AFL 2024

Footscray are through to September after beating GWS by 37 points in Ballarat. They’ll meet Hawthorn there in a blockbuster.

September is slipping away for Carlton. St. Kilda lead by 9 points at three quarter time.

Freo would have to beat Port Adelaide later but Port Adelaide can take things easy as they have second spot wrapped up after GWS losing.

69-67 to St. Kilda. 10 minutes left. The Telstra Dome is at fever pitch.

Motlop! 73-69 Blues. Savage work by makeshift forward Brodie Kemp to set it up.

6:15 left. A draw is no good, it has to be a win.

Total disaster for Carlton. St. Kilda win 76-74 with a goal with 12 seconds left.

Brodie Kemp had a gilt edged chance to clinch the win with two minutes left with a set shot and fluffed it.

Carlton re-live the nightmare of two years ago when they blew finals qualification on the final day.

Freo still have to beat Port Adelaide to put them out, but they will.

Port Adelaide win 67-87. Carlton are saved!

The finals are set.

Qualifying finals:
1 Sydney v 4 GWS
2 Port Adelaide v 3 Geelong

Elimination finals:
5 Brisbane v 8 Carlton
6 Footscray v 7 Hawthorn

The finals teams now endure a harrowing bye week.

For anyone interested. Zach talking future plans. Bilication seems the future

Good yarn here about the time Essendon coaching legend Kevin Sheedy met Liam Gallagher. Nearly as bizarre as Sean Boylan being a lifelong friend of Tony Wilson.

If you wanna box, say you wanna box and we’ll box.

50:30 here

Finals starts tomorrow.

Port Adelaide v Geelong at the Adelaide Oval.

The Port supporters have been on Coach Ken Hinkley’s back for years over their poor finals record and booed him earlier in the season. They finished 2nd on the ladder. He faces the team he played in three Grand Finals for.

Port Adelaide were moving like a train towards the end of the season and in Jason Horne-Francis they have a player who can dominate the finals. They’re without All-Australian defender Dan Houston who has suspended himself out of the entire finals campaign by getting a five match ban for GBHing Adelaide’s Izak Rankine.

Geelong are up to nothing and Port will beat them by 40.

Other finals week 1 predictions:
Bulldogs over Hawthorn by 5
GWS over Sydney by 15
Brisbane over Carlton by 50

Here’s all your footy discussion and bantz needs for the week. Unreal bantz here on the Sunday Footy Show as the panel go to town Angus Deayton style on panellist Kane Cornes after he announced his defection from Channel 9 to Channel 7 for next year.

Footy discussion content can’t be beat. The AFL is a magnificent soap opera. The Christian Petracca wanting out of Melbourne saga has kept the presses hopping during bye week, while Carlton coach Michael Voss recovered from the St. Kilda defeat by making a citizen’s arrest on two young hoodlums who had just overturned a stolen car as he was in getting a take away coffee. Never a dull moment.

Geelong totally dominant early on at the Adelaide Oval. 6-23 the score after 9 minutes.

Geelong fairly racking up the behinds though and first quarter dominance away from home in the finals can quickly evaporate into nothing if you don’t seriously push it home.

Ferocious stuff this, a beautiful mayhem this quarter

Geelong back on top after losing control briefly in that quarter. Lead 56-31 with 5 to the HT

Uh oh, it’s happening again.

Geelong with the last five goals and they lead 63-36 with three minutes left to half time.

Port Adelaide 43 Geelong 63 HT.

Oisin Mullin holding his own, he was tagging Port Adelaide’s star man Jason Horne-Francis for a lot of that.

Shaun Mannagh is some story, he’s 27 and was drafted this year by Geelong for his first AFL action, he’s having a stormer.

Zach Tuohy is a sub for Geelong so hasn’t been involved yet but we might see him later.

Line ups:

We are fucking cooking here lads.

People who must be shitting themselves: Coach Hinkley.

This is almost McIlroy-esque.

It’s Leinster Ladyboys 2005-esque.

44-84.

12:47 left in Q3.

Geelong up by 40 now, who coulda seen any team leading by 40 here at any stage

44-93

Late Wenger era Performance Art from Port Adelaide.

We’ve lost the Power to win
We’ve got the Power to lose
Come on
Port Adelaide depression
We are the Power from Port
We’re shit at this sport
We provide no proper opposition

Great for Geelong to wrap this one up so early. The Adelaideans are gutted.

Zach is on for a lap of honour

112-52. This is a fucking destruction