A dirty weekend away

Not half quick enough.

Still, some big money being spent on O’Connell st lately, so sooner or later that’ll get straightened out.

Believe it or not…

Ya maybe i was having nostalgic eyes, inremember it being rough and going to pubs etc around there on the way to games, but it still had character and was nothing like it is now. Its like something you would see in a doc about New York in late 7p’s/early 80’s

To answer my own question. Very good craic indeed. Did a grand bit of cycling and walking around the place before a nice dinner and a feed of liquor, very relaxing. One day and night was plenty though, you could maybe stretch it to two but there is fuck all going on out there. I don’t know how people could live there all year round it’s bleak enough in the summer. Not suitable for a couple on their own really I’d say, or for a gang of lads on the piss IMO, though there was a good few there. A few couples would be the best strategy.

Dun Aengus is worth a visit though it’s a nice trek on foot and unsuitable for young kids. As I heard a young one asking her father. Why did they build a fort here? There’s nothing to protect.

good for kids mate?

Depends what you are looking for. There’d be the novelty factor of the boat over, they’d get to cycle around, a couple of very nice beaches etc. Not a lot else. No restaurant other than pubs and Supermacs. Dun Aengus wouldn’t be suitable for small kids, bit of an uphill hike on a very uneven path, to a fort on the side of a cliff with no wall or railing between them and the sea. The cycle around the island is tough enough in parts as well. It’s especially difficult after ten pints.

I’d say worth a visit for a day trip from Galway or West Clare.

Actually I forgot that there is a place to watch seals from on the island as well, at low tide only, we saw none and it could well be a scam concocted by the locals taking turns to put on the seal suit.

I should add as well that the ferry over can be bumpy enough, was very calm when we went over and you’d still feel it in your stomach. Wouldn’t be pretty if you’d a kid who had motion sickness.

You utter shithead. You went to one island only… The Islands as a whole are stunning and home to the last vestiges of our culture.

You live in Cork mate, you sold out your culture to deliver flyers FFS.

For a day trip, or a day and night, if they can cycle, it’s great if the weather holds up.

I have an address in Cork, Limerick, Athenry and Inis Meain… I’m at all four regularly throughout the year.

You’re half Galway so?

So you’re of no fixed abode?

You’re a cunt.

No, the Aran Islands belongs to Clare…

No, I have 4 fixed abodes you thick cunt.

I do try my best, kid.

And Clare is really just a glorified suburb of Limerick, isn’t it @Joe_Player?

Correct

I had to look it up to be sure but the RNLI have assured me that all the Aran islands belong to Co Galway.

They’d fucking tell you that the Aran Islands belong to the Brits the dirty scumbags.