Whoâs the other lad in this case? Conor Sketches?
Yer man Tierney Talks is a better impressionist than any of them. Heâs excellent.
He is in his hole.
I enjoy his impressions. Particularly John Maughan. And I think a lot of the stuff he says is actually funny.
8/10 of his impressions are good. His material is shite though.
Heard him on RTE radio 1 3 or 4 years back and thought he was absolutely terrible. Worse than a funny Friday skit. His Pat Spillane impression is completely askew.
All these lads (and lassies) have their moments. Itâs just that a lot of people online are desperate to immediately do down and destroy anybody who puts their name to any sort of creative work.
Impersonation is down the sewer end of comedic talent along with the forgetting to turn off the immersion or having the pint of milk with the shpuds level of humour.
It is grand when it is part of a regular real life conversation or if a lad talking shite down the pub does it but when someone actively plans it, or if someone is asked to do an impersonation on the spot and god forbid make an act out of it for money or likes on social media it is invariably unfunny.
We seem to have an awful hardon for it here which I think is a symptom of how unfunny we are as a country when we have to be. The funniest people I know and have ever met were nearly always unaware how funny they were and just naturally had a humourous side to them and werenât even trying to make people laugh it is just who they are.
Think of all the times down the years the latest impressionist hack is in the audience on the Late Late or the Tonight Show or worst of all, Up For The Match and they spouting away shite for a few claps from the audience. âAh sure isnât he very funny doesnât he sound like him alrightâ says Grainne to Des who looks like the silage tape is barely keeping in his belly under the suit.
Rory Bremner and Alistair McGowan made careers out of it in the UK
Some of the old gift grub stuff was absolutely brilliant
Callan has his moments as well
Just far too many of them now, nothing original
None of the Irish ones have good writers. Listening to a lad that can make himself sound like Ger Loughnane or Leo Varadkar is all well and good, but if the material isnât good enough you might as well be listening to Ger Loughnane or Leo Varadkar themselves.
Gerry Stembridge made Scrap Saturday because he was a proper writer.
Smacks of the âI like their earlier stuffâ vibe.
Scrap Saturday was very good, I think Rosenstock has been brilliant at times, a bit hit and miss but a savage highlight reel
In fairness, from what I hear of him, Rosenstock is the best of the current lot, but heâs at it a bit too long now. For me heâs worn a bit thin.
His Michael Flatley was good.
The best impressions are the ones like Keith Lemon/Bo Selecta does where itâs really nothing at all like the person
Theyâre called caricatures
Rosenstock was brilliant for years. I havenât seen or heard him in a long time but he was very funny.
His Spillane impression is brilliant âŚdramatised to great effect ⌠same with Ursula Jacob one
Rosenstock went down hill after the Jose and his Technicolour dream coat song.
Callan is an rte lackie.
Conor Moore does the same lads over and over. Heâs the best out of them, Iâll give him that, but get bored of him.
Better material too