2024 Nations League B - Gameweek 1 - Ireland v England & Greece

Heimar seems stern enough from what I’ve seen

What exactly could he do in these two games? He dropped Doherty as well.

If he brought in young lads and it went wrong fellas would be calling for Brady and Doherty to come back in.

Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Can we focus on blaming Spock for the current situation rather than blaming the players (who are also shit, TBF).

Heimar needs to drop any players over 30. I predict Heimar won’t make end of nations league.

remember when the footix chased O’Neil away and wernt happy with the style of football when we drew away with Germany & then defeated then at home

This isn’t football manager :smiley::smiley:

Heimar asking lads their date of births before picking the team

Bellamy has turned around Wales in 2 games. You’re beloved O Shea had been a disaster with Ireland.

O Neill is an Uncle Tom and a quisling. Well rid.

No I think they turned on him because he was hammered 5-1 by Denmark and then had a terrible nations league campaign iirc.

You can’t turn a team around in two games.

Look at Wales under Bellamy and Wales under Page. No comparison. Ireland worse now than we were a year ago.

Neville can’t even remember matches that he played in himself and his statement that Man United possess a better midfield than Liverpool was cruelly exposed last Sunday week. I like him as a pundit but he’s not great on the details or predictions. As Cheasty alluded to Graham Potter and Eddie Howe are the best examples of this kind of new age intellectual manager in England but neither of them have fully convinced at the highest level just yet.

A huge issue for us is our dearth of midfield quality. Lads like Alan Browne, Josh Cullen and Jason Molumphy will never amount to more than reasonable championship players. Smallbone is decent but not a conventional CM. Joe Hodge is showing a bit of potential with the U21’s but is a League One player at the age of near 22. Jason Knight is probably our most promising midfielder but hasn’t really kicked on. His ability to play right-back too could be a boon. After that there appears to be very limited options in midfield. It’s what makes the loss of Rice and Grealish so galling as we’d be a vastly superior team with just those two players working in tandem. Outside of that our options amount to Bosun Lawal flourishing or @neilld idea of converting Omobamidele or Collins to midfield. Maybe our inherent fear of losing possesion and panic on the ball is the root cause of it.

Christ it would make you yearn for the days of the Keith Andrews/Glenn Whelan midfield axis which was widely ridiculed at the time. It feels like we’ve been locked in this vortex of negative results for an eternity but really it’s onset only came to fruition in early 2020 once Stephen Kenny properly assumed control (bar that dog rough 2018).

You read an awful lot into one of incidents.

Man United rinsed Liverpools three times last season.

Klopp was resorted to hoop ball for the majority of his time in Liverpool and by passed midfield altogether.

We won’t turn this into a Footix debate but Man United goal was bombarded with shots in the two league draws. On another day they’d have shipped a shellacking. Neville’s prediction that Liverpool would finish 6th this season already looks about as accurate as his prediction in January 2023 that Man United were going to finish above Arsenal and his claim in 2019 that Salah would leave Liverpool soon and Man United would win the league before them. He’s not a student of the game but grand for soundbites to garner views.

You seem to constantly conflate making predictions and understanding a game.

There’s fellas who on here who have a deep understanding of a sport but couldn’t predict a result if you paid them.

They are two totally different things.

If you understand the game then you can make a balanced prediction. Neville’s involvement with Roy Hodgson for England’s disastrous Euro 2016 campaign and his tenure with Valencia wouldn’t give much grounds for optimism for his managerial credentials.

That’s simply not true.

They also bizarrely blamed him for the Grealish Rice situation when it was clear it was all Delaney

Is there a trophy for that?

https://x.com/offtheball/status/1833875648361705798

FOTF Gav Cooney claiming that lads were banging on the press window demanding that Stephen Kenny be rewarded with a new contract after beating Luxembourg 3-0😂 You couldn’t make it up.