Afr

he must be having a mid life crisis or somethingā€¦he has lost the plot over thereā€¦only reading/replying to hurling topics over there nowā€¦far too much bullshit and wummersā€¦he might as well up shop and close the place down now as if it keeps going the way its going there wont be 2 long left in itā€¦

Its comical that he banned Jay Sherman for saying ā€˜fcuk offā€™ yet he is going around cursing like mad under his other aliases and calling people bollixes. now I understand his reasoning for not minding having someone there with a load of aliases. I knew he had a couple, Tammany for one, but didnt realise he was that bad. Does he think everyone will just forget he was acting like a tool for the last couple of days by deleting and banning people?

Lad called Unplugged running amuck over there now - just want to copy some of his posts here in case they are deleted

Subway midweek offer

Tammany Bread Rolls Stuffed with Cormacā€™s cheesy comebacks and Fallonā€™s cap tipping chicken wings. Served on a sick bed of AFR Relish with a soft landing (especially for Limerick Noman who suffers with his nerves)

1.99 with a bohel of milk

Disgraceful Scenes on An Fear Rua

Multiple Bannings by Multiple Personality Disorder

Severe controversy surrounds the welfare of Liam Cahill, who likes to be know also as An Fear Rua both on the Web and in the local press where he is regular contributor, but in recent days this report can confirm he is also Cormac, Fallon, Tammany and Tipperhairy.

At one time the original Liam Cahill was from Waterford but now resides in Meath where he is active in local Politics and the GAA. Many attribute this blue shirted horizon to be the source of his disorder.

Angry Fans will no doubt be in disarray with this shocking news. However they are far more worried concerns as to the whereabouts of PowerUser Mr Limerick Noman.

Many suggest he is embedded under the swarm of grammatical errors held in the many archives harvested from Clarehurlers.com.

There is a very tense and anxious day ahead.

welcome Yup, another long timme poster gone from AFR if I remember correctly, how many posts had you

AFR has jumped the Shark.

Pity really I have to say i wont take any pleasure in its demise, it was good while it lasted. But I amongst others warned him that the site was deteriorating sue to the multiple aliases, constant WUMMING. All I ever got was if you dont like it you know where you can go. I wonder was he behind Evo etc?

Has he made any effort to explain the mutliple aliases etc, how do ye know he was tamanny?

Cheers Dan, been posting on and off for a good few years, was getting close to 900 posts.
He really seems to have alienated the regular posters in favour of multi-accounting wums.

Edit: Agree with you totally Dan. He hasnā€™t made any attempt to explain the multiple aliases, he just bans anybody who mentions them!
Fitzy should be raging now that all this has come out considering the abuse that Fallon gave him.

Geno! Geno! Geno! Geno! Geno! ā€¦

Back in ā€˜68 in a sweaty club
Oh, Geno
Before Jimmyā€™s Machine and The Rocksteady Rub
Oh-oh-oh Geno-o
On a night when flowers didnā€™t suit my shoes
After a week of flunkinā€™ and bunkinā€™ school
The lowest head in the crowd that night
Just practicinā€™ steps and keepinā€™ outta the fights

Academic inspiration, you gave me none
But you were Michael the lover
The fighter that won
But now just look at me
Iā€™m looking down at you
No, Im not bein flash
Its what Im built to do

That man took the stage, his towel was swinginā€™ high
Oh Geno
This man was my bombers, my Dexyā€™s, my high
Oh-oh-oh Geno-o
The crowd they all hailed you, and chanted your name
But they never knew like we knew
Me and you were the same
And now youā€™re all over, your song is so tame, brrrrr
You fed me, you bred me, Iā€™ll remember your name

Academic inspiration, you gave me none
You were Michael the lover
The fighter that won
But now just look at me
Iā€™m looking down at you
No, Im not bein flash
Its what Im built to do

Oh Geno, Woh-oh-oh Geno-o

I think he could possibly get away without explaining the aliases if he stopped using them now and people might assume it was just harmles fun that he lost control of. But he doesnā€™t show any signs of learning his lesson now.

As was said, unplugged is running amok over there. The truth hurts. Expect a few more defectors ladsā€¦

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Lad called Unplugged running amuck over there now - just want to copy some of his posts here in case they are deleted

Itā€™s all over the place at the moment. Unplugged is putting some effort into itā€™s demise. Is the end nigh???

Just went over there now for a look. Itā€™s all a bit of a mess. Guys replying to Unplugged aswell telling him to leave it out. Hardly helping matters.

how have you avoided this kind of issue rocko, would you ban obvious wummers etc
It could be inevitable that he wummers will follow the AFR exiles over here?

Unplugged is a funny fecker. Probably going a bit far but a clever bucko nonetheless. Almost Mairegangaireesque.

Sounds like youā€™re a multi-username user from AFR who canā€™t figure out how to recreate the experience over here. :slight_smile:

Seriously though thereā€™s loads of checks you can do but the main one I suppose is you can check IP addresses to see if thereā€™s any duplication. You can have the odd duplication alright because people can work together but just keep an eye on those ones.

People can hide IP addresses but if they do then we donā€™t approve registration.

Not sure about wummers. We havenā€™t had too much of that. Guess just evolve as we need to. Whole point of this site though is more of a consensus without wanting to be too precious about it. Thatā€™s why the articles section is for anyone to write in, not just who we want to write there etc. If people want the site to move a certain way then within reason thatā€™s how it will go. Thereā€™s a difference between some lad taking the piss and posting stuff all the time thatā€™s consistent (whether he agrees with that or not in real life) against a guy with 3 user accounts setting up threads just to disagree with himself. Youā€™ll get arseholes everywhere.

Why was that punter myboybloo banned? I just saw his post on the Unregistered section

Iā€™m going in to call for a boycott until it gets itself sorted out.

You know yourself boys and girls, we all visit different sites when we can and get what you can out of each. I used to love AFR, but gone to the dogs. If you have a valid username over there, sign up.

ā€œand itā€™s out for a 65. The umpire is walking over slowly, heā€™s walking over slowly, he must be on a FS schemeā€
Whereā€™s this from Locke?

[quote=ā€œPikemanā€]ā€œand itā€™s out for a 65. The umpire is walking over slowly, heā€™s walking over slowly, he must be on a FS schemeā€
Whereā€™s this from Locke?[/quote]

Ligindary Kk commentator Barrie Henreques on Radio KK a few years back. U21 Leinster semi in Nowlan Park, KK v Laois. The auld boy is a good friend of his and was at the match with him and the head of Radio KK sport was sitting behind them. The ball went out for a 65 close to the sideline and the big fat umpire ambles over to throw the hand up to mark the spot. Took him ages to get there, putting dead air onto the Radio. Barrie doesnā€™t do dead air so he said the Fs scheme quote. The auld boy cracked up and the head of sport was just shaking his head in his hands. Classic.

The old signiture ā€œgo shit in your hatā€ is from the Sopranoā€™s, Junior said it onceā€¦

Thatā€™s the thing about here so far. Users have had plenty of debates without resorting to childish insults and multiple usernames (thatā€™s what Talking Balls is for!) and even when somebody is blatantly and embarrassingly wrong, like Rocko on the Euro 2008 thread, the rest of us havenā€™t been nasty or vindictive. Instead weā€™ve just had a debate about it. I used to find AFR enjoyable but a few things spoiled it for me:

• Around this time last year when he linked up with The Examiner for the ā€˜Angry Fansā€™ section, he seemed to get turned by the prospect of receiving further corporate sponsorship and interest and started to dictate rather than facilitate and moderate. This manifested itself in deleting threads that he personally didnā€™t find palatable despite many others enjoying them and contributing to them but, more disappointingly, it also resulted in him banning users randomly and unfairly. It becomes a problem if a forum admin starts banning people for expressing a different opinion and thatā€™s when he possibly should have considered reverting to a personal blog rather than a forum if he was insistent on silencing the opinions of anyone who didnā€™t post in a manner consistent with his own hopes of achieving more money from advertising and other link-ups.

• not taking any action to prevent posters setting up multiple usernames with the sole purpose of disrupting the site. This baffled me completely until I realised he had a range of aliases himself to attack others and praise himself, e.g. ā€˜Itā€™s AFRā€™s site and heā€™s doing a damn fine job and if he deems someone worthy of a banning then thatā€™s good enough for me.ā€™ Those type of posts are particularly pathetic.

[quote=ā€œLockeā€]Iā€™m going in to call for a boycott until it gets itself sorted out.

You know yourself boys and girls, we all visit different sites when we can and get what you can out of each. I used to love AFR, but gone to the dogs. If you have a valid username over there, sign up.[/quote]Some craic all the same