2026 All Ireland Football Championship

Only the die hards were watching Derry v Meath or whatever was on GAA Plus on Saturday night.

Yesterday’s games were on RTE. Or at least two of them.

Paid for GAA+ and think I’ve gotten value for money. The analysts and commentators are easier to listen to than the RTE stiffs .
Cannot listen to the shite spouting from Marty Morrisey and Ger Canning. Frauds.

Dublin have lost 40k plus fans in the
Space of five years.

Mayos support has plummeted as well.

No it doesn’t, it means people are picking and choosing which games they watch. These same games weren’t free to view before, what’s the between this and sky, zilch.

Sky wasn’t perfect but at least it was on the telly.

No we haven’t. We are just not very good.

Going by that logic Westmeath, Roscommon and Louth support has multiplied. I wonder what could be the reason for that?

So your argument boils down to being too thick to use an app?

There’s a massive difference sky and a streaming service.

Loads of sports went from sky to different streaming services and disappeared.

Wait till Elon buys the rights and lads will crack altogether!

Yeah, a couple hundred euro.

Harry Findlay called it spot on there a few weeks ago.

Anything that requires a username and password and asks your date of birth every time you want to access it alienates a considerable amout of the population. Then you can have pop up blockers and all sorts of other technical issues. Its cruelty on the elderly cc @Bandage

John Mullane has been consistent on this point too.

GAA PLUS could solve a lot of its problems if they became a proper channel on the TV but there seems to be no movement on that whatsoever.

A couple of hundred euro means a lot to people but the reality is most people watched these games because they always watched them because they knew where they were on.

They’ve completely lost the floating voter.

From 03 to 2019 Gaelic football had incredible games and incredible personalities. Very few sports had as good a period.

You can’t really say the same anymore.

It has all the credibility of rugby 7s with hooters and stop clocks and what not.

Americanised rubbish in my eyes.

Roscommon won the Connacht championship a few weeks ago and they’ve somehow managed to be dumped out of the thing and we aren’t even at the quarter final stage.

It’s not right.

You’re bigger eejits lads.

You have no facts to support this at all, you’re talking through your hole really.

Peddlers produced the viewing figures a few posts ago

No he didn’t he made them up.

Nobody is expecting or demanding every game to be free to air.

It’s just the lack of common sense with regards to which games are shown and not shown free to air. RTE showing Tailteann Cup matches, the Joe McDonagh final live - fair enough, the counties involved and a small amount of neutrals would have an interest in these matches.

But then to have huge games in the Munster hurling championship and a huge knock out football game between the last two All-Ireland champions behind a pay wall is bewildering. It would be like BBC showing Burnley v Fulham over United v Liverpool because Burnley and Fulham deserve their time in the limelight. Complete bollocks of course.

It’s nonsensical. The best games - not every game - should be free to air.

Ya the scheduling is simply awful.

The sweet spot for any sport is 2-3 games across a weekend

One Saturday evening and the two traditional time slots.

Now everything overlaps. I don’t know how you can follow it.

In TFK terms that’s one user .

Should be set times for televised matches every weekend during championship season.

Sunday 2pm and 4pm on RTE

Saturday 7pm RTE

GAA Go or whatever it’s called at 3pm and 5pm on Saturday.