Bertie will have his Taoiseach’s pension of about €175k topped off with his TD’s pension of about €100k and a Ministerial stipend of maybe €50k so somewhere in the order of €325k or thereabouts.
Hopefully nothing upsets d’apple tart.
Bertie will have his Taoiseach’s pension of about €175k topped off with his TD’s pension of about €100k and a Ministerial stipend of maybe €50k so somewhere in the order of €325k or thereabouts.
Hopefully nothing upsets d’apple tart.
You’d marvel at the neck and ego of Bertie putting himself forward for this. He got rigjtly battered and shamed at the end of his political career and cut a fairly pathetic, forlorn figure shuffling around Drumcondra in the ensuing years.
In recent times as public opinion softened a little he has recaptured some of his old bluster . However presidential election campaigns are notoriously nasty affairs and all his sordid past will be raked up and pored over again. Probably some new scandals will be uncovered too. Why in the name of jaysis would he be bothered putting himself through it all again?
We all partied.
Bertie was a handy scapegoat for the all the chancers who thought that buying multiple properties in Leitrim was a one way bet.
People have matured a bit since then and realise that finances are a bit more complex.
But how much has he in the bank or under the mattress, or wherever?
The Galway tents are circling
You appear to have forgotten the prophetic observations of the late Mr.Haughey regarding his protege young Bartholomew….
As Mortimer said to Randolph- she meant it as a compliment.
Is there the option to have it paid in cash?
I agree with this. He hasn’t a pups chance I think. He’s not really that unpopular now but he will be when it’s all raked up again.
Anybody glorifyng Bertie Ahern in this day and age is either a piss poor WUM or a fucking idiot.
Negative to that. All banks, Revolut, cards and phones now.
The move to cashless society has been the death knell to the old ways. The simple process of coping with driving testers, planning officials, dept of agriculture scuts, Gardai and all those others who could help you with ‘advice’ have been isolated.
We used to be a proper country etc.,
You’d hardly get 175 +100k?
Surely just a top up of the 100 to 175?
The pension of a Taoiseach in 2020 was €151k so I’m allowing a few % increase to this figure. All pensions are separate issues afaik. You have some on TD, Ministerial and European pensions - Ray MacSharry & Pee Flynn are the principal beneficiaries of this lucrative bonanza.
They have managed to keep pensions behind the FOI defence screen for many years but when Connie is in the Áras it will be public knowledge.
Ego. His self importance based on public perception. Id wager he feels he can scrub the record by finishing with aplomb as president.
What’s he got to lose? He’s already a laughing stock. Well outside Dublin he is, the dubs think he’s salt of the earth
Having a new generation learn of his misdeeds that they wouldn’t otherwise
Are you serious
Id wager plenty of early 20s and younger wouldn’t know him if he walked past them.
Tis a far cry from when Ruari Quinn labelled him a cross between David Beckham and Daniel O’Donnell
Id wager plenty of early 20s and younger wouldn’t know him if he walked past them.
I doubt they’ll give a fuck what he did back then if they heard it now either