA has a huge bandwagon element too . To be fair Mayo would get 8,000 approx for a league game . This current discussion is soccer v rugby. You are in whattaboutery territory .

My head hurts with all this shite.

It looks like World Rugby will allow Ireland host this thing.

Clearly they haven’t a notion, so the best thing to avoid embarrassment is to summarise the key points of this thread and forward them on to

WORLD RUGBY

World Rugby House,
8-10 Pembroke Street Lower,
Dublin 2, Ireland

Tel: 00 353 1 240 9200
Fax: 00 353 1 240 9201
Email: info@worldrugby.org

Wills & Kate sitting on a concrete slab in Castlebar. The shame.

80 more like

That is Shamrock Rovers .

It isn’t their fault but when you are using it as an example of how there was more interest in last year’s world cup than Euro 96 your argument is flawed. Have you adjusted the ticket prices between 96 and 2015 for inflation btw?

PM is against this.

They sold full size bottles of wine at RWC I attended last year at Twickenham. I was up out of seat in first half ten or twelve times to let lads out for a piss or more booze.

Let’s not pretend that rugby is not just a great day out on the lash for majority of people. Nothing wrong with that but it should be noted.

If they sell that sort of booze at games in Ireland it could be fun times for alll

Irish people can’t control themselves when it comes to drink. You get a far better class of person at a England Rugby match

This is the third time this is being posted, can you please read.

It’s merely a comprison of the last two major field sport events in the UK pal.

Fuck off cunt.

I might but you will still have that horrendous chip on that shoulder . Life really is too short kiddo.

I’d say the screaming Mary brigade will have changed the New Zealanders mind about supporting our bid.

I think playing the match in chicago and giving the AB that big payday more than compensates for this earache. I’d say that vote is well secured as a result

GAA chief recovering in hospital after collapsing during fit of laughing

By Rinty McBandwagon, rugbygimp.com, November 21st, 2016

GAA Director General Paraic Duffy is this morning recovering in hospital after dramatically collapsing during a fit of laughing. The Ard-Stiurthoir is said to have “keeled over” during a committee meeting held to discuss Ireland’s bid to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

A committee source who was present at the meeting said “we were discussing the Rugby World Cup bid and how it would affect the GAA, given that eight of our stadiums are included in the bid. As the delegate from Mayo was speaking about possibly having to find alternative venues to Castlebar for club championship matches in 2023, Paraic suddenly burst into an uncontrollable fit of laughter. The meeting came to a standstill.”

“He blurted out “they’re goin’ to pay, the rugby eejits, they’re goin’ to pay for our stadiums, they’re goin’ to pay for everything” as he laughed uncontrollably, and then took out a wad of cash and threw it up in the air".

Duffy then apparently shouted “we’re fuckin’ rich, lads, we’re fuckin’ loaded, I’m tellin’ ya! The fuckin’ stupid West Brits have more money than sense! We’re goin’ to take them for every last fuckin’ penny they’re worth!”

The source also described how Duffy then took to the centre of the floor, dancing and shouting "we’re rich! Loads and loads of money!” amidst more bouts of copious, uncontrolled laughter, before collapsing in a heap and passing out.

An ambulance was called and Mr. Duffy was taken to the nearby Mater Hospital where he was kept in overnight for observation. He is expected to be released today.

While it is thought the incident was a minor one and poses no risk to Mr. Duffy’s medium or long term health, he has been told to “calm down and take it easy” by doctors.

The Ireland Rugby World Cup 2023 Official Bid Committee this morning released a statement wishing Mr. Duffy well. “We are sorry to hear of Paraic Duffy’s health episode, and wish him a full and speedy recovery. We look forward to working closely with him again in the very near future as the bid progresses”, said the statement.

Nobody asked for a picture of @anon7035031’s driveway, mate.

http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/roundup/articles/2016/11/16/4130113-why-is-navan-left-out-of-world-cup-bid-/