Pints, brunches, weather forecast, tickets
Serious lack of focus here by the Limerick contingent which may well cost you on Sunday
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 995150, member: 2272”]Pints, brunches, weather forecast, tickets
Serious lack of focus here by the Limerick contingent which may well cost you on Sunday[/QUOTE]
Last year we got too caught up in the match itself and battling the bodhran baters. This year we are going to keep the online focus away from the game itself and onto more trivial matters related to the weekend.
[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 995130, member: 258”]I haven’t seen anything other than shite on Tickets.ie and Ticketmaster for weeks.
And on top of that I’m hearing from well placed members of the county board that the tickets that Kilkenny got were shite too.
Which begs the question:
Where the fuck are the good tickets?[/QUOTE]
Croker head office
What will the attendance be? 40k max I’d say?
Means fuck all until I hear it in Dr. Jean Byrne’s dulcet tones.
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 995150, member: 2272”]Pints, brunches, weather forecast, tickets
Serious lack of focus here by the Limerick contingent which may well cost you on Sunday[/QUOTE]
what we need is KK fans to do a list…
2007 reasons why KK will beat Limerick, that should spice it up.
[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 995159, member: 2695”]what we need is KK fans to do a list…
2007 reasons why KK will beat Limerick, that should spice it up.[/QUOTE]
I thought 2007 has been wiped from the memories of Limerick folk.
[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 994992, member: 1742”]Kilkenny are the fourth best team of those remaining in the championship. They beat a poor Offaly side, showed serious weakness against Galway and beat a very poor Dublin team on the path to the semi final. Similar to Wexford, Kilkenny will come undone against the first good team that they encounter.
Rightly, there is great confidence that Limerick will win against Kilkenny.
It does seem like an average enough Kilkenny team by their standards. Problem for Limerick is Kilkenny over the years have won plenty of All Ireland’s with average enough teams.
Having said that, if Limerick play any way to form and deal with the Croke Park factor it should be enough to win. That’s a big if though.
Mullane view on KK
Kilkenny
In coming up with a key man for each semi-finalist, I haven’t gone for your stereotypical player, like the high-scoring forward. Instead, I’ve gone for the unsung hero – the player who, if he performs, could make the difference between winning and losing.
In Kilkenny’s case, it’s Brian Hogan. There were question marks hanging over Hogan last year, related to his age, ability to hold the centre and the suspicion that he could be caught for pace. He is the key man at centre-back.
Richie Power and Michael Fennelly are back fit and manager Brian Cody seems to have learned an awful lot from 2013 – whenever he does have a bad year, which isn’t too often, he rejuvenates the team.
Now, there is more competition for places, which wasn’t the case last year. And the key to Kilkenny’s success in the Cody era has been that intense scrapping for slots.
I believe that Cody will hold Henry Shefflin and Tommy Walsh in reserve. And if Fennelly and Power are showing enough good form in training, I reckon that one of the two will start against Limerick.
That leaves Cody with Shefflin, Walsh and one of Fennelly and Power on the bench, which is frightening.
Richie Hogan and TJ Reid have been driving the Cats forward this year, but as with Limerick, I’d worry about their half-back line. Cody is conscious of it, too.
Against [U]Dublin[/U][/URL] in the [URL=‘http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Leinster_Rugby’][U]Leinster[/U] final, Kilkenny flooded bodies back to provide extra cover. That’s why Cody is playing Conor Fogarty at midfield, to give that extra pace and ability to track opposition runners from deep.
Kilkenny are still the team to beat and it’s going to take one hell of a performance from any of the other contenders to stop them.
[U]Real Madrid[/U] are a team close to my heart and they completed La Decima this year by winning a tenth European Cup.
And I think Henry Shefflin will follow suit by winning a tenth All-Ireland senior hurling medal – with Cody masterminding his tenth success as manager.
Verdict: All-Ireland champions.
Didn’t Andy Smith do well enough on Hogan for periods? James Ryan > Andy Smith.
The only thing i’ll be feasting on is the blood of Kilkenny men and women! I’ll be getting out at the Red Cow and herself can tip on to Rathgar- This is Limerick, in a semi final, vs Kilkenny- You utter simpletons questioning us Limerick people- A county will versed in the art of war- We know what needs doing here and we will go about it the right way.
Not really, he got one some loose ball/breaks in the first game but Hogan absolutely lorded it and was a class apart
Mullane is analysing these guys based on their names and criteria that applied 4-5 years ago.
I would say all those question marks still remain over Hogan, who’s now a year older at 33. Offaly, Galway or Dublin are all ordinary teams and didn’t have the ability to exploit it.
JJ Delaney is 32, Tyrrel is 32, Tommy Walsh is 31, Shefflin is 35, David Herity 31, Michael Fennelly 29, Richie Power almost 29, Eoin Larkin 30, Aidan Fogarty 32.
Has there ever been a squad with such an old age profile that has won the All Ireland?
I see. I thought I recalled them having a decent enough battle in the first game, at least in the first half, but can’t really remember well enough. Either way, Jimbob will rattle him.
Nah everything Hogan did in the first game was a class above. Scored 4 or 5 points from play and set up as many scores if not more
SSHHHHHHHHHHHHH he’s listening
http://cdn2.independent.ie/incoming/article30486043.ece/ab8da/ALTERNATES/h342/cody.jpg
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 995164, member: 2272”]Mullane view on KK
Kilkenny
In coming up with a key man for each semi-finalist, I haven’t gone for your stereotypical player, like the high-scoring forward. Instead, I’ve gone for the unsung hero – the player who, if he performs, could make the difference between winning and losing.
In Kilkenny’s case, it’s Brian Hogan. There were question marks hanging over Hogan last year, related to his age, ability to hold the centre and the suspicion that he could be caught for pace. He is the key man at centre-back.
Richie Power and Michael Fennelly are back fit and manager Brian Cody seems to have learned an awful lot from 2013 – whenever he does have a bad year, which isn’t too often, he rejuvenates the team.
Now, there is more competition for places, which wasn’t the case last year. And the key to Kilkenny’s success in the Cody era has been that intense scrapping for slots.
I believe that Cody will hold Henry Shefflin and Tommy Walsh in reserve. And if Fennelly and Power are showing enough good form in training, I reckon that one of the two will start against Limerick.
That leaves Cody with Shefflin, Walsh and one of Fennelly and Power on the bench, which is frightening.
Richie Hogan and TJ Reid have been driving the Cats forward this year, but as with Limerick, I’d worry about their half-back line. Cody is conscious of it, too.
Against [U]Dublin[/U][/URL] in the [URL=‘http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Leinster_Rugby’][U]Leinster[/U] final, Kilkenny flooded bodies back to provide extra cover. That’s why Cody is playing Conor Fogarty at midfield, to give that extra pace and ability to track opposition runners from deep.
Kilkenny are still the team to beat and it’s going to take one hell of a performance from any of the other contenders to stop them.
[U]Real Madrid[/U] are a team close to my heart and they completed La Decima this year by winning a tenth European Cup.
And I think Henry Shefflin will follow suit by winning a tenth All-Ireland senior hurling medal – with Cody masterminding his tenth success as manager.
Verdict: All-Ireland champions.[/QUOTE]
I read the full version of that article earlier and I know you can’t expect too much from these lads, but it was the laziest article I’ve read in a long time.
It could have been written at the start of the season it was so full of generalizations.
Limerick players speaking to the media :o
[MEDIA=twitter]496995940314939392[/MEDIA]
[B]ThankGAAIt’sFriday[/B] @ThankGAA [/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/ThankGAA/status/496995940314939392’]1m
Tune in to RTÉ Two Friday 8:30pm when we’ll be talking @LimerickCLG[/URL] [URL=‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/hurling?src=hash’]#hurling[/URL] with [URL=‘https://twitter.com/gavinom6’]@gavinom6[/URL] ahead of [URL=‘https://twitter.com/TheSundayGame’]@TheSundayGame
Do we assume that’s them fucked, or will the Limerick poster in question who hates to see GAA in the media just ignore this media appearance as he did with the similar one days before the Wexford game?