[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 998563, member: 1517”]@Horsebox
Has this thread united the board as you expected & desired?[/QUOTE]
Have you ever got anything positive to say about anyone or anything? I await some rhetorical bullshit in response.
Fuck off. That better?
They’re not far away at all. But then neither were Waterford nor Limerick themselves in the 90s. I still don’t think they punish teams enough when they’re on top.
They did fairly well in attack yesterday given the conditions but it was still Kilkenny that came up with the moment moments of brilliance to win the match. But for O’Grady’s magnificent last ditch tackle on Power they’d have lost by more despite their performance.
Either individual form has to improve or they have to find some new ideas in how they attack. It’ll be the same story next year if they don’t.
I agree with the consensus view on Richie McCarthy as well. I keep expecting him to get exposed and yet it doesn’t happen. He has to be doing something right.
What about that fucking hawk yesterday?
If you didn’t feel for seamus hickey after that post match interview yesterday you either no nothing about sport or are a cunt.
And there’s plenty here that fulfill both criteria.
Some random gibberish…Limerick went goal hunting way too early when points were on. KK brought everyone back and crowded from their 45 back, we played right into their hands by running at them and into physical contact, we needed our half forwards to retreat more to try and open it up or take on long range points which we were executing well all year. Looking at their two goals, Wayne Mc should have fouled for the first, JJ was happy to pull Dowling back by the face guard when it was the other way around. Condon standing off his man, no way would it have happened at the other end… It’s these street smarts that we need to add to our game, being that bit more cynical, like dodge.
We need a bench going forward. The league has to be used to blood players. Breen does a job, but he doesn’t have the smarts when the tough gets going. Dodge, if he stays on, will also be limited in game time you’d imagine… That’s two starting forwards we need going forward. Management deserve another go but need to hit the ground running next year.
No it hasn’t harry but it was probably optimistic for me to think it would. I think we need an event like John Bruton getting pistol whipped on the steps of the GPO by Gerry Adams or Israel being brought to it’s knees and to behave like normal human beings for the board to truly unite.
[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 998332, member: 1624”]Oh my head!
First and foremost, you couldn’t fault the effort, commitment or drive, but ultimately we lost a game we should have won. I don’t buy this “better team lost” nonsense at all. The team that scores most deserves to win and fair play to Kilkenny, for all the talk of how we battled, they out-battled us in the end.
A few points…
Is this a true reflection of our level? I heard people last night lamenting the use of substitutions but, in reality, what we have is what we have. We’re a little bit short in terms of 20-man quality to finish the deal. Some minors will come through, but it has to be gradual.
Tom Ryan didn’t work out yesterday but we wouldn’t have been there if it wasn’t for his winning score v Tipp. Give the lad a break. It was the right decision to start Downes but it was equally correct to take him off when they did. It wasn’t going for him at all.
I said on Saturday that if 4 of our six forwards fired, we’d go close. It gives me no pleasure to say this is exactly what happened. Mulcahy, Dowling, Hannon and (before he tired) Dodge were going well. Delighted for Hannon in particular. he was superb yesterday.
The referee missed a few things but they were on both sides. JJ Delaney got away with a faceguard pull on Dowling that should have seen red but Dodge was steeped not to have walked also. The first yellow could easily have been a different colour and the trip on Power was a definite yellow card.
Richie McCarthy, Seamus Hickey and Wayne McNamara are 3 of the best defenders in the country and all deserve All-Star nominations.
They’ll all be hurting badly today as, deep down, they know they left it after them. The next few weeks are actually vital in terms of where this squad will go. A decision needs to be made quickly on whether that management will be kept on. I’m no fan of TJ Ryan but Beary, Lyons and Clarkey are first class and I’d leave them at it. The game wasn’t lost on the sideline yesterday. Preparation starts now.
I hope that falcon comes back and eats the cunt from Croke Park who thought that was a good idea![/QUOTE]
i was with you right up to there.
wayne mac is a lion hearted player who gives you everything he has but he is not a great defender.
a great defender would simply have closed down hogan and tried to bottle him up. wayne mac couldn`t resist the temtation to try to drive him in to next week as if he was 60 yards out the field
I actually enjoyed the way they put that piece together last night, for once a win for the Sunday Game
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998492, member: 273”]Glas seems to
3. Realize that it takes most players 2-3 years to get near realizing potential (if they are going to at all) and that big lads take longer than anyone else.[/QUOTE]
thats great news. really looking forward to what we are going to do next year so.
ps why do big lads take longer?
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998514, member: 273”]Shane O Neill has been excellent this year. He only had one bad day and that was last years replay, it was his 3rd, maybe 4th ever game there at IC, and nearly all the goals, bar one, were other players fault or over laps or both.
The amount of lads on here who don’t understand how full backs (and full back lines) in hurling or football can be exposed by what happened outside them is startling.[/QUOTE]
but the three points o`donnell made shit of him and scored were all his own work
Of the 15 sides competing for the Liam McCarthy Cup this summer, London and Clare were the only two who failed to win a match.
[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 998332, member: 1624”]Oh my head!
First and foremost, you couldn’t fault the effort, commitment or drive, but ultimately we lost a game we should have won. I don’t buy this “better team lost” nonsense at all. The team that scores most deserves to win and fair play to Kilkenny, for all the talk of how we battled, they out-battled us in the end.
A few points…
Is this a true reflection of our level? I heard people last night lamenting the use of substitutions but, in reality, what we have is what we have. We’re a little bit short in terms of 20-man quality to finish the deal. Some minors will come through, but it has to be gradual.
Tom Ryan didn’t work out yesterday but we wouldn’t have been there if it wasn’t for his winning score v Tipp. Give the lad a break. It was the right decision to start Downes but it was equally correct to take him off when they did. It wasn’t going for him at all.
I said on Saturday that if 4 of our six forwards fired, we’d go close. It gives me no pleasure to say this is exactly what happened. Mulcahy, Dowling, Hannon and (before he tired) Dodge were going well. Delighted for Hannon in particular. he was superb yesterday.
The referee missed a few things but they were on both sides. JJ Delaney got away with a faceguard pull on Dowling that should have seen red but Dodge was steeped not to have walked also. The first yellow could easily have been a different colour and the trip on Power was a definite yellow card.
Richie McCarthy, Seamus Hickey and Wayne McNamara are 3 of the best defenders in the country and all deserve All-Star nominations.
They’ll all be hurting badly today as, deep down, they know they left it after them. The next few weeks are actually vital in terms of where this squad will go. A decision needs to be made quickly on whether that management will be kept on. I’m no fan of TJ Ryan but Beary, Lyons and Clarkey are first class and I’d leave them at it. The game wasn’t lost on the sideline yesterday. Preparation starts now.
I hope that falcon comes back and eats the cunt from Croke Park who thought that was a good idea![/QUOTE]
Would agree with nearly all of this - especially the falcon bit. Delighted the falcon mugged them off. Apes.
We need a decision on the management situation - either way - ASAP. If they are going to keep on TJ Ryan and the backroom confirm it within the next week or two rather than belatedly making an announcement in October or November. Get the squad together again soon and drive the thing on. Keep improving and we’ll get there.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998531, member: 273”]I never said he was poor. Just not as good as ye would like to think.
He was completely out of position for first goal and didn’t command the square at all for 2nd. That ball was a backs ball and as nice a touch as it was it should never have gone in.[/QUOTE]
you are a harmless gom.
richie mccarthy doesnt look remotely like an intercounty standard full back but despite that he is the best full back in the country. you are here trying to make a case for taking o
neill and mcdonnell over him because he didnt do wayne macs job for him in the first half and because he didn
t command the square under high ball in one single incident in the match when it was 2 v 2 .
larkin and power are both bigger than mccarthy and larkin got a single flick to a ball which ended in the net.
mcdonnell had a total sh1t attack under high ball in the square against us in the first half this year with no one else there in perfect conditions while marking conor mcgrath who is 6 inchs smaller than him
how did your full back line command the square when austin gleeson did a slow bicycle race through the entire defence or honan had a tap in after a second shit attack in the square.
stop talking bollix will you ffs
[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 998648, member: 1552”]Would agree with nearly all of this - especially the falcon bit. Delighted the falcon mugged them off. Apes.
We need a decision on the management situation - either way - ASAP. If they are going to keep on TJ Ryan and the backroom confirm it within the next week or two rather than belatedly making an announcement in October or November. Get the squad together again soon and drive the thing on. Keep improving and we’ll get there.[/QUOTE]
Limerick would be fucking mad to not give TJ Ryan another year, dodgy.
This is the same County Board calling the shots who organised a media night and forgot to invite any journalists and who also happily backed Justin McCarthy who ran us into the ground.
To be fair we produced 4 decent championship displays this year and it would be harsh not to give him another crack at it. The backroom team is nearly as important as the manager these days and I’d hope that they’d all be kept on.
it must also be said that limerick were extremely clever in one particular thing they did in the warm up yesterday
RTÉ do montages quite well, always have. The lads behind the scenes tend to be quite talented, its the cunts they put in front of the camera that tend to be the problem.