AI SHC Semi-Final Killkenny v Tipperary

:lol::lol::lol:

Aboy The Dunph

on the basis that eoin mcgrath gets people sent off all the time i suppose. What a stupid theory. Firstly tommy walsh would be responsible for his own sending off and secondly walsh would have to absolutely smash someone before he would be sent off.
Maybe eoin mcgrath is that annoying but still

Yeah I know utterly stupid but then again Davy is hopelessly inept when it comes to tactics. Observers of that game will recall Eoin going straight for Tommy and wrestling him to the ground. The referee cautioned both and Tommy basically laughed his hole off at the good of it for the rest of the game.

to be fair Paul Murphy gave a awful display of chest beating when he won a free early on.

Really? Fuck, you must lead a very boring life Fran.

Might give it a try when the match appears on youtube if I’m bored enough some night, Easy enough to do.

no he bloody doesnt. He saves the ball back into the danger zone most of the time

True enough. That famous treble save a few years back would never have happened if like most proper keepers he batted the ball away from the forwards.

He does, he doesn’t always succeed but he’s always trying to send it somewhere safe. Watch Fogarty’s goal again, he clearly tries to bat the ball and just misses it completely.

Fair point, c’mon lads have a few shots - I’d love an All-Star this year!

I’d say the sun just got in his eyes

[quote=“Lazarus, post: 703377”]
I’d say the sun just got in his eyes[/quote]

Word is yer banned off pView.
For spamming and crimes against the sad and beaten masses. :slight_smile:

Lar Corbett: It will take a long time to get over this

By Lar Corbett - Inside View
Monday August 20 2012

LEAVING Croke Park yesterday, we were as low as we’ve ever been. It’s not pleasant leaving the place like that, not sure what lies ahead for the next five hours, next five days, the next week.

Boarding the team coach for home, you don’t know when you’ll be together again. It was a sad, sad day but I’ve no regrets. I’m 31 years of age and life’s not about regrets. It’s for living.

If the pundits are saying I didn’t concentrate on hurling yesterday, well, I can only recount my experience of what happened out there. Going on what happened last year and again yesterday, Kilkenny have taken things to a different level. They’re not solely interested in hurling either. I couldn’t express myself, I wasn’t let do that.

The referee was coming down, telling us to step the pulling and dragging, warning us when it was too late. In that corner, Tommy Walsh was on a yellow, I was too, and Jackie Tyrrell. There was no real hurling done.

Those are the facts of it. Twelve months ago, Jackie took me out of the game, fairly or unfairly, depending on your viewpoint. Yesterday, I was detailed to mark Tommy Walsh but Jackie came out again, because his job was to stop me.

sacrificed

Last year, myself and Jackie Tyrrell were sacrificed but this time my job was to follow Tommy Walsh. And when Jackie came out again, that left space for other Tipperary forwards, with one player free at all times.

And in the first half, it was working. The goal came off myself challenging David Herity and we could have been in for another. We were forcing the turnovers and at half-time, we sat down and believed that it was working.

The questions were put to us last year when Jackie marked me – this time we were asking questions back. But in the second half it didn’t work. They got in for goals and it was easy to say our system was wrong.

I was late out for the second half and that was my own fault. I was changing the boots at half-time, caught for 20 seconds, caught with time. But now, after a beating like this, you need people to back you more than ever. We need the public to be with us now, we need support.

We see it coming in on Twitter, Facebook, social media. It’s fantastic when it’s working with us but we know we didn’t do ourselves justice yesterday. We’re still proud Tipp people and proud of where we’re from though. It will take us a long time to get over this but I want to thank Declan, Tommy, Glossy and the back-room team.

There was no stone left unturned. Everybody’s in this together and that’s where my heart lies. I’m just another cog in the wheel and my game was all about creating space for others yesterday. I tried my best to do it but Kilkenny’s job was to take me out of the game in 2011 and 2012. I don’t mind what people say now, if it’s on TV or social media. People are entitled to their opinions. That’s sport.

I take the good times when they come and I have to deal with the bad times too. There was recognition in 2010 and for part of last year too. But all I want is for Tipperary to do well.

It’s not about me – we travelled to Dublin yesterday as a team and a panel and we have to take the criticism together. At half-time, we seemed to be in a great position, coming from five points down to be a point up.

People might say that my plans were wrong but Tommy and Jackie didn’t puck much ball in the first half. The plan was working. People might say that we worried too much about the opposition but I don’t buy into that either. If that’s the case, look at how the Kilkenny forwards lined out.

Henry Shefflin didn’t stay on Paudie Maher. The bottom line is that you have to play to your strengths and we put in place a system that we believed could get us the result yesterday. It worked in the first half but I can’t explain what happened after half-time. Just one of those days I guess.

• Lar Corbett - Inside View

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

It worked in the first half…
:slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

They went in a point ahead at half time. The most lucky fucking lead of all time.

Any chance Lar might be a little ‘touched’. (perhaps more than a little)

Christ i’d know Lar personally and Jaysus I hope for his sake he has a prick of a ghost writer. He’s a nice fella , decent like - wont trouble mensaa for membership anytime soon but a salt of the earth type of guy.
Yesterday and these type of ridiculous articles makes me thinks he has just become a PR machine for various interests(a waning one) - is there 2 for 1 tonight in coppingers?

more gems from lar

"As regards who was right and who was wrong, I suppose when you win you have to say that maybe their system was a bit better than ours. That was a system Kilkenny went with, and you just have to say that maybe their system was a bit better than ours.

"It’s a tactic that they use. It’s up to us to counteract it and what have we to say about it? What we had to say about it brought us a long way in the first half. We believed in the system and it was working for us.

"I suppose you had Tommy (Walsh) on a yellow card. By the time we finished up Jackie (Tyrrell) was on a yellow and I was on a yellow. Like, that suited us.

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=175661

Jaysus wept…The brain they are sharing over on PV must have imploded on itself by now - no wonder ye’re all gettin banned.
It’s a John Conner/Terminator type situation over there I’d say. Babs will be sent back in time to prevent the invention of helmets!!!

in fairness theyre taking it quite well, just banning lads. tis funny considering the wumming mulcair did with his richie no medals hogan thread. id say theres a lad in st molings cave absolutely seething he threw his pc out all those years ago

Dye runs in blue and gold
[font=Tahoma][size=3]
By Enda McEvoy
[/size][/font]
[font=Tahoma][size=3]
Tuesday, August 21, 2012[/size][/font]
[font=Tahoma][size=3]
One word to sum up Sunday’s events in Croke Park?[/size][/font]
[font=Tahoma][size=3]
Sad. Sad on so many levels.

Sad that a team that raised attacking play to such an intoxicating, imaginative new high in the 2010 All-Ireland final were reduced to such myopic, boneheaded vapidity.

Sad that the most electric forward in the game was sent out not to terrorise but to defend.

Sad that the same forward was seen to celebrate when his dance partner of choice was yellow-carded.

And sad, though naturally this is their sadness only, that what might have been Tipperary’s first golden era in half a century has turned to ashes and gall. Those last two Munster titles are now empty baubles.

Four-in-a-rows, eh? Tricky things. Not quite as easy to achieve as the more excitable souls in the homes of Tipperary imagined following the 2010 triumph.

Look at some of the rocks on whom the new empire was to be built. Brendan Maher, a shadow on Sunday of the player who came within an ace of the Hurler of the Year award two seasons ago.

Noel McGrath, for all his gifts, again unable to take possession of a big match. Even two in a rows aren’t as straightforward as they may have appeared.

In retrospect the last two league meetings of the counties, both of which were won by Kilkenny, mattered.

Particularly last February’s encounter at Nowlan Park when the visitors, albeit understrength, succumbed without a whimper. What we do in the spring does echo in August and September.

On an afternoon that raised an interesting new existential question — is a forward really a forward if he spends the game trying to mark a defender? — it wasn’t so much that Tipp lost as how they lost. It wasn’t that they failed to put enough scores on the board as that one of their attacking objectives entailed not putting scores on the board. The Italians at their most catenaccio-obsessed, and Jim McGuinness, would have been awestruck.

At the risk of coming over all Eamon Dunphy on it, this was moral cowardice writ large: a strong accusation to make of people in an amateur game, yet true nonetheless. If Declan Ryan wanted to reduce Tommy Walsh to onlooker status, all he had to do was tell his defenders to keep lamping the ball down the opposite wing.

And what was with the wheeze of putting Bonner Maher – a one-trick pony, perhaps, but what a trick and what a selfless worker – at full-forward?

Down the generations they made a virtue of being lean and hungry, stern and uncompromising, manly and astringent, hip to hip and shoulder to shoulder, gothic rather than baroque. On Sunday they were none of those things. Tipp for the hurlers, Kilkenny for the men. John Doyle must have been gyrating in his grave.

What’s more, there was a meanness of spirit about them that was as surprising as it was misplaced. Had they not seen what happened to Waterford’s attempts to rile the beast in 2008? We said here on Saturday that Kilkenny are not in the habit of bringing knives to gunfights; on Sunday they went the whole hog and brought a bazooka. Cue collapse of blue and gold party.

As an aside, The Sunday Game production team could do worse than treat themselves to a look in the mirror after the manner in which Pádraic Maher’s antics were airbrushed out of the day’s history.

Had Tommy Walsh done what Maher did, the panel would have been demanding his summary execution and/or transportation to Van Diemen’s Land.

One has to feel sorry for Lar Corbett. Did he at any stage think, “This is ridiculous, it’s not helping us score, it’s making me look stupid so I’m going to go inside and try and score a goal”?[/size][/font]