A thread to post stories or things that you believe never happened

Nail on the head.

Couldn’t agree less. On ireland as a nation in terms of humour or on impressionists. Irish people are generally fairly humourous and given to having the craic. As a nation we like to laugh.
Impressionists are highly skilled actors. The problem is often shit writing or refusing to give up a character and move on. Rosenstock is a genius bit his output is massive. Doesnt he do sketches every day for todday fm? Nobody could sustain that output. Hes a divil for doing the feath out of his impersonations too. Someone needs to burn his miriam o callaghan dress.

I loved scrap Saturday. I think his impersonations are good, and I always found him pretty funny but I’ve not heard him in years.

For me Apres Match are by far the best of the impressionists. It wasn’t about how accurate the impressions were (most of them were accurate) but just about the general comedy.

Yer man Rosenstock did nothing for me.

Agree there. Cooper in particular was a skilled impressionist but they were just funny as fuck.

I grew up with Scrap Saturday. My mother was mad into politics so it was on the radio every Saturday as a young lad. I fucking loved it. Apres Match the only thing to come close.

The 3 Joe Duffy’s sketch’s were always weird and funny

so good

Classic Après Vote: Ask Apres, The Three Joes - YouTube

This one too

craig doyle will be eliminated

This is the funniest AM in my opinion.

Gary Cooke as Brian Lenihan post crash.

The impression is accurate from the point of view of the shortness of breath but Cooke also plays him as a gombeen bogger politician (Lenihan was from Castleknock) which leads to an all the more funnier outcome.

The Gerry Ryan food fight was comedy gold - dont think it’s on YouTube

That piece is gold!

‘Sure no one could have foreseen….’

The Gerry Ryan and Brian Kerr one?

Again another funny clip with Barry Murphy deciding not to try to imitate Manuela at all but rather do the voice of Frank Stapleton.

No - Gerry Ryan v Gerry Ryan

I can’t leave Risteard Cooper out.

In my opinion, Risteard Cooper is by far the best impressionist in terms of pure mimicry.

He does have the same problem as mentioned above that some of the stuff I’ve seen online from him recently isn’t that funny. The impression itself is perfect but the writing isn’t great.

But peak Apres Match was hilarious. Murphy & Cooke aren’t as good at the actual impressions but they are playing pure caricatures, highly-exaggerated versions. And they had some very funny punchlines.

I always thought that Murphy was a comedian attempting impressions. He did have some good ones though - Vincent Browne for example.