Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

[quote=“Sandymount Red, post: 893687, member: 1074”]I’ve found the perfect gaff for Kev and Billy the talking dog. @Thrawneen can show him around and help him settle in I’m sure…

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=736827[/quote]
Only 6 baths?

[quote=“Sandymount Red, post: 893687, member: 1074”]I’ve found the perfect gaff for Kev and Billy the talking dog. @Thrawneen can show him around and help him settle in I’m sure…

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=736827[/quote]
Can you rent this? It does contain “to rent” in the title of the house.

Was in one of those houses once. Friend of a friend. Houses are grand* but the view is fucking amazing.

*grand meaning you know how much they are worth and you downplay what you then see

My wife used to stay there in the summers years back. Gave her a somewhat skewed view of Dublin real estate.

Lads, I’m renting out the gaff to someone. Not sure who. I’ve a bunch of strays and reprobates coming to see it tomorrow. All advice on prospective tenants and renting it out welcome, particularly from those with no experience of doing it but reckon they’ve got good advice or 3rd/4th hand anecdotes.

when in college myself and lads I was staying with took out a 12 month lease on the place. as usual with boggers, we were fucking off back home at the end of May, and landlord was fine with that, as long as we got the replacements to take up a new 12 month lease. So we advertised it and some asian people in their 20s working in the local eddie rockets took it on. 3 months later and I saw the place on the news, a guard had been stabbed there after a row broke out between some rival chinese gangs or something.

my advice would be not to rent it out to underground Chinese gang members.

We moved into a gaff in Beamount, after being there about a month there was knock on the door one evening, opened the door to find two dectectives and 3 uniformed Gardai at the door with a warrant to search the premises. However I was able to convince them that I wasn’t a Nigerian called Joseph Awolowo* and that complete search of the property wasn’t necessary.The lad had skipped bail for some serious crimes and had lived at the address previously.

• Fictional name

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 918523, member: 1786”]We moved into a gaff in Beamount, after being there about a month there was knock on the door one evening, opened the door to find two dectectives and 3 uniformed Gardai at the door with a warrant to search the premises. However I was able to convince them that I wasn’t a Nigerian called Joseph Awolowo* and that complete search of the property wasn’t necessary.The lad had skipped bail for some serious crimes and had lived at the address previously.

• Fictional name[/QUOTE]

Did they ask to speak to your parents?

Ta for the response lads. I’ve a real sof spot for the chinese gman so I would have been an easy mark for the triads but for your shout.

I’ve heard horror stories of landlords having to constantly fix broken toilets when renting to Indian families because they keep standing on the toilet seat when taking dumps. However, I find Indian people to be extremely friendly and likable so I wouldn’t let that put you off renting to them, mate.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 891953, member: 273”]We’re moving back at the end of the year, Sep time.

Any good places to rent/live these days? Good value etc.

Any general advice on living in Dublin?

Starting to look into it now.

Any help greatly appreciated and if it’s any use I might put a few bob behind the bar at the 51 for a few of ye.[/QUOTE]

what happened kev?..did you move back?..and what about the booze up for the select few you were arranging??..

He got scared at the prospect of @carryharry boxing the head off him.

Back in 4 weeks. Zero plans. Enjoy the friends and family. Go to a few rugby and football games.

See you at the TFK Christmas Party.

I wouldn’t go to it if it was in my living room.

http://www.thelivingroom.ie/

will you try get involved in a club?..

How much of the advice posted here did you take in the end @caoimhaoin?

Can you imagine the bidding war that will happen when the superclubs realise the unrivaled knowledge that is coming to their doorstep? Not to mention the vast network of people he knows.

Home for a big wedding then. Greedy fuck.